Home News Reviews Forums Shop


DVD cloning (not movie)

SlySoft, Alcohol, VSO Software, NTI, etc.

DVD cloning (not movie)

Postby zeev on Sat May 06, 2006 7:16 am

Hi,

I've backuped my development tree to a DVD media (about 4.3GB), and have to make a copy of it.
There are a lot of files and I would like to perform a direct copy from 1 DVD media to another one, the same way as it's performed using the CloneCD (copy on-fly).

Thanks.

Zeev
zeev
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Nov 06, 2003 8:32 pm

Postby Ian on Sat May 06, 2006 8:38 am

Most programs should be able to do an on the fly copy of an unprotected data DVD. If it was me, I'd just use something like Nero.
"Blu-ray is just a bag of hurt." - Steve Jobs
User avatar
Ian
Grand Poobah
 
Posts: 14883
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2001 2:34 pm
Location: Madison, WI

Postby zeev on Sat May 06, 2006 12:29 pm

I've tried to use Nero, but it copies all the files to a temporary folder and only then writes them on the target DVD. It takes plenty of time.
The main issue is: how to make it work on-fly (without the temporary storage), like the CloneCD does.
zeev
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Nov 06, 2003 8:32 pm

Postby Ian on Sat May 06, 2006 1:19 pm

There's an option to tell it to do it on the fly.
"Blu-ray is just a bag of hurt." - Steve Jobs
User avatar
Ian
Grand Poobah
 
Posts: 14883
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2001 2:34 pm
Location: Madison, WI

Postby dodecahedron on Sat May 06, 2006 2:27 pm

when you open a DVD Copy compilation, the Copy tab has a checkbox On the fly.
One Ring to rule them all, One Ring to find them,
One Ring to bring them all and in the darkness bind them
In the land of Mordor, where the Shadows lie
-- JRRT
M.C. Escher - Reptilien
User avatar
dodecahedron
DVD Polygon
 
Posts: 6865
Joined: Sat Mar 09, 2002 12:04 am
Location: Israel

Postby zeev on Sat May 06, 2006 4:25 pm

dodecahedron wrote:when you open a DVD Copy compilation, the Copy tab has a checkbox On the fly.


There is such an option, but it's gray-d out.
Though the expert features are set on.

Is there a way to enable the option ?

Thanks
zeev
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Nov 06, 2003 8:32 pm

Postby zeev on Sat May 06, 2006 4:27 pm

By the way, the option is available for the Blue-Ray burners only.
I don't have one like that. :)
zeev
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Nov 06, 2003 8:32 pm

Postby Ian on Sat May 06, 2006 6:08 pm

No, its not just for Blu-ray. The option has been there for years.

You have to choose a drive other than your writer as the source. Once you do, that box should not be grayed out.
"Blu-ray is just a bag of hurt." - Steve Jobs
User avatar
Ian
Grand Poobah
 
Posts: 14883
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2001 2:34 pm
Location: Madison, WI

Postby zeev on Sun May 07, 2006 12:47 am

You're right, the default reader is set to the writer ... :)

When I've changed it, the option was available.

Thanks
zeev
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Nov 06, 2003 8:32 pm

Postby zeev on Sun May 07, 2006 12:48 am

became available :)
zeev
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Nov 06, 2003 8:32 pm


Return to Other CD, DVD and Blu-ray Burning Software

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

All Content is Copyright (c) 2001-2017 CDRLabs Inc.