Home News Reviews Forums Shop


Athlon 2400+ vs. 2500+ ?

CPU's? Motherboards? Video cards? Talk about it here.

Athlon 2400+ vs. 2500+ ?

Postby BurninMan921 on Wed Jun 18, 2003 12:52 am

OK, I do mostly DivX and DVD transcoding-both of which are CPU and memory intensive. The 2400+ is a 2GHz part, with 256KB cache and 266MHz memory bus-nice because I have 266MHz memory right now. The 2500+ is a 1.83GHz part, 640KB cache, 333Mhz memory. On the one hand, the slightly fast *actual* clock speed of the 2400 would help, but then again, the extra memory speed would probably be just as much if not more of a help. Sooo....any suggestions?

Also, nForce2 is a dual-DDR board...so with a 333Mhz FSB proc, will I be able to use the 266Mhz DDR memory I have now? (I would figure yes, since it's dual-DDR, and I could use it in a P4/533MHz setup)...

If I can use the memory I have now with a 333MHz FSB chip, then I may just go that route...

Oh, this is a budget system for a friend, so I need to keep the price down (hence the AMD chip). Two more weeks, I get my 875/2.8Ghz P4C...but that's alllll mine :)
User avatar
BurninMan921
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 702
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2003 12:51 am
Location: MFZ (Microsoft Free Zone)

Postby TheWizard on Wed Jun 18, 2003 1:27 am

Yes, you can use 266MHz memory on that motherboard and with that processor. As you probably know, you won't be utilizing the motherboard/processor's maximum performance with 266MHz RAM.
No, I like women.
TheWizard
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 2074
Joined: Fri Jun 28, 2002 6:56 pm

Postby BurninMan921 on Wed Jun 18, 2003 2:48 am

Thank you, TheWizard. I don't get how it won't be using the max performance though...dual DDR266=533MHz, at least with an Intel P4 board. I would think that would be much better (bandwidth wise, at least) than single-channel DDR333. Dual 333MHz would be better still, but totally useless on a 333MHz FSB proc...

Maybe I should stick with P4's...at least 2.4GHz = 2.4GHz! :)
User avatar
BurninMan921
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 702
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2003 12:51 am
Location: MFZ (Microsoft Free Zone)

Postby TheWizard on Wed Jun 18, 2003 4:24 am

We're talking about too many things and I'm getting confused. What does your Socket A motherboard support: 266 or 333MHz RAM? Dual-channel or single channel? If it supports 333MHz, dual or single, and you use 266MHz RAM, then you won't be utilizing the maximum performance of your board. If 333MHz is the maximum it supports, then 333MHz is the maximum performance RAM you could use.

One thing is clear in your analysis, just get an Intel P4 and save the headache.
No, I like women.
TheWizard
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 2074
Joined: Fri Jun 28, 2002 6:56 pm

Postby BurninMan921 on Wed Jun 18, 2003 12:52 pm

The board I would be getting would be a dual-DDR with DDR333 support.

I agree, time for the P4...it's a heck of alot faster anyway.

What I still don't get: Dual-DDR, with DDR266, should be more than fast enough to keep up with a 333FSB proc-it's what Intel uses for the 533Mhz FSB P4's...

Oh well...P4 Time!

Thanks for the info!
User avatar
BurninMan921
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 702
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2003 12:51 am
Location: MFZ (Microsoft Free Zone)


Return to General Hardware Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

All Content is Copyright (c) 2001-2017 CDRLabs Inc.