Home News Reviews Forums Shop


Biostar M7VIG Pro CMOS resets?

CPU's? Motherboards? Video cards? Talk about it here.

Biostar M7VIG Pro CMOS resets?

Postby Intimidator on Sat Aug 02, 2003 6:06 pm

I have been using this MB with the latest BIOS version (VIG0224) for 5 days now and three times upon a restart from Win2k pro as it was booting the boot sequence would stop and I would get a CHKSUM error message stating the CMOS values were reset. This is no big deal but it is a pain to go back in there and reset all the values again.

I read in a few posts on other sites that one person solved this by making the BIOS RAM cachable. I tried that and it worked for awhile. Then on a start it happened again.

I am pretty sure this ONLY happens upon a RESTART and maybe only when a PROGRAM requests the restart.

I contacted Biostar-USA and that are not aware of any porblem like this however I have seen several people having the same issue.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!
Intimidator
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 196
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2002 6:42 pm

Postby CDRecorder on Sat Aug 02, 2003 8:51 pm

Are you turning the computer off and on again, or are you restarting using the restart command in Windows?

One thing you might want to try is replacing the CMOS battery on the motherboard. It keeps the settings intact for the BIOS, and you can get a BIOS checksum error if the battery's dying.

Also, you might want to scan your computer for viruses; if a virus changes your BIOS settings (AFAIK, that really can happen), you will also get that message.
CDRecorder
CD-RW Recorder
 
Posts: 2335
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2003 9:28 pm

Postby Intimidator on Sat Aug 02, 2003 10:10 pm

CDRecorder:

It seams to be happening more after a program installs and then prompts you that the system needs to be rebooted for the changes to take affect.

Someone else mentioned the battery is another forum. I have a light on the front of my Antec case for the CMOS battery but I am not sure if that will actually light up if the battery is dying. Gosh, I am not sure is the MB support this feature. How can you tell if the batter is dying? Will those CMOS errors happen more frequently?

I scanned the system with AVG anti-virus and there was nothing found. I like AVG so much better than Norton and McAfee or any of the others.

Thanks!
Intimidator
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 196
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2002 6:42 pm

Postby CDRecorder on Sat Aug 02, 2003 10:25 pm

I'm not sure how you can tell if the battery is dying except for errors like this. Also, the date and time may be wrong on the PC if you leave it unplugged for a while if the battery is dead.

A new battery would probably cost about $3 in the US; if you think the battery may be the problem, I would advise getting a new one.
CDRecorder
CD-RW Recorder
 
Posts: 2335
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2003 9:28 pm

Postby Intimidator on Sat Aug 02, 2003 10:33 pm

I am not really sure what is going on right now. I guess time will tell.

I made the BIOS cachable as suggested?

Someone else mentioned it could be the Cmedia audio driver that can with the MB, however I used the latest driver from Biostar's website.?

Someone said it could be the stick of DDR?

Pretty Bizarre!
Intimidator
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 196
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2002 6:42 pm

Postby cfitz on Sun Aug 03, 2003 1:21 am

Intimidator wrote:I like AVG so much better than Norton and McAfee or any of the others.

Here, here! :)

cfitz
cfitz
CD-RW Curmudgeon
 
Posts: 4572
Joined: Sat Jul 27, 2002 10:44 am


Return to General Hardware Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

All Content is Copyright (c) 2001-2017 CDRLabs Inc.