Home News Reviews Forums Shop


Any guide to Overclock an Opteron 165 on a MSI Neo4 Platinum

CPU's? Motherboards? Video cards? Talk about it here.

Any guide to Overclock an Opteron 165 on a MSI Neo4 Platinum

Postby Alejandra on Tue May 09, 2006 11:24 am

Nforce 4 Ultra MoBo with a low speed Memory (200Mhz with 3-3-3-8 timing)?
Ciao,
macgirl.

Tired of hackintoshes and went with the real deal.
User avatar
Alejandra
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 495
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2001 8:00 pm
Location: Mexico

Postby LoneWolf on Tue May 09, 2006 12:31 pm

I'd be interested in this too, though I'm currently dubious about the Neo 4 Plat's overclocking abilities.

I'm running the system in my sig, and the X2 3800+ doesn't want to boot if run at more than 3% above stock speeds. I suppose my power supply config could be funky (it's only a 20-pin, it's still a dual-rail high quality unit though and fully stable at stock), I have high-quality RAM, so I don't think that's the problem either, and I've only got one vid card. Latest BIOS. When I ran a Winchester 3000+ I could get up to a 240FSB on lesser quality RAM than I currently have (shrug), but now that I think about it, that might have been on my Neo2 Platinum board. I suppose it could be the chip I have, too. My system is air-cooled, but well done (3x 120mm fans, Swiftech high-end HSF for the CPU).

I've decided I'm okay with stock speeds for now, unless someone has some really good advice. System does everything I really want.
Intel Q9450 @3.2GHz, Gigabyte GA EP45-UD3P, 4 x 2GB G.Skill @4-4-4-12
Antec P160SW case (modded), Xigmatek 750w PSU
3x 500GB (RAID-5), , OptiArc 7200S, ASUS E818A3T
Creative X-Fi XtremeGamer, Hauppauge HVR-1800, Radeon 4890
Dell 2407WFP
User avatar
LoneWolf
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 937
Joined: Thu Feb 06, 2003 4:41 pm
Location: Meecheegan

Postby Alejandra on Wed May 10, 2006 12:49 am

I made some try-outs.

Today I could set the FSB to 289Mhz I lowered the RAM speed to 133Mhz in order to stay as stock speed so it result in 193Mhz for the Ram and 2601Mhz for the Proc (the great thing about the Opteron 165 is taht is very overclokable), I also lower the HTT to 3x.

With that set up I boot to Mac OS and play arround with some apps, everithing worked without probs, but just then I boot on WinXP and before it enter to the welcome screen it reboots.

I don't know what else I need to move in order to have it stable on XP, maybe a reinstallation of XP of what I'm not very confortable.

One other thin that I notecide is that movin the VID to 1.375 or to 1.400 makes nothing at all, the voltage does not raise up, but moving the voltage selector to 3.3% or 6.6% make the necessary raise of the VCore voltage.

I got some stable state at 2.4Ghz but since the ram is not very overclockable I assume there are some fails.

At 2.2Ghz is very stable, RAM is at 204Mhz.
Ciao,
macgirl.

Tired of hackintoshes and went with the real deal.
User avatar
Alejandra
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 495
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2001 8:00 pm
Location: Mexico


Return to General Hardware Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

All Content is Copyright (c) 2001-2017 CDRLabs Inc.