Home News Reviews Forums Shop

Avast Norton compatibility issue

Anything else

Avast Norton compatibility issue

Postby audiodrome on Mon Oct 17, 2005 9:17 pm

I recently had to reinstall Norton Systems Works and everything installed except the anti-virus software. Is this because I already have Avast running? I take it that maybe you can't have two anti-virus programs running at the same time...

I also read somewhere that if I have Avast installed, I should remove Norton Live Reg and Live Update, but I always thought that these programs were just basic ultilities and not tied solely to the anti-virus program.
CD-RW Thug
Posts: 86
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2005 5:06 pm

Postby dodecahedron on Tue Oct 18, 2005 12:47 am

that's correct, you can't have 2 anti-virus programs at the same time, at least not actively (background scanning and protections at least. maybe if all background protections are turned off in one program and you only run it manually it's OK to have another one installed, but i never tried such a thing).

i have SystemWorks 2003 (Pro i think) + Avast antivirus (Free edition), all's fine no conflicts. LiveUpdate is functioning fine too.
One Ring to rule them all, One Ring to find them,
One Ring to bring them all and in the darkness bind them
In the land of Mordor, where the Shadows lie
M.C. Escher - Reptilien
User avatar
DVD Polygon
Posts: 6865
Joined: Sat Mar 09, 2002 12:04 am
Location: Israel

Postby hoxlund on Tue Oct 18, 2005 2:17 pm

i use norton corporate
Fractal Design Define R5 White Window Case
Corsair RM1000 Power Supply
MSI X99A XPower AC USB 3.1 Motherboard
Intel i7-5930K CPU @ 4.8GHz
Corsair H100i GTX 240mm CPU Cooler
Mushkin Blackline 4x8GB DDR4 2400 Memory
Asus 980Ti Strix OC
User avatar
CD-RW Player
Posts: 3706
Joined: Mon May 27, 2002 12:55 am
Location: RAF Lakenheath / Suffolk United Kingdom

Return to General Software Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

All Content is Copyright (c) 2001-2016 CDRLabs Inc.