Home News Reviews Forums Shop


16GB Ram in Vista x64 - works fine right away

General discussion. Come introduce yourself. Talk about whataver you want!

16GB Ram in Vista x64 - works fine right away

Postby hoxlund on Sat Mar 22, 2008 12:58 am

Ok just put my skulltrail system together, wasn't easy

Intel D5400XS Motherboard - Dual Quad Core Mobo
4x4GB Sticks of ECC Registered ddr2-667 FB-Dimms - THATS 16GB!!!!
Dual GeForce 9800GX2 Video Cards

it booted up and installed vista ultimate x64 from retail disc just fine

no weird blue screen like every other person that has over 4gb installed

of course im installing sp1 right now

think 3dmark06 will run ok? ohh damn i bet crysis will actually be playable... hehe

ohh get this, i had to bridge both of my tagan 1100watt power supplies together because the mobo requires 2x8pin power connectors

so its basically running off 2.2killowatts of power
Thermaltake Core X5 Snow Edition TG Case
Corsair RM1000 Power Supply
MSI X399 Gaming Pro Carbon AC
AMD Threadripper 1950x @ 4.1GHz
Custom Loop w/ EK MSI x399 Monoblock
G.Skill 4x8GB DDR4 3200 RGB Memory
MSI 1080Ti Lightning X Video Card
User avatar
hoxlund
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 3708
Joined: Mon May 27, 2002 12:55 am
Location: Idaho

Re: 16GB Ram in Vista x64 - works fine right away

Postby Ian on Sat Mar 22, 2008 7:46 am

hoxlund wrote:so its basically running off 2.2killowatts of power


That's it? Call me when you're using 1.21 gigawatts.
"Blu-ray is just a bag of hurt." - Steve Jobs
User avatar
Ian
Grand Poobah
 
Posts: 14950
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2001 2:34 pm
Location: Madison, WI

Postby LoneWolf on Sat Mar 22, 2008 9:33 am

So, has ConEd called and told you they need to quote you generator-lease terms before you can continue? :)

4GB on the desktop and laptop is enough for me for the forseeable future. A lot of games and programs aren't even capable of recognizing that kind of RAM.

Cool system, though. I'd consider getting an MS Technet subscription so you can download the Vista SP1 .ISO and install it rather than installing the OS and then the service pack.
Intel Q9450 @3.2GHz, Gigabyte GA EP45-UD3P, 4 x 2GB G.Skill @4-4-4-12
Antec P160SW case (modded), Xigmatek 750w PSU
3x 500GB (RAID-5), , OptiArc 7200S, ASUS E818A3T
Creative X-Fi XtremeGamer, Hauppauge HVR-1800, Radeon 4890
Dell 2407WFP
User avatar
LoneWolf
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 937
Joined: Thu Feb 06, 2003 4:41 pm
Location: Meecheegan

Postby hoxlund on Sat Mar 22, 2008 11:06 am

have you heard of anyone slipstreaming sp1 themselves?

it probably doesn't matter if i download like a corporate sp1 iso, i do have a legitamate key
Thermaltake Core X5 Snow Edition TG Case
Corsair RM1000 Power Supply
MSI X399 Gaming Pro Carbon AC
AMD Threadripper 1950x @ 4.1GHz
Custom Loop w/ EK MSI x399 Monoblock
G.Skill 4x8GB DDR4 3200 RGB Memory
MSI 1080Ti Lightning X Video Card
User avatar
hoxlund
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 3708
Joined: Mon May 27, 2002 12:55 am
Location: Idaho

Postby Ian on Sat Mar 22, 2008 12:35 pm

hoxlund wrote:have you heard of anyone slipstreaming sp1 themselves?


I haven't tried it yet. The way Vista is designed, you should just be able to toss the service pack in a folder and it will automatically be applied when you install the OS. Unfortunately, SP1 doesn't work this way yet.
"Blu-ray is just a bag of hurt." - Steve Jobs
User avatar
Ian
Grand Poobah
 
Posts: 14950
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2001 2:34 pm
Location: Madison, WI

Postby LoneWolf on Sat Mar 22, 2008 2:17 pm

Vista cannot be slipstreamed. Rumor has it that it is due to DRM issues, but it could also be due to other reasons. You either have to install Vista, then SP1 (which is similar to the procedure that Office 2007 does when you "slipstream" SP1 into it), or you need to get a new SP1 .ISO or retail copy.

Pretty annoying for sysadmins, although I have access to the SP1 .ISOs. However, they're not useful to most people because the corporate editions require a Key Management Server to re-validate them at least once every six months.
Intel Q9450 @3.2GHz, Gigabyte GA EP45-UD3P, 4 x 2GB G.Skill @4-4-4-12
Antec P160SW case (modded), Xigmatek 750w PSU
3x 500GB (RAID-5), , OptiArc 7200S, ASUS E818A3T
Creative X-Fi XtremeGamer, Hauppauge HVR-1800, Radeon 4890
Dell 2407WFP
User avatar
LoneWolf
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 937
Joined: Thu Feb 06, 2003 4:41 pm
Location: Meecheegan

Postby Ian on Sat Mar 22, 2008 4:25 pm

LoneWolf wrote:Pretty annoying for sysadmins, although I have access to the SP1 .ISOs. However, they're not useful to most people because the corporate editions require a Key Management Server to re-validate them at least once every six months.


It depends on your license. At work we have both KMS and MAK licensing.
"Blu-ray is just a bag of hurt." - Steve Jobs
User avatar
Ian
Grand Poobah
 
Posts: 14950
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2001 2:34 pm
Location: Madison, WI

Postby hoxlund on Sat Mar 22, 2008 9:44 pm

already burnt the MSDN vista ultimate sp1 x64 disc, thx
Thermaltake Core X5 Snow Edition TG Case
Corsair RM1000 Power Supply
MSI X399 Gaming Pro Carbon AC
AMD Threadripper 1950x @ 4.1GHz
Custom Loop w/ EK MSI x399 Monoblock
G.Skill 4x8GB DDR4 3200 RGB Memory
MSI 1080Ti Lightning X Video Card
User avatar
hoxlund
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 3708
Joined: Mon May 27, 2002 12:55 am
Location: Idaho

Re: 16GB Ram in Vista x64 - works fine right away

Postby owenm on Thu Oct 02, 2008 10:09 am

hoxlund wrote:Ok just put my skulltrail system together, wasn't easy

Intel D5400XS Motherboard - Dual Quad Core Mobo
4x4GB Sticks of ECC Registered ddr2-667 FB-Dimms - THATS 16GB!!!!
Dual GeForce 9800GX2 Video Cards


Hi hoxlund. I'm dreaming of buying the D5400XS mobo and sticking in a couple of cheaper xeons - can't afford 3K of CPU power. But I would like to max the memory. Mind telling me what make of memory you used?

cheers,
owenm.
owenm
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2008 10:04 am

Re: 16GB Ram in Vista x64 - works fine right away

Postby hoxlund on Tue Nov 04, 2008 8:46 pm

wow i haven't been on cdrlabs in probably over 4 months, i think i answered this guy by email

i see this thread hasn't moved pretty much at all

and yes slipstreaming vista 32/64 is easy
Thermaltake Core X5 Snow Edition TG Case
Corsair RM1000 Power Supply
MSI X399 Gaming Pro Carbon AC
AMD Threadripper 1950x @ 4.1GHz
Custom Loop w/ EK MSI x399 Monoblock
G.Skill 4x8GB DDR4 3200 RGB Memory
MSI 1080Ti Lightning X Video Card
User avatar
hoxlund
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 3708
Joined: Mon May 27, 2002 12:55 am
Location: Idaho


Return to The Beer Garden

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

All Content is Copyright (c) 2001-2018 CDRLabs Inc.