Home News Reviews Forums Shop


CPU Usage issues + Other Problems

Anything else

CPU Usage issues + Other Problems

Postby buba king on Thu Jan 01, 1970 2:30 am

Hi, Hope this is the right forum for my problem(s) :)

1. Nero uses waaay to much cpu power. When burning ISO images (bin/cue) @ 24x, 32x, and 40x, nero uses all the cpu power i got and my pc starts lagging. Plus the buffer runs out every 20secs soo its sloow :/. Burning @ 16x works fine. (although @ 60-80% cpu usage)

2. CDRWin just does not want to burn properly! If i use the ASPI drivers that cdrwin provides i get a "ASPI buffer to large". I've tried setting the maximum buffer size to all the avaiable options. If i use the default ASPI drviers CDRwin burns but just locks up at the very end of the burn. If i "end task" it i have to restart to get the cd-burner to work again. The CD Works alright but i dont wanna restart after each burn ;) . CDRWin uses the same amount of CPU as nero.

3. Fireburner just spits out a shitload of errors and does not want to burn at all :-?

Spec:
LG 8400B (8mb buffer) (newly updated with frimware ver. 1.02B)
Windows XP Pro (no SP-1)
Nero v.5.5.8.2
CDRWin v.3.9a
Fireburner v.2.1.7
Latest ASPI Drivers From Adaptec.
Pentium IV 2.0a (@2400mhz 1.650VCore) (Stable@40C :) )
ASUS P4S533 (BIOS v.1008 beta 3)
512MB PC 2100 DDR RAM
ATI Radeon 8500 (64mb)
2x60GB Maxtor RAID-0 (I'm burning from this array)


I've probaly just misconfigured something. But i cant find out what! Thats why i ask you for help :) Thanks!
buba king
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jun 25, 2002 7:31 am

Postby dodecahedron on Thu Jan 01, 1970 2:31 am

make sure DMA is enabled for your CDRW drive
One Ring to rule them all, One Ring to find them,
One Ring to bring them all and in the darkness bind them
In the land of Mordor, where the Shadows lie
-- JRRT
M.C. Escher - Reptilien
User avatar
dodecahedron
DVD Polygon
 
Posts: 6865
Joined: Sat Mar 09, 2002 12:04 am
Location: Israel

Postby buba king on Thu Jan 01, 1970 2:33 am

dodecahedron wrote:make sure DMA is enabled for your CDRW drive


How? :/
buba king
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jun 25, 2002 7:31 am

Postby dodecahedron on Thu Jan 01, 1970 2:33 am

check out the FAQ forum
specifically this topic
One Ring to rule them all, One Ring to find them,
One Ring to bring them all and in the darkness bind them
In the land of Mordor, where the Shadows lie
-- JRRT
M.C. Escher - Reptilien
User avatar
dodecahedron
DVD Polygon
 
Posts: 6865
Joined: Sat Mar 09, 2002 12:04 am
Location: Israel

Postby buba king on Thu Jan 01, 1970 2:33 am

That was the first thing i did! :)

Right Click My Computer
Click Properties
Click the Hardware Tab
Click on the Device Manager box
Click the + next to IDE ATA/ATAPI Controllers
Right Click Primary IDE Channel (or Secondary)
Click Properties
Click the Advanced Settings Tab
In the Transfer Mode Box, Click the drop down arrow
Specify DMA if Available


The "advanced" tab does not exist on my system. If my memory serves me right only Windows 98/ME/2000 has this tab! Any other suggestions? :)
buba king
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jun 25, 2002 7:31 am

Postby dodecahedron on Thu Jan 01, 1970 2:33 am

buba king wrote:That was the first thing i did! :)

Right Click My Computer
Click Properties
Click the Hardware Tab
Click on the Device Manager box
Click the + next to IDE ATA/ATAPI Controllers
Right Click Primary IDE Channel (or Secondary)
Click Properties
Click the Advanced Settings Tab
In the Transfer Mode Box, Click the drop down arrow
Specify DMA if Available


The "advanced" tab does not exist on my system. If my memory serves me right only Windows 98/ME/2000 has this tab! Any other suggestions? :)

very strange.
you say you have winXP !
are you SURE you went to the IDE ATA/ATAPI Controllers line in the device manager, not to DVD/CDROM drives?
One Ring to rule them all, One Ring to find them,
One Ring to bring them all and in the darkness bind them
In the land of Mordor, where the Shadows lie
-- JRRT
M.C. Escher - Reptilien
User avatar
dodecahedron
DVD Polygon
 
Posts: 6865
Joined: Sat Mar 09, 2002 12:04 am
Location: Israel

Postby buba king on Thu Jan 01, 1970 2:34 am

Image

I'm starting to think this is faulty drivers...
buba king
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jun 25, 2002 7:31 am

Postby buba king on Thu Jan 01, 1970 2:34 am

hehe! fixed it by unistalling the sis drivers.. seems to work alright now !

Thanks for your time!
buba king
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jun 25, 2002 7:31 am

Postby dodecahedron on Thu Jan 01, 1970 2:34 am

great! :wink:
One Ring to rule them all, One Ring to find them,
One Ring to bring them all and in the darkness bind them
In the land of Mordor, where the Shadows lie
-- JRRT
M.C. Escher - Reptilien
User avatar
dodecahedron
DVD Polygon
 
Posts: 6865
Joined: Sat Mar 09, 2002 12:04 am
Location: Israel


Return to General Software Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

All Content is Copyright (c) 2001-2017 CDRLabs Inc.