Home News Reviews Forums Shop


A few problem with freshly built system

Burn baby burn!

A few problem with freshly built system

Postby quacka on Fri May 09, 2003 1:35 am

Hi,

I just built a pentium 2.4 system. Everythign is fine except for teh burner.

1. When i do determine maximum speed it goes to 26.5x then stop. I know my drive can do around 48,000kbps so HDD speed shouldn't be an issue.

2. When I try to burn at 48x. Everytime it gets to about 92%, Buffer underun activated and seems like it stops burning at the end of the disc.

3. I have 2 HDD, a DVD-ROM and a Burner. Mother board has no raid. How should I connect it? Its connected atm with the hdd together WD as master, DVD-ROM and CDRW together with the CDRW as master.

If anyone can help me it would be greatly apreciated.

My specs are.

P4 2.4 (533 FSB)
P4PE Asus M/B
512mb PC2700
WD 8MB 80gig ATA100
Quantum Fireball LCT20 40G ata100 5400rpm
Hitachi GD-2500 DVD
Liteon 48125W
Windows XP Pro
quacka
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Aug 21, 2002 4:59 pm

Postby CDRecorder on Fri May 09, 2003 1:41 am

Try enabling DMA. Instructions for Windows XP and other variants of Windows are in the FAQ forum.

BTW, I think that all of your drives are already connected in the optimal configuration.
CDRecorder
CD-RW Recorder
 
Posts: 2335
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2003 9:28 pm

Postby quacka on Fri May 09, 2003 1:59 am

all the drive DMA should be confiugured

WD:UDMA 5
Quantum:UDMA 5

LITEON:UDMA 2
DVD-ROM: Multiword DMA 2
P4 2.4 (533 FSB)
P4PE Asus M/B
512mb PC2700
WD 8MB 80gig ATA100
Quantum Fireball LCT20 40G ata100 5400rpm
Hitachi GD-2500 DVD
Liteon 48125W
Windows XP Pro
quacka
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Aug 21, 2002 4:59 pm

Postby CDRecorder on Fri May 09, 2003 2:14 am

Interesting... What media (brand and speed) are you using? Also have you upgraded to firmware version VS0B for your Lite-On LTR-48125W?
CDRecorder
CD-RW Recorder
 
Posts: 2335
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2003 9:28 pm

Postby quacka on Fri May 09, 2003 2:31 am

I have updated to latest firmware.
Media is CMCmagnetics 48X
Dye type 6:Short strategy(phthalocianyne)

Weird just ran Nero Infotool
All my slave drive dma is off
so the dvdrom and the quantum drive dma is off
Windows report its on in device manager though

Just burnt at 40x it plays fine
weird its 48x media
P4 2.4 (533 FSB)
P4PE Asus M/B
512mb PC2700
WD 8MB 80gig ATA100
Quantum Fireball LCT20 40G ata100 5400rpm
Hitachi GD-2500 DVD
Liteon 48125W
Windows XP Pro
quacka
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Aug 21, 2002 4:59 pm

Postby CDRecorder on Fri May 09, 2003 2:40 am

I am sorry if you have already answered this, but, in Device Manager, does each drive say "DMA if available" and "PIO Mode", or does each drive actually list something like "Ultra DMA Mode 5" or something like that? Like you mentioned earlier, your Lite-On should be running UDMA Mode 2.

What IDE drivers (i.e. Via, SiS, IAA, or Microsoft) are you using?

Also, what is the brand of the discs you are using?

Edit: I saw that you mentioned CMC discs, but are they sold as CMC, or do they have some other branding, such as Spin-X, Imation, or Optimum?
CDRecorder
CD-RW Recorder
 
Posts: 2335
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2003 9:28 pm

Postby quacka on Fri May 09, 2003 3:09 am

DMA if vailable and it says current transfer mode as i mention before ultra DMA mode 5 etc...

I am using intels driver that comes with the board.

The disc in unbranded. Maybe its just the blanks i try it with another brand when i have teh tiem to go buy it. I have 40x princo here but dont think it would be good to burn 48x on it.

I am more puzzled as to why determine maximum speed only detects 26.5x on the dot everytime. the HDD speed check in cd copy shows my drive goes 48,000KB/s when burning at 48X only requires 7,200
P4 2.4 (533 FSB)
P4PE Asus M/B
512mb PC2700
WD 8MB 80gig ATA100
Quantum Fireball LCT20 40G ata100 5400rpm
Hitachi GD-2500 DVD
Liteon 48125W
Windows XP Pro
quacka
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Aug 21, 2002 4:59 pm

Postby vbl117 on Fri May 09, 2003 5:52 am

quacka wrote:DVD-ROM: Multiword DMA 2


It's not "DMA mode 2" . Perhaps it causes the issue slowing the CD/RW ( i am not sure though ) . I guess your DVD-ROM drive can use DMA MODE 2 .

I assume you have an issue to enable DMA on your DVD-ROM drive .
Read this (FAQ ) :

http://www.cdrlabs.com/phpBB/viewtopic.php?t=6645
vbl117
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 235
Joined: Tue Sep 24, 2002 9:57 am
Location: France

Postby CDRecorder on Fri May 09, 2003 10:08 am

I'm sorry; I wasn't sure if the modes you had mentioned before were the current transfer modes, so I just wanted to clarify. :oops:

I agree, some better media might help. I would recommend 48x Fuji discs if you're in the U.S. (those are made by TY, so they're good quality).

Also, I think that if your DVD is running in multi-word DMA 2, you should be fine. After all, even a 48x drive needs only 7200 KB per second, and MW DMA 2 will do 16 MB per second. Still, it might be worth checking in your BIOS setup to make sure that Ultra DMA is set to "Auto" or "Enabled" for every drive in your computer.

I hope this helps! :D
CDRecorder
CD-RW Recorder
 
Posts: 2335
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2003 9:28 pm

Postby vbl117 on Fri May 09, 2003 11:19 am

Perhaps you are right :oops: . But DMA MODE 2 is better than Multiword DMA MODE 2 and if i was him i would correct this issue :wink: .
Also it can be that NeroInfoTool reports false information . I never had false information with XP about IDE controllers ( thought it is bugged ) but i have already have false information with NeroInfoTool about drives abilities .

I want also say that if you have installed the IAA ( Intel Application Accelator ) from Intel , it can be the cause of the issue . The IAA causes a lot of problem with optical drives .
vbl117
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 235
Joined: Tue Sep 24, 2002 9:57 am
Location: France

Postby burninfool on Fri May 09, 2003 2:37 pm

quacka,
I would set up your drives this way:
Primary channel-OS HDD as Master,DVD-ROM as Slave
Secondary channel-CD-R/W as Master,second HDD as Slave
User avatar
burninfool
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 1093
Joined: Sun Mar 02, 2003 2:50 am
Location: USA

Postby quacka on Sat May 10, 2003 7:51 am

The DVD-ROM is old, 6X if i rememebr correctly. It doesn't support UDMA 2

I'll try changing the setup see how it goes

thanks
P4 2.4 (533 FSB)
P4PE Asus M/B
512mb PC2700
WD 8MB 80gig ATA100
Quantum Fireball LCT20 40G ata100 5400rpm
Hitachi GD-2500 DVD
Liteon 48125W
Windows XP Pro
quacka
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Aug 21, 2002 4:59 pm

Postby quacka on Sat May 10, 2003 7:54 am

vbl117 wrote: I want also say that if you have installed the IAA ( Intel Application Accelator ) from Intel , it can be the cause of the issue . The IAA causes a lot of problem with optical drives .


So you saying i better off uninstalling it and not use anything?
P4 2.4 (533 FSB)
P4PE Asus M/B
512mb PC2700
WD 8MB 80gig ATA100
Quantum Fireball LCT20 40G ata100 5400rpm
Hitachi GD-2500 DVD
Liteon 48125W
Windows XP Pro
quacka
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Aug 21, 2002 4:59 pm

Postby dolphinius_rex on Sat May 10, 2003 8:16 am

Quacka: There is a notorious WinXP secuirity update which really messes up burning on a lot of systems, it is security update 811493. If you have installed this update, try uninstalling it.

More likely, you are getting hit with the same problem that countless others suffer from including myself. It's bug in Nero I believe, but Ahead has so far failed to discover what causes it. Unfortunatly, I have no solution for you in this case. Every once and a while Nero will let me burn at full speed properly, other times, I'm stuck between 12x and 24x depending on how the software is feeling. Oddly enough, I find that running programs in the background actually HELPS nero read from the HDD faster! I usually run Kazaa Lite When burning, and just set up a download or two of something, it doesn't matter. The trick is to keep the HDD accessing, without bogging down your I/O channel too much.

Good luck!

by the way, I've noticed other software does not suffer from this problem, or at least alcohol 120% doesn't. So you wan always use WinISO to make an image, and burn it using Alcohol 120% and see how that works for you.
Punch Cards -> Paper Tape -> Tape Drive -> 8" Floppy Diskette -> 5 1/4" Floppy Diskette -> 3 1/2" "Flippy" Diskette -> CD-R -> DVD±R -> BD-R

The Progression of Computer Media
User avatar
dolphinius_rex
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 6923
Joined: Fri Jan 31, 2003 6:14 pm
Location: Vancouver B.C. Canada

Postby quacka on Sat May 10, 2003 10:12 am

Is this bug version specific?
Maybe if i install an old version of nero it would be ok?
P4 2.4 (533 FSB)
P4PE Asus M/B
512mb PC2700
WD 8MB 80gig ATA100
Quantum Fireball LCT20 40G ata100 5400rpm
Hitachi GD-2500 DVD
Liteon 48125W
Windows XP Pro
quacka
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Aug 21, 2002 4:59 pm

Postby cfitz on Sat May 10, 2003 10:49 am

quacka wrote:
vbl117 wrote: I want also say that if you have installed the IAA ( Intel Application Accelator ) from Intel , it can be the cause of the issue . The IAA causes a lot of problem with optical drives .


So you saying i better off uninstalling it and not use anything?

Yes.

cfitz
cfitz
CD-RW Curmudgeon
 
Posts: 4572
Joined: Sat Jul 27, 2002 10:44 am

Postby dolphinius_rex on Sat May 10, 2003 12:24 pm

I've had the same problem for quite some time, at least since version 5.5.9.17 . I can't quite remember exactly when it started happening to me though...

I keep downloading the latest version of Nero hoping it'll work better. So far this latest version 5.5.10.28 has not screwed up on me yet, but I don't use it very often anymore unless I need to. But still, that is 1 or 2 burns that have worked.
Punch Cards -> Paper Tape -> Tape Drive -> 8" Floppy Diskette -> 5 1/4" Floppy Diskette -> 3 1/2" "Flippy" Diskette -> CD-R -> DVD±R -> BD-R

The Progression of Computer Media
User avatar
dolphinius_rex
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 6923
Joined: Fri Jan 31, 2003 6:14 pm
Location: Vancouver B.C. Canada

Postby vbl117 on Sat May 10, 2003 5:38 pm

quacka wrote:
vbl117 wrote: I want also say that if you have installed the IAA ( Intel Application Accelator ) from Intel , it can be the cause of the issue . The IAA causes a lot of problem with optical drives .


So you saying i better off uninstalling it and not use anything?


Uninstall it !! Many people have reported issues with the IAA and optical drives . I don't know how the IAA works ( i do not use Intel processors ) but it don't seem interesting/trustable to me .
vbl117
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 235
Joined: Tue Sep 24, 2002 9:57 am
Location: France

Postby jedimc on Wed May 14, 2003 6:41 am

I installed the latest intel Aplication Accelerator and it works fine.
but I installed before I had the burner, make sure you have the latest version of it
Last edited by jedimc on Thu May 15, 2003 5:40 am, edited 1 time in total.
I have a LG GCE-8520B 52/24/52
and Samsung CD-ROM SC-148T
User avatar
jedimc
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 136
Joined: Thu Apr 03, 2003 6:33 am
Location: Australia

Postby vbl117 on Wed May 14, 2003 6:47 am

Intel recommend not to set CD/RW in DMA mode with IAA but in others modes ( like PIO mode for example ) . However it does not solve anything . I know some people have no problem and says it is a driver problem . So uninstall the IAA . If you want download the latest IAA version from intel antd try it ( but i do not advice you to install the IAA , i am not sure that the try worth it ) .

By the way quoting useless info/ads from Intel is not very wise . Sure that Intel says it improves performance . But in real world , proofs are needed . Also there is nothing helpful in this quoted text ( do not say how to solve issues/does not speak about issues ) .
vbl117
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 235
Joined: Tue Sep 24, 2002 9:57 am
Location: France

Postby jedimc on Thu May 15, 2003 1:53 am

I installed the latest intel Aplication Accelerator and it works fine.
but I installed before I had the burner, make sure you have the latest version of it


ok its gone now
I have a LG GCE-8520B 52/24/52
and Samsung CD-ROM SC-148T
User avatar
jedimc
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 136
Joined: Thu Apr 03, 2003 6:33 am
Location: Australia

Postby vbl117 on Thu May 15, 2003 5:32 am

loool ! You are pretty quick and intelligent . By the way you can edit your posts , you know .

See You Soon .
vbl117
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 235
Joined: Tue Sep 24, 2002 9:57 am
Location: France

Postby jedimc on Thu May 15, 2003 5:43 am

jedimc wrote:I installed the latest intel Aplication Accelerator and it works fine.
but I installed before I had the burner, make sure you have the latest version of it


ok its gone now


i did click on edit but it turend into a message for some reason :roll: :-?
I have a LG GCE-8520B 52/24/52
and Samsung CD-ROM SC-148T
User avatar
jedimc
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 136
Joined: Thu Apr 03, 2003 6:33 am
Location: Australia


Return to CD-R/CD-RW Drives

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

All Content is Copyright (c) 2001-2017 CDRLabs Inc.