Home News Reviews Forums Shop


LG GCE-8480B, only read 19x !

Burn baby burn!

LG GCE-8480B, only read 19x !

Postby per on Mon Jan 06, 2003 5:27 pm

I´ve just installed LG GCE-8480B.

Result from Nero CD Speed test:
Start:19,25x
End: 19,18x
Read speed i constant just above 19x and rpm decreasing.

Test same cd in my Hitachi DVD-ROM GD 2500, max read 24x.
Start:11,36x
End:25,43x
Read speed increasing and rpm constant.

What´s wrong with my istallation of LG GCE-8480B?
per
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Dec 23, 2002 6:33 pm

Postby coolestnitish on Mon Jan 06, 2003 5:41 pm

What kind of installation do you have set up? ie. What is the configuration of the different IDE channels? Is DMA turned on? Please provide a bit more detail as to how you have the drive set up.
OH BEHAVE!!!!!
Never in this world can hatred be stilled by hatred; it will be stilled only by non-hatred - this is the law Eternal.
coolestnitish
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 232
Joined: Mon Aug 26, 2002 3:00 pm
Location: CaNaDa

Re: LG GCE-8480B, only read 19x !

Postby nox on Tue Jan 07, 2003 5:53 am

per wrote:What´s wrong with my istallation of LG GCE-8480B?


You have DMA disabled.
nox
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Fri Mar 15, 2002 4:00 pm

Postby per on Tue Jan 07, 2003 6:00 pm

My set up:

Secondary IDE:
Master:Hitachi DVD-ROM GD 2500, Jumper connector set as Master.
MDA turned on.
Slave: LG GCE-8480B, Jumper connector set as Slave. MDA turned on I suppose because controll=>system=>Devise manager=>CD-ROM=>HL-DT-ST CD-RW GCE 8480B=>properties=>settings= DMA is marked.

Primary IDE:
Master:Hard disk, Fujitsu MPC3064AT-E/P2, Jumper connector set as Master.

Per
per
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Dec 23, 2002 6:33 pm

Postby nox on Tue Jan 07, 2003 8:59 pm

I bet DMA is disabled even if Windows says it enabled.
Try some program like CDSpeed to check CPU load. With DMA disabled CPU is very high.

You can try leaving the writer alone in the IDE cable.
nox
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Fri Mar 15, 2002 4:00 pm

Postby mdkathon on Wed Jan 08, 2003 2:07 am

The hitachi is most likly not able to use DMA, and because of this it forces the LG to forgo the DMA as well. Try using the LG without the hitachi on an ide channel with the LG set as master.

Btw.. wtf do you turn on/off DMA in XP?
[ m ] vincent@enemesis.org
tao / p!xl8 / cfc / ssc

Ninjas are cool, and by cool I mean totally sweet!
User avatar
mdkathon
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2002 12:41 pm

Postby dodecahedron on Wed Jan 08, 2003 3:15 pm

nox wrote:I bet DMA is disabled even if Windows says it enabled.
Try some program like CDSpeed to check CPU load. With DMA disabled CPU is very high.

You can try leaving the writer alone in the IDE cable.

you can verify the DMA setting using Nero InfoTool
www.cdspeed2000.com
One Ring to rule them all, One Ring to find them,
One Ring to bring them all and in the darkness bind them
In the land of Mordor, where the Shadows lie
-- JRRT
M.C. Escher - Reptilien
User avatar
dodecahedron
DVD Polygon
 
Posts: 6865
Joined: Sat Mar 09, 2002 12:04 am
Location: Israel

Postby per on Wed Jan 08, 2003 7:53 pm

From my very first test above:
Hitachi as master CPU 8x 12%
LG as slave CPU 8x 40%

I haven´t winzip so I couldn´t opened Nero InfoTool.

I made following Nero CD Speed test:

1. Unmarked DMA in Device manager.
Master Hitachi DVD-ROM. Start 11,35x, End 14,31x, CPU 8x 45%
Slave LG GCE. Start 10.97x, End 10,89x, CPU 8x 70%
My conclusion: DMA was turned on before this test. Right?

2. LG GCE as Master alone in the Secondary IDE. Marked DMA in Device manager.
Start 21,71X, End 50,89X (nice!) CPU 8X 6%

3. Master LG GCE as Master. Start 21,79x, End 50,91x (nice!) CPU 8x 7%
Slave Hitachi DVD-ROM. Start 11,36x End 14,08x CPU 8x 42%


Does the performance allways decrease when a driver set as a slave?
Can I increase the performance for the slave Hitachi DVD-ROM to 24x?
per
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Dec 23, 2002 6:33 pm

Postby KCK on Wed Jan 08, 2003 8:52 pm

Did you try Start| Programs| Ahead Nero| Nero Toolkit| Nero InfoTool? If Nero InfoTool is not available there, you may download the latest Nero 5.5.10.0 from www.ahead.de, which includes Nero InfoTool.
KCK
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 471
Joined: Wed Nov 13, 2002 12:55 pm

Postby dodecahedron on Thu Jan 09, 2003 1:51 am

dodecahedron wrote:
nox wrote:I bet DMA is disabled even if Windows says it enabled.
Try some program like CDSpeed to check CPU load. With DMA disabled CPU is very high.

You can try leaving the writer alone in the IDE cable.

you can verify the DMA setting using Nero InfoTool
www.cdspeed2000.com


per wrote:I haven´t winzip so I couldn´t opened Nero InfoTool.


KCK wrote:Did you try Start| Programs| Ahead Nero| Nero Toolkit| Nero InfoTool? If Nero InfoTool is not available there, you may download the latest Nero 5.5.10.0 from www.ahead.de, which includes Nero InfoTool.


or more sipmly, go to www.winzip.com and download winzip (shorter d/l time than full Nero d/l)
One Ring to rule them all, One Ring to find them,
One Ring to bring them all and in the darkness bind them
In the land of Mordor, where the Shadows lie
-- JRRT
M.C. Escher - Reptilien
User avatar
dodecahedron
DVD Polygon
 
Posts: 6865
Joined: Sat Mar 09, 2002 12:04 am
Location: Israel

Postby Phish on Sun Jan 12, 2003 8:19 am

Hi,

When I installed my F1 drive, and helped someone with installing a Lite-On drive, they both showed these symptoms until I had them detected by the BIOS when booting up.

Enable detection in the BIOS first, then see what diference the DMA setting makes.

Hope this helps :)

Phil
Phish
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Jan 12, 2003 8:12 am


Return to CD-R/CD-RW Drives

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

All Content is Copyright (c) 2001-2017 CDRLabs Inc.