Home News Reviews Forums Shop


DMA enabled how do you find it in WINDOWS 2000 PRO?

CPU's? Motherboards? Video cards? Talk about it here.

DMA enabled how do you find it in WINDOWS 2000 PRO?

Postby DVD_ADDICT on Sat Jan 03, 2004 3:31 pm

I just installed Windows 2000 Pro and I can't find out if my Plextor 708a is DMA enabled. Would anyone know how I can check this? I tried looking in device manager but it does not show if it is DMA or not. I would appreciate the help anyone can give me. Thanks in advance! :D
User avatar
DVD_ADDICT
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 186
Joined: Wed Nov 19, 2003 3:24 am

Postby burninfool on Sat Jan 03, 2004 3:52 pm

D/l Nero InfoTool: www.cdspeed2000.com
How to enable/disable DMA:
WinXP/2000:In the Device Manager expand the IDE ATA/ATAPI controllers entry, either by double-clicking IDE ATA/ATAPI controllers or by clicking on the + next to it.
Select the appropriate IDE channel (Primary or Secondary). To get to the IDE Channel Properties window, either right-click the channel and then click Properties, or select the channel and click Action -> Properties in the menubar.
In the Primary/Secondary IDE Channel Properties window, select the Advanced Settings tab (if the Properties window does not have an Advanced Settings tab, see the Note at the end).
Choose either the Device 0 frame for the master device on the channel or the Device 1 frame for the slave device on the channel, depending on whether the drive for which you are trying to enable DMA is master or slave. Click the Transfer Mode pull-down menu. Select DMA if available. Then click OK.
Note: With some IDE chipset drivers DMA cannot be enabled through the Device Manager, but only through the driver settings. An example of this is the Intel Application Accelerator.
User avatar
burninfool
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 1093
Joined: Sun Mar 02, 2003 2:50 am
Location: USA

Re: DMA enabled how do you find it in WINDOWS 2000 PRO?

Postby dodecahedron on Sat Jan 03, 2004 4:44 pm

DVD_ADDICT wrote:I just installed Windows 2000 Pro and I can't find out if my Plextor 708a is DMA enabled. Would anyone know how I can check this? I tried looking in device manager but it does not show if it is DMA or not. I would appreciate the help anyone can give me. Thanks in advance! :D

check out the FAQ:
How to enable DMA in Windows 2000 (with pictures)
One Ring to rule them all, One Ring to find them,
One Ring to bring them all and in the darkness bind them
In the land of Mordor, where the Shadows lie
-- JRRT
M.C. Escher - Reptilien
User avatar
dodecahedron
DVD Polygon
 
Posts: 6865
Joined: Sat Mar 09, 2002 12:04 am
Location: Israel

Postby DVD_ADDICT on Sat Jan 03, 2004 9:36 pm

:D Thanks for the info. My Plextor is DMA enabled.
User avatar
DVD_ADDICT
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 186
Joined: Wed Nov 19, 2003 3:24 am

Postby dodecahedron on Sat Jan 03, 2004 10:24 pm

welcome.
One Ring to rule them all, One Ring to find them,
One Ring to bring them all and in the darkness bind them
In the land of Mordor, where the Shadows lie
-- JRRT
M.C. Escher - Reptilien
User avatar
dodecahedron
DVD Polygon
 
Posts: 6865
Joined: Sat Mar 09, 2002 12:04 am
Location: Israel


Return to General Hardware Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

All Content is Copyright (c) 2001-2017 CDRLabs Inc.