Home News Reviews Forums Shop


Can't access cdrw drives without loading Nero first!

Burn baby burn!

Can't access cdrw drives without loading Nero first!

Postby grafx on Tue Sep 30, 2003 10:37 am

I have 2 cdrw drives, a TDK and Aopen. Everytime I try to access either one, Windows XP fails to recognize that I have a cd drive until I first load Nero (v5.5105). Even if I use Nero to do a burn and close it and then try to access a drive, I still have to load Nero again to see the drive. This has only been happening in the past couple months. Do I have an option selected somewhere which shouldn't be chosen?

Thanks.
Last edited by grafx on Tue Sep 30, 2003 1:07 pm, edited 1 time in total.
grafx
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2001 8:00 pm

Postby CDRecorder on Tue Sep 30, 2003 11:37 am

Do you mean that the CD-RW drive won't even read unless Nero is open? If so, I don't know of any option that could cause this problem.

You might want to upgrade to the latest version of Nero 5. You can upgrade to a newer version of Nero 5, and I think you could actually upgrade to Nero 5.5 for free. Check the Nero web site for the downloadable updates. If you install Nero 5.5.10.50, make sure you install this patch, too.
CDRecorder
CD-RW Recorder
 
Posts: 2335
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2003 9:28 pm

Postby grafx on Tue Sep 30, 2003 1:09 pm

[quote="CDRecorder"]Do you mean that the CD-RW drive won't even read unless Nero is open? If so, I don't know of any option that could cause this problem.

Yes
grafx
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2001 8:00 pm

Postby CDRecorder on Tue Sep 30, 2003 1:46 pm

Did you try updating Nero?

Also, you might want to try going into Device Manager and uninstalling the IDE controller(s) used by the optical drives. Then, reboot.
CDRecorder
CD-RW Recorder
 
Posts: 2335
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2003 9:28 pm

Postby john on Tue Sep 30, 2003 9:38 pm

I have same problem. Noticed properties for drive E (lite-on 52/32/52) has no sharing tab, drive F (lite-on combo) has tab. Newly built system, winXP, no other burning software except Nero 5.5.10.50 with patch. Had same problem with earlier PIII machine. IF you put a data disk into drive F 'explore' will show contents; in drive E, when you select 'explore' a dialog box opens asking you to insert a disk. If you open Nero, you can copy from drive E. Any ideas - looks like you can only read from drive with Nero
john
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Feb 04, 2003 10:14 pm

Postby CDRecorder on Tue Sep 30, 2003 10:18 pm

Grafx and John: What chipsets do your motherboards have, and are you using IDE drivers supplied my the manufacturer or are you using the IDE drivers supplied by Windows?

Also, you should check which version of ASPI (if any) you have. You can find out which version (if any) you have with Aspi Version Checker. Search for "aspichk.exe" at http://www.adaptec.com. If you don't have ASPI, you should download and install it. 4.60 seems to be the best version. You can find it at the Adaptec web site by searching for "aspi32". It says that it won't work on Windows XP, but I am running a version of 4.60 (it came on the install CD for an old CD-RW drive) with no problems on my Windows XP computer.
CDRecorder
CD-RW Recorder
 
Posts: 2335
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2003 9:28 pm

Postby john on Tue Sep 30, 2003 11:01 pm

current system albatron 865pe pro p4 2.4 using default windows driver. older PIII system soyo mb, via chipset with most recent drivers. it happens with lowest drive letter cdrw - can switch physical drives but stays with drive letter. worked around it on PIII system, which also has clone cd on it, by changing drive letters so that clone cd virtual drive is 'e', cdrw's are 'f' & 'g'
john
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Feb 04, 2003 10:14 pm

Postby CDRecorder on Tue Sep 30, 2003 11:09 pm

Did you check what version of ASPI you have?
CDRecorder
CD-RW Recorder
 
Posts: 2335
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2003 9:28 pm

Postby john on Tue Sep 30, 2003 11:21 pm

downloaded & run aspiinst from adaptec, infotool shows winaspi32.dll ver4.71,aspi32.sys 4.71, winaspi.dll 4.60, wowpost.e... 4.60 - still the same
john
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Feb 04, 2003 10:14 pm

Postby CDRecorder on Wed Oct 01, 2003 12:25 am

Do you have all of the latest updates for Windows installed?
CDRecorder
CD-RW Recorder
 
Posts: 2335
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2003 9:28 pm

Postby john on Wed Oct 01, 2003 7:25 am

have all windows updates installed - first noticed this when I installed winXP on PIII system (had winME) that also was a clean install.
john
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Feb 04, 2003 10:14 pm

Postby CDRecorder on Wed Oct 01, 2003 9:44 am

Did this problem occur before you installed Nero or any other CD-recording program?
CDRecorder
CD-RW Recorder
 
Posts: 2335
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2003 9:28 pm

Postby john on Fri Oct 03, 2003 9:37 pm

just realized I copied folders and settings from old pc to new P4 so I probably migrated problem also.
john
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Feb 04, 2003 10:14 pm

Postby CDRecorder on Fri Oct 03, 2003 11:17 pm

That's definitely possible. If you could do a clean install of Windows and Nero, that wouldn't be a bad idea.
CDRecorder
CD-RW Recorder
 
Posts: 2335
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2003 9:28 pm

Postby john on Sat Oct 04, 2003 12:58 pm

worked around problem by installing clone cd and swapping drive letters so that drive 'e' is the clone cd virtual drive. now drive works ok
john
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Feb 04, 2003 10:14 pm

Postby CDRecorder on Sat Oct 04, 2003 1:22 pm

I'm glad that its working for you! :D
CDRecorder
CD-RW Recorder
 
Posts: 2335
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2003 9:28 pm


Return to CD-R/CD-RW Drives

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

All Content is Copyright (c) 2001-2017 CDRLabs Inc.