Home News Reviews Forums Shop


IDE 1 error

CPU's? Motherboards? Video cards? Talk about it here.

IDE 1 error

Postby SV1 on Thu Sep 11, 2003 5:24 pm

I have a Toshiba Tecra 9100 with dual boot Win2k and WinXP. Installed Liteon LSC245082k CDRW/DVD. On boot, I get IDE 1 error. System boots anyway and when I check device manager - no CD drive. Two methods get it installed 1) Uninstall secondary IDE and re-install - Windows will recognize the drive and auto-install 2) Remove under power and re-install. However, on next boot, same problem.
SV1
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Sep 08, 2003 7:51 am

Postby CDRecorder on Fri Sep 12, 2003 3:35 am

What is the jumper position on your new drive, and what is the jumper position on your other optical drive (if you have one)?

Also, what IDE channels are all of your drives on?
CDRecorder
CD-RW Recorder
 
Posts: 2335
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2003 9:28 pm

Postby SV1 on Fri Sep 12, 2003 5:01 pm

As far as I can tell, there are no user changeable jumpers on the new drive. The Liteon user manual does not show one and none are obvious on or in the drive.
SV1
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Sep 08, 2003 7:51 am

Postby CDRecorder on Fri Sep 12, 2003 7:51 pm

Is this a laptop computer? :oops:
CDRecorder
CD-RW Recorder
 
Posts: 2335
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2003 9:28 pm

Postby SV1 on Sat Sep 13, 2003 8:52 am

Yes. Laptop.
SV1
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Sep 08, 2003 7:51 am

Postby CDRecorder on Sat Sep 13, 2003 3:50 pm

Oh, I didn't realize that. :oops:

Does the computer have one or two IDE channels? If you don't already know, you can find out by going into Device Manager in Windows. Check under the entry named "IDE ATA/ATAPI Controllers" and see if it lists both a Primary and a Secondary channel, or only a Primary one. In either case, to which channel is the optical drive attached, and is it listed as "device 0" or "device 1"?
CDRecorder
CD-RW Recorder
 
Posts: 2335
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2003 9:28 pm

Postby SV1 on Sun Sep 14, 2003 10:55 am

Two IDE channels. CD is on Secondary. Device 1 (1).
SV1
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Sep 08, 2003 7:51 am

Postby CDRecorder on Sun Sep 14, 2003 3:24 pm

Ok, that may be the problem. Your drive is configured as slave (device 1), but it should be master (device 0). It shouldn't be slave because there is no master device.

I'd suggest you contact Tech Support and find out how to make the drive act as a master device.
CDRecorder
CD-RW Recorder
 
Posts: 2335
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2003 9:28 pm

Postby SV1 on Mon Sep 22, 2003 5:51 pm

OK, here's the wierd thing - After weeks of updating drivers and firmware, I gave up and bought another drive. This one from Ebay. It was OEM in a Toshiba Tecra 9100. It worked 1st time without any intervention!
It is a Matshita UJDA720. Not the performer that the Liteon is. The PC set it up as IDE 0 (0)? Why does that work? How can I change the Liteon to match?
SV1
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Sep 08, 2003 7:51 am

Postby CDRecorder on Mon Sep 22, 2003 6:12 pm

As far as I know, whether the drive is set up as Device 0 or Device 1 depends on the drive itself, not the PC. Somehow, your Lite-On is set up as slave, but the Matshita is set up as master.
CDRecorder
CD-RW Recorder
 
Posts: 2335
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2003 9:28 pm


Return to General Hardware Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

All Content is Copyright (c) 2001-2017 CDRLabs Inc.