Home News Reviews Forums Shop


Can finalize CDR's but not CDRW's (using XP Pro)

Burn baby burn!

Can finalize CDR's but not CDRW's (using XP Pro)

Postby EagleFire on Sun May 18, 2003 2:44 pm

I don't have any problem at all with CDR's, but I can't for the life of me get the burner to finalize a CDRW. I get "Could not perform fixation" with Nero. I've also tried Easy CD Creator Platinum, but same results, a wasted CDRW.

I've used this approach: Start>Control Panel>Admin Tools>Services>IMAPI CD-Burning COM Service>General Tab>Startup type>Disabled (was in “Manual”). Also tried it in "Automatic", but neither worked.

I've cleaned the lens with a laser disk cleaner.

I tried different manufacturer's products, changed the burn speed, changed the transfer to PIO instead of DMA, even swapped the drive to the secondary IDE and set it to Master.

This one's got me stumped. My only thoughts are that the NEW drive is bad, but it does burn CDR's flawlessly.

Strange.

I really am out of ideas.

Thanks in advance for any other suggestions.

EagleFire out......
EagleFire
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun May 18, 2003 2:29 pm

Postby EagleFire on Sun May 18, 2003 3:17 pm

Thought might help to post my system specs.


ASUS P4S533, 512 Mb Samsung DDR, Intel P4 2.53 Ghz, MSI G4 Ti4200 - 128mb), 80 Gb Maxtor, 40 Gb Maxtor, DVD Drive, ARRGO CDR/W Drive (40x/16x/48x), Soundblaster Audigy Live, WinXP Pro, 3Com Pro TA USB ISDN

Triple Monitors - HP 21" P1100 (Trinitron) & CyberVision C92 19", and a 9" ViewMagic.
EagleFire
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun May 18, 2003 2:29 pm

Postby CDRecorder on Sun May 18, 2003 3:42 pm

Welcome to CDRLabs, EagleFire! :D

What brand(s) of CD-RW discs are you using?

Have you installed the latest firmware for your drive?

By the way, you should have the transfer rate set to DMA; the drive will be much slower if it is using PIO.
CDRecorder
CD-RW Recorder
 
Posts: 2335
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2003 9:28 pm

Postby dodecahedron on Sun May 18, 2003 5:16 pm

sounds like a media problem. what CDRWs are you using?

are they by any chance Memorex? if so, that's the culprit. the Memorex have an extremely bad rep around here - they're terrible!

Verbatim CDRWs are considered by many to be some of the best, if not the best CDRW media. give it a try.
One Ring to rule them all, One Ring to find them,
One Ring to bring them all and in the darkness bind them
In the land of Mordor, where the Shadows lie
-- JRRT
M.C. Escher - Reptilien
User avatar
dodecahedron
DVD Polygon
 
Posts: 6865
Joined: Sat Mar 09, 2002 12:04 am
Location: Israel

Postby EagleFire on Sun May 18, 2003 5:26 pm

Yeah, Memorex on both types of media 4x and 12x. I just bought a stack of 100 cdr's that were rated at 48x but could not get any higher than a 32x burn rate. Pretty lousy. I haven't tried any other CDRW media but definately will.

I set it back to DMA.

Yes, latest firmware flashed.

I'll pick up some other manufacturer's CDRW tomorrow and give that a whirl. I hate making coasters out of CDRW's, but I have two unopened boxes I can swap (maybe).

I'll let you know.

Doesn't it sound strange that I can write CDR's but not CDRW's?

Thanks for the advice.
EagleFire
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun May 18, 2003 2:29 pm

Postby dodecahedron on Sun May 18, 2003 5:47 pm

if you want to see how much people like Memorex CDRW media, look here:
http://www.cdrlabs.com/phpBB/viewtopic.php?t=10782
One Ring to rule them all, One Ring to find them,
One Ring to bring them all and in the darkness bind them
In the land of Mordor, where the Shadows lie
-- JRRT
M.C. Escher - Reptilien
User avatar
dodecahedron
DVD Polygon
 
Posts: 6865
Joined: Sat Mar 09, 2002 12:04 am
Location: Israel

Postby CDRecorder on Mon May 19, 2003 12:07 am

EagleFire wrote:I'll pick up some other manufacturer's CDRW tomorrow and give that a whirl. I hate making coasters out of CDRW's, but I have two unopened boxes I can swap (maybe).


You should be able to erase the CD-RWs. If your current drive won't erase them, try another drive. Some of my really old (i.e. 12x) drives won't erase a CD-RW if there's a write error, but I have successfully erased the discs in an LTR-32123S and an LTR-48125W.

EagleFire wrote:Doesn't it sound strange that I can write CDR's but not CDRW's?


Not really, if your CD-RW media is really poor quality. I have a drive which writes all CD-R discs well, but it really dislikes used Philips 12x CD-RW media (rather poor).
CDRecorder
CD-RW Recorder
 
Posts: 2335
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2003 9:28 pm

Postby EagleFire on Wed May 21, 2003 6:29 am

Bought some Maxell CD/RW's and they work fine. (Verbatim not at available at this store).

I appreciate the info, especially since CIS Technologies still haven't responded to my week old email.

Glad to see it wasn't the burner after all!
EagleFire
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun May 18, 2003 2:29 pm

Postby CDRecorder on Wed May 21, 2003 10:56 am

Glad to hear that everything's working! :D
CDRecorder
CD-RW Recorder
 
Posts: 2335
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2003 9:28 pm


Return to CD-R/CD-RW Drives

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron
All Content is Copyright (c) 2001-2017 CDRLabs Inc.