Home News Reviews Forums Shop


IDE settings

Burn baby burn!

IDE settings

Postby stretch on Tue Sep 09, 2003 1:55 pm

I have a liteon 48246s as master on secondary channel, a pioneer dvd106s as slave on same channel. I have now added an old mitsumi tr4804te burner as master on primary ide channel for burning everyday files etc, however windows lists it as a cd drive instead of a cdrw. Is this set up to my best advantage or is there another setup that will improve matters.

Regards stretch

ps my hds are on ide3 as a striped raid
Last edited by stretch on Wed Sep 10, 2003 2:57 am, edited 1 time in total.
stretch
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Sep 09, 2003 1:49 pm

Postby Stoner on Tue Sep 09, 2003 2:07 pm

A bit confusing on your jumper settings. The easiest way is simply setting all the optical drives' jumper to CS, cable select. Put the DVD writer on IDE1 and put the two CD writers on IDE2, w/ the Lite-On at the end of the cable (master), and Mitsumi in the middle (slave).
Stoner
CD-RW Thug
 
Posts: 70
Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2003 11:42 pm

Postby CDRecorder on Tue Sep 09, 2003 3:54 pm

The setup that I would suggest is:

Primary Master: Pioneer DVD-ROM
Primary Slave: Mitsumi CD-RW drive
Secondary Master: Lite-On CD-RW drive
Secondary Slave: None

Unless you're using 80-conductor cables, don't use cable select. It may not work with a 40-conductor cable, and things will work differently even if cable select works with a 40-conductor cable.

Also, it's normal that Windows sees the CD-RW drives as "CD-ROM" if you are using Windows 9x or Me. I don't know about 2000, but XP should display "CD-RW" for the CD-RW drives.
CDRecorder
CD-RW Recorder
 
Posts: 2335
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2003 9:28 pm

Postby stretch on Tue Sep 09, 2003 4:32 pm

Cheers guys I'll give it a try, btw i'm running xp, read this in windows knowledge base: http://support.microsoft.com/default.as ... -us;294652 not sure what is about though.

regards stretch
stretch
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Sep 09, 2003 1:49 pm

Postby Stoner on Tue Sep 09, 2003 6:55 pm

CDRecorder wrote:The setup that I would suggest is:
Primary Master: Pioneer DVD-ROM
Primary Slave: Mitsumi CD-RW drive
Secondary Master: Lite-On CD-RW drive
Secondary Slave: None

Unless you're using 80-conductor cables, don't use cable select. It may not work with a 40-conductor cable, and things will work differently even if cable select works with a 40-conductor cable.


So you're just speculating about the cable select part, but personally never tried it. Interesting. Mind elaborating about the will work differently part? BTW, have you noticed your suggestion is exactly the same as the one mentioned by Stretch?
Stoner
CD-RW Thug
 
Posts: 70
Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2003 11:42 pm

Postby CDRecorder on Tue Sep 09, 2003 7:27 pm

I thought that Stretch meant that he had this configuration:

Primary Master: Mitsumi CD-RW
Primary Slave: Pioneer DVD
Secondary Master: Lite-On CD-RW
Secondary Slave: None

I could be mistaken though. :oops:

Edit: If this is what Stretch is using, that should be fine, too.

Anyhow, you are right when you say that I have never tried CS on 40-wire cables. However, it appears to be common knowledge that CS doesn't always work with 40-conductor cables. I have also heard that 40-conductor cables that are compatible with CS sometimes have the middle connector as the master and the end connector as the slave, which is exactly opposite to the way it's done with an 80-wire cable.
CDRecorder
CD-RW Recorder
 
Posts: 2335
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2003 9:28 pm

Postby cfitz on Tue Sep 09, 2003 7:30 pm

Stoner wrote:
CDRecorder wrote:The setup that I would suggest is:
Primary Master: Pioneer DVD-ROM
Primary Slave: Mitsumi CD-RW drive
Secondary Master: Lite-On CD-RW drive
Secondary Slave: None

Unless you're using 80-conductor cables, don't use cable select. It may not work with a 40-conductor cable, and things will work differently even if cable select works with a 40-conductor cable.


So you're just speculating about the cable select part, but personally never tried it. Interesting. Mind elaborating about the will work differently part? BTW, have you noticed your suggestion is exactly the same as the one mentioned by Stretch?

"It may not work with a 40-conductor cable" refers to the fact that some older 40-conductor cables do not implement the cable select feature, so trying to use the cable select jumper setting with such a cable will not work. The "will work differently" part refers to the fact that 40 conductor cables that do implement the cable select feature inexplicably put the master in the middle, which is not the optimum position for best electrical characteristics when only one drive is on the cable, while the 80 conductor cables properly put the master at the end of the cable when using the cable select feature.

Stoner, please back off the sarcasm. It isn't necessary when trying to share information you have and only serves to start and/or fan flame wars.

cfitz
cfitz
CD-RW Curmudgeon
 
Posts: 4572
Joined: Sat Jul 27, 2002 10:44 am

What should i do!

Postby apple23 on Tue Sep 09, 2003 11:01 pm

Hi, everyone

i had problem you guys can help me.

i have compaq deskpro with w2k.
Primary ide chanal only has one harddisk as master(80 line cable)
Second ide originally only has one toshiba dvd 1612, but i add one harddisk together with 2nd channal--problem occured.

after booting system either did not see dvd and hard drive,
only shows master drive on primary channal.

after that these dvd drive and harddisk not working on other system,
is it dead?

thanks,


apple
apple23
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jun 21, 2002 4:11 pm

Postby CDRecorder on Tue Sep 09, 2003 11:07 pm

Apple:

The first thing you should try is to check the jumpers on your drives. Make sure that the hard drive is "Master" and the DVD is "Slave", or set both drives to Cable Select.

I hope this helps!
CDRecorder
CD-RW Recorder
 
Posts: 2335
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2003 9:28 pm

IDE problem

Postby apple23 on Tue Sep 09, 2003 11:38 pm

HI, CDRecorder

thanks for note,
i did checked jumper, harddisk for Master , and dvd drive for slave.

I guess it damged when i connect DVD drive and harddisk(ata100) at same ide channal(cause it does not work, after i back to original).
i also check each one with other system both are not recogniged by system.

i do not remeber but i saw somewhere on the net, it says do not connect drive and harddisk at one same channal? i am not sure about this.

how do i make sure, the dvd drive and harddisk are dead or live?


thanks,

apple
apple23
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jun 21, 2002 4:11 pm

Postby CDRecorder on Wed Sep 10, 2003 2:28 am

Hi Apple,

One way to check if the drives are working or not would be to use each one on the IDE channel by itself. I mean, set the DVD drive as master and hook it up to the IDE cable without the hard drive attached, and test it. Then, do the same thing except connect the hard drive and disconnect the hard drive.

As far as I know, the only reason not to attach a hard drive and an optical drive on the same channel is that with some older systems, this can cause the hard drive to operate slower. I've connected a hard drive and an optical drive to the same channel before without problems, although I prefer not do do that as I like my computers to operate at the maximum possible speed. :) As far as I know, the performance issue caused by connecting an optical drive and a hard drive on the same channel isn't an issue with recent computers.

I hope this helps! :D
CDRecorder
CD-RW Recorder
 
Posts: 2335
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2003 9:28 pm


Return to CD-R/CD-RW Drives

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

All Content is Copyright (c) 2001-2017 CDRLabs Inc.