Home News Reviews Forums Shop


About Dual Channel Memory

CPU's? Motherboards? Video cards? Talk about it here.

About Dual Channel Memory

Postby bimbla on Thu Jul 22, 2004 6:14 am

I want to have dual channel memory.
I have shortlisted Kingston HyperX, 2 X 256, PC 2700.

Will 2 DIMM's do the job or is there anything else called 'matched pair' or 'Dual channel enabled' RAM?

Thanks and regards.

bimbla.
bimbla
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 113
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2002 10:12 pm

Re: About Dual Channel Memory

Postby Boba_Fett on Thu Jul 22, 2004 11:39 am

bimbla wrote:I want to have dual channel memory.
I have shortlisted Kingston HyperX, 2 X 256, PC 2700.

Will 2 DIMM's do the job or is there anything else called 'matched pair' or 'Dual channel enabled' RAM?

Thanks and regards.

bimbla.


As long as they are the same make and brand you will be fine. "Matched Pair" sets are nothing but a companies way of charging you $10 more for 2 regular sticks of ram.
eVGA NF4 SLI mobo
Opteron 165 Dual Core 1MB cache @ 2.5ghz
2GB Mushkin DDR PC4000
2x160GB & 1x250GB 7,200RPM SATA w/NCQ
eVGA Geforce 7900 GTO 512MB PCI-e
Pioneer 111D 16x DVD burner
Onboard Sound :(
User avatar
Boba_Fett
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 401
Joined: Wed Dec 18, 2002 8:06 pm
Location: Middle of Nowhere

Re: About Dual Channel Memory

Postby Bhairav on Thu Jul 22, 2004 12:14 pm

Boba_Fett wrote:
bimbla wrote:I want to have dual channel memory.
I have shortlisted Kingston HyperX, 2 X 256, PC 2700.

Will 2 DIMM's do the job or is there anything else called 'matched pair' or 'Dual channel enabled' RAM?

Thanks and regards.

bimbla.


As long as they are the same make and brand you will be fine. "Matched Pair" sets are nothing but a companies way of charging you $10 more for 2 regular sticks of ram.


I've run 2 sticks of 256MB RAM, different make, in dual-channel. Works well..
Q6600@3.1Ghz | Asus P5Q-E | 4GB DDR2-800 | 8800GT | 4TB HDD | Viewsonic vx2025wm
Xonar DX | Pioneer DVR-212 | Pioneer 111L | Benq 1655
User avatar
Bhairav
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 1239
Joined: Mon Jul 22, 2002 5:44 am
Location: Bombay,India

Postby Shredder on Thu Jul 22, 2004 1:30 pm

Any pair of memory sticks that can interleave, can be used in dual channel.
User avatar
Shredder
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 156
Joined: Tue May 04, 2004 7:38 pm

Re: About Dual Channel Memory

Postby hoxlund on Thu Jul 22, 2004 2:08 pm

bimbla wrote:I want to have dual channel memory.
I have shortlisted Kingston HyperX, 2 X 256, PC 2700.

Will 2 DIMM's do the job or is there anything else called 'matched pair' or 'Dual channel enabled' RAM?

Bimbla.


well just because you have 2 matching sticks doesn't mean you can run dual channel, remember you still must have a dual channel mobo

but running dual channel is sweet, wouldn't go back, and in a few months its gonna be even better running ddr2 dual channel
Fractal Design Define R5 White Window Case
Corsair RM1000 Power Supply
MSI X99A XPower AC USB 3.1 Motherboard
Intel i7-5930K CPU @ 4.8GHz
Corsair H100i GTX 240mm CPU Cooler
Mushkin Blackline 4x8GB DDR4 2400 Memory
Asus 980Ti Strix OC
User avatar
hoxlund
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 3706
Joined: Mon May 27, 2002 12:55 am
Location: RAF Lakenheath / Suffolk United Kingdom

Re: About Dual Channel Memory

Postby Shredder on Thu Jul 22, 2004 3:33 pm

hoxlund wrote:in a few months its gonna be even better running ddr2 dual channel


Well, they've been available for a few months. You can buy DDR2 memory sticks online and run them in dual channel in the latest Intel 9x5 chipset based motherboard.
User avatar
Shredder
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 156
Joined: Tue May 04, 2004 7:38 pm

Postby hoxlund on Thu Jul 22, 2004 3:36 pm

no i know that, just saying when i get the intel bundle with a 915/925 chipset ill be switching all my stuff over
Fractal Design Define R5 White Window Case
Corsair RM1000 Power Supply
MSI X99A XPower AC USB 3.1 Motherboard
Intel i7-5930K CPU @ 4.8GHz
Corsair H100i GTX 240mm CPU Cooler
Mushkin Blackline 4x8GB DDR4 2400 Memory
Asus 980Ti Strix OC
User avatar
hoxlund
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 3706
Joined: Mon May 27, 2002 12:55 am
Location: RAF Lakenheath / Suffolk United Kingdom

Dual Ch DDR

Postby bimbla on Thu Jul 22, 2004 9:06 pm

I have three slots in my mobo. One green and two purple.
If I populate one green and one purple with 266MB each and the other with 512MB, what is the total config. work out to?
2 X 256 Dual DDR + 512 DDR or
1GB Dual DDR or what?

bimbla.
bimbla
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 113
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2002 10:12 pm

Postby hoxlund on Thu Jul 22, 2004 10:04 pm

in order to get dual channel you can only use the 2 256mb sticks

usually you have to put them in same color memory slots

if you want non-dual channel and use all 3 sticks you'll have 1GB
Fractal Design Define R5 White Window Case
Corsair RM1000 Power Supply
MSI X99A XPower AC USB 3.1 Motherboard
Intel i7-5930K CPU @ 4.8GHz
Corsair H100i GTX 240mm CPU Cooler
Mushkin Blackline 4x8GB DDR4 2400 Memory
Asus 980Ti Strix OC
User avatar
hoxlund
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 3706
Joined: Mon May 27, 2002 12:55 am
Location: RAF Lakenheath / Suffolk United Kingdom

Postby CowboySlim on Thu Jul 22, 2004 11:20 pm

Hox is right, referring to memory as "dual channel" is a total misnomer. The dual channel functionality is in the motherboard. Two matching sticks in a mobo that does not have dual channel capablity will just be operating as single channel. Two mismatched sticks in a dual channel capable mobo will operate as single channel. A dual channel capable mobo requires a matched set of memory sticks.

Slim
User avatar
CowboySlim
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 1868
Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2003 3:58 pm
Location: Huntington Beach, CA

Postby hoxlund on Fri Jul 23, 2004 12:33 am

well they don't have to be same exact sticks but i think it has to be same size and general cas timings and speed
Fractal Design Define R5 White Window Case
Corsair RM1000 Power Supply
MSI X99A XPower AC USB 3.1 Motherboard
Intel i7-5930K CPU @ 4.8GHz
Corsair H100i GTX 240mm CPU Cooler
Mushkin Blackline 4x8GB DDR4 2400 Memory
Asus 980Ti Strix OC
User avatar
hoxlund
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 3706
Joined: Mon May 27, 2002 12:55 am
Location: RAF Lakenheath / Suffolk United Kingdom

Postby CowboySlim on Fri Jul 23, 2004 12:43 am

Hox is right again: size, latency and speed. But getting a matched set guarantees those.

Slim
User avatar
CowboySlim
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 1868
Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2003 3:58 pm
Location: Huntington Beach, CA

Postby tazdevl on Fri Jul 23, 2004 12:55 am

The only reason to get a dual channel kit is if you plan to overclock. Depending on the manufacturer and RAM chips used, you might find one DIMM holding you back from a significantly higher overclock.

As others have mentioned, just be sure you have the same speed and timings.

With respect to size, the general rule of thumb is that as long as you have the same amount of RAM in each bank, you don't have to have the same number of DIMMs. Granted this does vary by manufactuer. Some companies have much greater compatibility with your RAM manufacturer/configuration than others. Typically those companies are Tier1 and the high end of Tier2.

My FSB is running @ 274 MHZ 1:1 (DDR 548), so IMO, a dual channel kit was a wise investment.
RIG:
P4 2.6C, Thermalright SP94/Panaflo 92MM M1A, IC7 Max3, Swifty MCX159, 1GB Geil PC4000 Ultra Plat, Radeon 8500, Audigy 2, 2X WD Raptor RAID 0, WD 250GB SE, Plex 708A, 166SDVD, LianLi PC75, XP Pro.
User avatar
tazdevl
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 979
Joined: Tue May 14, 2002 11:03 pm

Postby Shredder on Fri Jul 23, 2004 4:13 am

tazdevl wrote:The only reason to get a dual channel kit is if you plan to overclock. Depending on the manufacturer and RAM chips used, you might find one DIMM holding you back from a significantly higher overclock.


Dual channel has nothing to do with overclocking. Running memory in dual channel is to increase performance by eliminating memory bandwidth bottleneck.
User avatar
Shredder
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 156
Joined: Tue May 04, 2004 7:38 pm

Postby pranav81 on Fri Jul 23, 2004 9:22 am

Shredder wrote:
tazdevl wrote:The only reason to get a dual channel kit is if you plan to overclock. Depending on the manufacturer and RAM chips used, you might find one DIMM holding you back from a significantly higher overclock.


Dual channel has nothing to do with overclocking. Running memory in dual channel is to increase performance by eliminating memory bandwidth bottleneck.



Shredder is right.


::Pranav::
Increasingly mathematics will demand the courage to face its implications.
User avatar
pranav81
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 1160
Joined: Thu Dec 05, 2002 6:57 am
Location: Solapur,Maharashtra,India

Postby cfitz on Fri Jul 23, 2004 11:01 am

pranav81 wrote:
Shredder wrote:
tazdevl wrote:The only reason to get a dual channel kit is if you plan to overclock. Depending on the manufacturer and RAM chips used, you might find one DIMM holding you back from a significantly higher overclock.


Dual channel has nothing to do with overclocking. Running memory in dual channel is to increase performance by eliminating memory bandwidth bottleneck.



Shredder is right.

I think you two have misinterpreted what Tazdevl was saying (either that or I have misinterpreted what you two are saying :wink:). I don't think Tazdevl was saying that dual channel memory is only for overclocking. Instead, he was saying that, in his opinion, the dual channel specially matched kits are only really useful if you plan to overclock your dual channel setup. In other words, you can use dual channel memory without overclocking and, in that case, don't necessarily need the specially matched kits and can just use any two sticks with the same specifications. However, if you do plan to overclock that would be one situation where you might want to consider the specially matched kits. The specially matched pairs are more likely to match each others capabilities with respect to overclocking so you don't end up limiting your overclock because one stick gives up at a much lower overclock than the other.

Anway, that is how I interpreted Tazdevl's comments.

cfitz
cfitz
CD-RW Curmudgeon
 
Posts: 4572
Joined: Sat Jul 27, 2002 10:44 am

Postby tazdevl on Fri Jul 23, 2004 11:14 am

As fitz said, Shredder & pranav, you missed my point. I'm very much aware of the purpose of a dual channel board, especially given the fact that I have one.

The original poster asked if they should buy 2 DIMMs or a dual channel kit. Boba stated a dual channel/matched pair kit was just a reason to charge more per stick, i.e. don't bother.

I wholeheartedly disagree, if you plan on overclocking the board. The additional cost for bench-testing the 2 DIMMs and the premium is justified based on my experience.

So I'll say it again... if you plan on overclocking a dual channel board, buying a dual channel/matched pair kit is a good idea because the probability of one DIMM holding you back is fairly high if you go with 2 unmatched DIMMs.

If you aren't going to overclock, as others have said... you can use different, unmatched DIMMs as long as the CAS timings and speed are the same. Size doesn't generally matter as long as the total amount in both channels matches. However, this does of course does depend on the manufacturer of the board as some are more compatible with different memory and configurations than others.
RIG:
P4 2.6C, Thermalright SP94/Panaflo 92MM M1A, IC7 Max3, Swifty MCX159, 1GB Geil PC4000 Ultra Plat, Radeon 8500, Audigy 2, 2X WD Raptor RAID 0, WD 250GB SE, Plex 708A, 166SDVD, LianLi PC75, XP Pro.
User avatar
tazdevl
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 979
Joined: Tue May 14, 2002 11:03 pm

Postby Shredder on Fri Jul 23, 2004 1:32 pm

tazdevl wrote:So I'll say it again... if you plan on overclocking a dual channel board, buying a dual channel/matched pair kit is a good idea because the probability of one DIMM holding you back is fairly high if you go with 2 unmatched DIMMs.


Now I see what you meant to say. :D
User avatar
Shredder
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 156
Joined: Tue May 04, 2004 7:38 pm

OC DDR

Postby bimbla on Fri Jul 23, 2004 8:44 pm

Is there any performance diff. betn. Valueram and hyperX at their RATED speeds?
What if you put PC3200 in Mobo that supports PC2700 max? The sys. wont start or will it start with PC2700 performance?

bimbla.
bimbla
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 113
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2002 10:12 pm

Re: OC DDR

Postby Shredder on Fri Jul 23, 2004 11:34 pm

bimbla wrote:Is there any performance diff. betn. Valueram and hyperX at their RATED speeds?


HyperX series memory sticks can run stably in overclocked systems than ValueRAM series can. HyperX are mostly CL2 and few 2.5's while ValueRAM are mostly slower CL3 and few CL2.5's. Check this site for a simple explanation of CAS latency. http://www.corsairmemory.com/main/trg-cas.html

bimbla wrote:What if you put PC3200 in Mobo that supports PC2700 max? The sys. wont start or will it start with PC2700 performance?


It will run it at PC2700 or whatever memory FSB speed the system is running at.
User avatar
Shredder
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 156
Joined: Tue May 04, 2004 7:38 pm

Postby pranav81 on Sat Jul 24, 2004 12:47 am

Well.....I just thought that tazdevl was saying that DC memory is only for overclocking.I misinterprated the "only" in the following sentence ,"The only reason to get a dual channel kit is if you plan to overclock."


::Pranav::
Increasingly mathematics will demand the courage to face its implications.
User avatar
pranav81
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 1160
Joined: Thu Dec 05, 2002 6:57 am
Location: Solapur,Maharashtra,India

Postby CowboySlim on Sat Jul 24, 2004 11:26 am

What if you put PC3200 in Mobo that supports PC2700 max? The sys. wont start or will it start with PC2700 performance?

That depends on the board. Some boards accept memory rated faster than the board will run at, but the board "supports" the faster memory in that it will still run, albeit at the board speed. Therefore, the faster memory has no functional advantage.

OTH, my board has a max rating of 333MHz, equivalent to PC2700, and will not run at all with PC3200 memory installed.

Check your board specs.

Furthermore, if your board supports PC3200 (400MHz) and will run at 400MHz, replacing installed PC2700 with PC3200 will, in most applications, result in very minor performance increases.

Slim
User avatar
CowboySlim
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 1868
Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2003 3:58 pm
Location: Huntington Beach, CA

Postby Shredder on Sat Jul 24, 2004 3:54 pm

CowboySlim wrote:OTH, my board has a max rating of 333MHz, equivalent to PC2700, and will not run at all with PC3200 memory installed.


PC3200 is compatible and can run as PC2700. Your motherboard probably needs BIOS upgrade as that problem maybe a bug in BIOS.
User avatar
Shredder
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 156
Joined: Tue May 04, 2004 7:38 pm

Postby CowboySlim on Sat Jul 24, 2004 4:00 pm

Shredder wrote:
CowboySlim wrote:OTH, my board has a max rating of 333MHz, equivalent to PC2700, and will not run at all with PC3200 memory installed.


PC3200 is compatible and can run as PC2700. Your motherboard probably needs BIOS upgrade as that problem maybe a bug in BIOS.

Not exactly, it is an inherent characteristic of the motherboard, Intel D845GEBV2. However, I haven't updated the BIOS in a while and there now may be one that accomodates PC3200.

Slim
User avatar
CowboySlim
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 1868
Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2003 3:58 pm
Location: Huntington Beach, CA

Postby Shredder on Sat Jul 24, 2004 6:02 pm

CowboySlim wrote:Not exactly, it is an inherent characteristic of the motherboard, Intel D845GEBV2. However, I haven't updated the BIOS in a while and there now may be one that accomodates PC3200.


According to JEDEC DDR SDRAM specification, they are compatible. It is either Intel chipset or BIOS bug.
User avatar
Shredder
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 156
Joined: Tue May 04, 2004 7:38 pm

Next

Return to General Hardware Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

All Content is Copyright (c) 2001-2017 CDRLabs Inc.