Home News Reviews Forums Shop


Installation problems with Liteon LTR-52246S..52x24x52,,,,

Burn baby burn!

Postby 1coadman on Sun Mar 02, 2003 7:19 pm

ok, did as you said,,and found "0" config.sys info...must be clean and clear.
coadman :lol:
1coadman
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Sun Mar 02, 2003 10:29 am

Postby cfitz on Sun Mar 02, 2003 7:39 pm

Good deal. Now it is time to try installing Nero and giving it a go. Since you are a self-described novice, once you have Nero installed I would suggest starting with the Nero Express interface. And let me reiterate: do not install InCD. Just install Nero Burning ROM.

By the way, here is a little more information about troubleshooting boot problems in Windows 98 using msconfig, in case you are interested:

http://support.microsoft.com/default.as ... -us;188867
http://support.microsoft.com/default.as ... -us;281965

cfitz
cfitz
CD-RW Curmudgeon
 
Posts: 4572
Joined: Sat Jul 27, 2002 10:44 am

Postby 1coadman on Mon Mar 03, 2003 6:48 pm

cfitx....
THANKS FOR ALL YOUR HELP,,IT WAS MOST APPRECIATED!!!!!!!!!!!!! :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :D
I used Nero Express last night and played around with the burner a bit, and it seems to work fine. Now, I just need to read up on Nero a bit more, to see what all that software can do. Again, Thanks!!
coadman
1coadman
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Sun Mar 02, 2003 10:29 am

Postby cfitz on Mon Mar 03, 2003 7:46 pm

You are welcome, and I'm glad to hear things are working now. Please enjoy your new burner.

cfitz
cfitz
CD-RW Curmudgeon
 
Posts: 4572
Joined: Sat Jul 27, 2002 10:44 am

some error messages running IE browser..

Postby 1coadman on Tue Mar 04, 2003 9:37 am

Cfitz,
This may be entirely "off topic",but thought I would get your input. Ever since I installed the cd/rw drive, while "surfing" the net, vie IE, I would commonly get "error" messages, and have to reboot. Downloaded an upgrade to the browser I was using(by instruction, for possibly problem solution), but since then whole system has been running "sluggish". Contacted an online MSN support person, and he replied in email this morning to run SFC to check for corrupted files(possibly during my download upgrade). Procedure was to run SFC, if corrupted file found, restore using win/98 disc. I did find a corrupted file "setupx.dll" but when I went to use my win/98 cdrom, as instructed, my D: drive, where my CD/RW is located, was NOT indicated. When I "browsed", nothing there either. Although when I go back to "my computer" on desktop, and check, it is indicated. So, am at a loss. I was wondering since my old cd rom was an SCSI type, and this new one is IDE, is there something I havent done, to get the new CD/RW recogninzed in its entirity? Just grasping at straws here, while waiting for reply from the MSN tech. You may move this question to the appropriate thread if need be, or delete it all together if it is unappropriate.
thanks,
coadman
1coadman
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Sun Mar 02, 2003 10:29 am

Re: some error messages running IE browser..

Postby cfitz on Tue Mar 04, 2003 11:32 am

1coadman wrote:I did find a corrupted file "setupx.dll" but when I went to use my win/98 cdrom, as instructed, my D: drive, where my CD/RW is located, was NOT indicated. When I "browsed", nothing there either. Although when I go back to "my computer" on desktop, and check, it is indicated.

I'm not sure what you mean here. You couldn't find setupx.dll? Or the CD-RW drive didn't show up in Windows Explorer? Setupx.dll is used for installing some Microsoft software, so even if it is faulty, it shouldn't be affecting day-to-day operation of your system. For what it is worth, you won't find setupx.dll directly on your Windows 98 CD-ROM. It is stored in compressed format within the file \win98\precopy2.cab.

In general, a CD-RW drive ought not have any effect on IE, but we are dealing with Microsoft after all, so anything is possible. Are you using the Active Desktop/View as Web settings? I suppose if you are there could be some connection between the two. However, if you can read files on the CD-RW at all, then it would seem to be installed properly. What driver information is listed on the CD-RW properties tab in device manager? And do you have DMA enabled on the CD-RW?

cfitz
cfitz
CD-RW Curmudgeon
 
Posts: 4572
Joined: Sat Jul 27, 2002 10:44 am

Postby hoxlund on Tue Mar 04, 2003 12:38 pm

now let me throw in my $.02

your processor is a 400MHz?

damn, on the box they like recommend 600-700MHz on that fast of a drive

with all the stuff you put in your posts, sounds like you have one rigged up system, i mean you have tape backup, SCSI, sounds like you need a serious over-haul
Fractal Design Define R5 White Window Case
Corsair RM1000 Power Supply
MSI X99A XPower AC USB 3.1 Motherboard
Intel i7-5930K CPU @ 4.8GHz
Corsair H100i GTX 240mm CPU Cooler
Mushkin Blackline 4x8GB DDR4 2400 Memory
Asus 980Ti Strix OC
User avatar
hoxlund
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 3706
Joined: Mon May 27, 2002 12:55 am
Location: RAF Lakenheath / Suffolk United Kingdom

Re: some error messages running IE browser..

Postby 1coadman on Tue Mar 04, 2003 1:31 pm

cfitz wrote:
1coadman wrote:I did find a corrupted file "setupx.dll" but when I went to use my win/98 cdrom, as instructed, my D: drive, where my CD/RW is located, was NOT indicated. When I "browsed", nothing there either. Although when I go back to "my computer" on desktop, and check, it is indicated.

I'm not sure what you mean here. You couldn't find setupx.dll? Or the CD-RW drive didn't show up in Windows Explorer? Setupx.dll is used for installing some Microsoft software, so even if it is faulty, it shouldn't be affecting day-to-day operation of your system. For what it is worth, you won't find setupx.dll directly on your Windows 98 CD-ROM. It is stored in compressed format within the file \win98\precopy2.cab.

In general, a CD-RW drive ought not have any effect on IE, but we are dealing with Microsoft after all, so anything is possible. Are you using the Active Desktop/View as Web settings? I suppose if you are there could be some connection between the two. However, if you can read files on the CD-RW at all, then it would seem to be installed properly. What driver information is listed on the CD-RW properties tab in device manager? And do you have DMA enabled on the CD-RW?

cfitz

The CD?RW didnt show up in winexplorer, WHEN I was within the SFC(system file checker) routine. When I chose to "scan for altered files", it indicated the "setupx.dll" was corrupted. So I chose "restore" and it asked for me to input the source file address(which was my D: drive withthe CDRW)and insert my win/98 disk. THAT is where the D:CD Rom drive wasnt located. If it sounds confusing to you, imagine how "I" feel....Just checked the driver information as you requested, and came up "no driver files are requred or have been loaded, click "update driver"..So maybe that is what I need to do?
thans,
coadman
1coadman
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Sun Mar 02, 2003 10:29 am

Postby 1coadman on Tue Mar 04, 2003 2:00 pm

hoxlund wrote:now let me throw in my $.02

your processor is a 400MHz?

damn, on the box they like recommend 600-700MHz on that fast of a drive

with all the stuff you put in your posts, sounds like you have one rigged up system, i mean you have tape backup, SCSI, sounds like you need a serious over-haul

This is ALL I had seen, referring to requirements with this particular drive:

System Requirement :
CPU Pentium 166MHz or faster, 128MB DRAM required
HDD must have access time < 20ms, with a minimum of 100MB Free space

Compatiblity : Windows 95/98/NT/ME/XP/2000
But, I do agree My system is rather old, and Ihavent upgraded much thepast two years. I had the tape backup installed, but really never used it, I have NO idea why the computer store used a SCSI interface, instead of a IDE CDrom.
coadman
1coadman
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Sun Mar 02, 2003 10:29 am

Postby Spazmogen on Tue Mar 04, 2003 2:12 pm

Now I'm confused.

So the drive is not being detected anymore?

If all else fails:

1) set the drive jumper to Master.
2) connect it to the Secondary IDE connector on your motherboard. If memory serves me, there's nothing on this connector at all.

3) Reboot BUT as the system is doing the checks before windows loads, hit the key to enter set up.

4) Go to the section for setting up the hard drives etc and make the Secondary ones: "AUTO".

5) save & exit.

6) restart.

if your drive is detected the next time the computer runs its checks (before windows loads) then those settings should stick in wondows.

Of course you may have to say the magic phrase while jumping up and down on one leg while rubbing you belly counter-clockwise during a full moon.

Computers are like that sometimes.
Last edited by Spazmogen on Tue Mar 04, 2003 2:24 pm, edited 3 times in total.
e6400 Core 2 Duo @ 2.13ghz
GeForce 7600GT 256mb PCI-e
2gb DDR2 667mhz Patriot ram 1.8v in d/c
Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3 F10 BIOS
WD Caviar SE16 250GB SATA300 7200RPM 16MB Buffer
Samsung SATA2 80gb 7200rpm
Samsung SH-S182D 18x DVD burner
User avatar
Spazmogen
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 1472
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2001 8:00 pm
Location: Woodstock, Ontario

Postby 1coadman on Tue Mar 04, 2003 2:17 pm

This is the email from MSN, which I was trying to follow thier instructions...
Dear Jim,

Thank you for contacting Microsoft Windows Online Support. My name is Jerry Zuo and I will be working with you to resolve this issue.

In the case log, you indicated that your computer became sluggish after a Windows Update. If I have misunderstood, please let me know.

Based on my research, the problem might be caused if your registry value has been damaged by a Windows Update.

I suggest you follow the steps below to resolve the issue.

Action 1: go to the Safe Mode

How to boot in Safe Mode:

1. Click "start", click "run", type "msconfig"(without quotation marks) in the box

2. Click the advanced button

3. Check the box beside "Enable Startup Menu"

4. Click the Ok button and restart your computer

5. When the Startup menu appears, select Safe mode.

Acton 2: use SFC to scan your system files

SFC (System File Checker) has the ability to scan your system files. This tool is useful when you encounter the problems related to system files.

1. Click Start-> Run.

2. In Run text box, type "sfc" without the quotation marks.

3. Choose the option “Scan for altered files”.

4. Click Start (button).

5. When you are prompted with the corrupted file info, choose Restore file option. (You need your Win98 setup disk at hand to do this.)

6. Click Ok

7. In "Restore from" text box, type in the source file address, for example: E:\win98 (if drive E: is for your CDROM).

8. Click OK when finished.

For more information about System File Checker, please refer to KB article Q185836: Description of the System File Checker Tool (Sfc.exe) http://support.microsoft.com/support/kb ... 5/8/36.asp

Restart Windows in normal mode and check if the problem disappears.

I also suggest that you do a clean up on your computer

YES, I have the "DMA" box checked. And ran the "update" driver option, and said driver is located C:\Windows\INF\MSCDROM.INF
coadman
1coadman
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Sun Mar 02, 2003 10:29 am

Postby 1coadman on Tue Mar 04, 2003 2:53 pm

[quote="Spazmogen"]Now I'm confused.

So the drive is not being detected anymore?

If I go to "My Computer" on my desktop, and click on it, the D:CDRW is listed, along with A:3 1/2" floppy, C:(my harddrive),E:Removable Disk,D:Removable Disk. The "E" or "D" drive listed was probably my tape backup, but dont know what the other one is/was. I removed the tape backup, physically, and in device manager, so who knows why it still shows up.

Now, if I go and do the SFC, procedure, like I was told to do, as indicated in my email I posted, when I get to the "Restore from" text box, THAT is where the D:CDRW drive is not listed.
coadman
1coadman
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Sun Mar 02, 2003 10:29 am

Postby cfitz on Tue Mar 04, 2003 3:10 pm

Yuck. Too much garbage hanging around from the past.

First double-check that all the cables, both IDE and power, are seated firmly.

Next, go to control panel, and use Add/Remove Software to remove anything that is associated with the old CD-ROM, tape drive or SCSI adapter card. Then use Add/Remove Hardware to get rid of anything that smacks of CD-ROM (including the new CD-RW drive - you will reinstall it later), tape drive or SCSI adapter. Then open up device manger, and remove all CD-ROM, tape drive and SCSI adapter card related devices that may still be there.

Reboot. Windows should detect the recently uninstalled but still physically present CD-RW and install it. If not, you can do it manually with Add/Remove Hardware. Check explorer. You should only have two drives on the system: the hard disc C: and the new CD-RW D:. If you see otherwise, let us know.

Here are some more radical solutions that we may want to bring into play in the future:

http://support.microsoft.com/search/pre ... us;Q235859
http://www.cnet.com/software/0-429669-8 ... ml?tag=dir

In the long run, it would be wise to put the CD-RW on the other IDE channel separate from the hard disc, as suggested by Spazmogen. I know you can't do that now since you don't have another cable, but have you ordered that IDE cable I suggested in an earlier post, or its equivalent? And please don't tell me you have been keeping mum about an extra IDE cable in the LiteOn box that has been there all along. :wink:

cfitz
cfitz
CD-RW Curmudgeon
 
Posts: 4572
Joined: Sat Jul 27, 2002 10:44 am

Postby 1coadman on Tue Mar 04, 2003 4:44 pm

cfitz,
A couple of things to note, before I procede with what you said, In control panel, under SCSI controllers their is only one listing the UMAX which goes to my scanner(do you want me to delete that also?)

under my Hard disk controllers, there are 3 listings(I thought these might be pertinent, since I am using the IDE cable that connects my harddrive witht he CD/RW) 1st lisiting is Intel 82371AB/EB PCI BUS Master IDE controller, 2nd listing is Primary IDE controller(dual fifo) 3rd listing is Secondary IDE controller (dual fifo) Now, at one time in this system when I upgraded my harddrive, the tech left myold hard drive in the case, and hooked it up, kind of as a backup. It was making noise a few months ago, and since I had no pertinent information on that hard drive, I just unplugged the IDE cable.

There is a Floppy disk controller with 1 listing, a "standard floppy disk controller"

Under "disk drives' there are 3 listings. 1st a CF/ATA Reader, 2nd a Generic IDE Disk Type 47, 3rd a Generic NEC Floppy Disk

Under CDRom there is the Lite on LTR52246S

Now, exactily what all do you want me to eliminate? I still want to keep my A: drive floppy, or will it reinstal itself after reboot?

coadman
1coadman
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Sun Mar 02, 2003 10:29 am

Postby cfitz on Thu Mar 06, 2003 12:13 am

Sorry about the delay. I've been busy with school and work.

1coadman wrote:A couple of things to note, before I procede with what you said, In control panel, under SCSI controllers their is only one listing the UMAX which goes to my scanner(do you want me to delete that also?)

Leave it.

1coadman wrote:under my Hard disk controllers, there are 3 listings

Leave them.

1coadman wrote:Now, at one time in this system when I upgraded my harddrive, the tech left myold hard drive in the case, and hooked it up, kind of as a backup. It was making noise a few months ago, and since I had no pertinent information on that hard drive, I just unplugged the IDE cable.

Hmm? You had another hard drive? Before, during, or after the tape drive? If before or during, then at one point you must have had two IDE cables in the system, and you don't need to order another one in order to be able to make the hard drive primary master and the CD-RW secondary master. Is that old hard drive completely disconnected, both power and IDE cables?

1coadman wrote:There is a Floppy disk controller with 1 listing, a "standard floppy disk controller"

Leave it.

1coadman wrote:Under "disk drives' there are 3 listings. 1st a CF/ATA Reader, 2nd a Generic IDE Disk Type 47, 3rd a Generic NEC Floppy Disk

Leave them. But what is that CF/ATA reader? Do you have a compact flash card reader in the system? How is it connected? What with the new information about the old hard drive and this CF reader, it might be useful to list all the devices in your system and how you believe each to be connected. List it both by what you know to be physcially present in the system and by what shows up in explorer and device manager.

1coadman wrote:Under CDRom there is the Lite on LTR52246S

Remove it and allow it to be reloaded later. What happened to the other "mystery" CD-ROMs you spoke of earlier?

cfitz
cfitz
CD-RW Curmudgeon
 
Posts: 4572
Joined: Sat Jul 27, 2002 10:44 am

Postby 1coadman on Thu Mar 06, 2003 12:43 am

cfitz wrote:Sorry about the delay. I've been busy with school and work.

1coadman wrote:A couple of things to note, before I procede with what you said, In control panel, under SCSI controllers their is only one listing the UMAX which goes to my scanner(do you want me to delete that also?)

Leave it.

1coadman wrote:under my Hard disk controllers, there are 3 listings

Leave them.


Hmm? You had another hard drive? Before, during, or after the tape drive? If before or during, then at one point you must have had two IDE cables in the system, and you don't need to order another one in order to be able to make the hard drive primary master and the CD-RW secondary master. Is that old hard drive completely disconnected, both power and IDE cables? There was only one IDE cable that had the dual inputs. Old hard drive is completely disconnected, power & cables. Incidentally, I received my IDE cables from compusa today, and I just now switched the CD/RW to one by itself, and changed it to "master"on the back.



1coadman wrote:Under "disk drives' there are 3 listings. 1st a CF/ATA Reader, 2nd a Generic IDE Disk Type 47, 3rd a Generic NEC Floppy Disk

Leave them. But what is that CF/ATA reader? Do you have a compact flash card reader in the system? How is it connected? What with the new information about the old hard drive and this CF reader, it might be useful to list all the devices in your system and how you believe each to be connected. List it both by what you know to be physcially present in the system and by what shows up in explorer and device manager. Yes, I have a compact flash card reader, it is connected by USB port.

1coadman wrote:Under CDRom there is the Lite on LTR52246S

Remove it and allow it to be reloaded later. What happened to the other "mystery" CD-ROMs you spoke of earlier?Ok, I will procede to remove the cdrom, and let it reload itself when I reboot(I figured I might have to do that anyway, since I changed the IDE cable. The mystery cd-roms I think you are referring to, still show up when I go to windows desktop, click on "my computer" this is what is listed A:3 1/2" floppy, C:(hard drive) D:CDROM E:Removable disk(havent a clue why it shows up F:Removable disk(havent a clue on this one either.
coadman

cfitz
1coadman
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Sun Mar 02, 2003 10:29 am

Postby cfitz on Thu Mar 06, 2003 10:47 am

Run System Information:

"Start"->"Programs"->"Accessories"->"System Tools"->"System Information"

Then list what you see in the "Storage" and "Problem Devices" nodes of the "Components" branch.

cfitz
cfitz
CD-RW Curmudgeon
 
Posts: 4572
Joined: Sat Jul 27, 2002 10:44 am

OK, here we go with more info...

Postby 1coadman on Thu Mar 06, 2003 3:16 pm

Run System Information:

"Start"->"Programs"->"Accessories"->"System Tools"->"System Information"

Then list what you see in the "Storage" and "Problem Devices" nodes of the "Components" branch


Under storage, in the "above" branch:

UMAX UDS-IS11 SCSI CARD

Standard Floppy Disk Controller

Intel 82371AB/EB PCI Bus Master IDE Controller

Primary IDE Controller(dual fifo)

Secondary IDE Controller(dual fifo)

Generic IDE Disk Type 47

SM Reader

CF/ATA Reader

Lite-on LTR 52246S

Now under "problem devices" this is what came up:

Media Vision ProAudioDelux/ProSonic/Jazz16 Media
(This device has a problem,code=10(0xA).this device is not present,not working properly,or does not have all the drivers installed)

Standard Serial Mouse
(This device has a problem,code=24(0x18)) Same error message as above.

The only two listings in problem devices.

I am using a logitech trackball via a usb port, thus the reason for the serial mouse error code(I woiuld imagine)
coadman
1coadman
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Sun Mar 02, 2003 10:29 am

Postby cfitz on Thu Mar 06, 2003 3:56 pm

So drives E: and F: must be the smart-media and compact-flash readers, right? Give them a try and verify.

It looks like things are fairly well cleaned out. How is the sytem behaving now?

cfitz
cfitz
CD-RW Curmudgeon
 
Posts: 4572
Joined: Sat Jul 27, 2002 10:44 am

Postby 1coadman on Thu Mar 06, 2003 8:07 pm

The whole system seems to be running rather quickly. I dont know if moving the CD/RW to the other secondary IDE is what made the differance or not, but it is indeed quicker. I think I can live with the way it is operating. Once again, I thank you, for your continued effort and patience in trying to sort this all out.
thanks,
coadman
1coadman
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Sun Mar 02, 2003 10:29 am

Postby cfitz on Thu Mar 06, 2003 8:27 pm

Okay. Glad to hear things are working well. Let's hope it sticks this time. Stay away from that automatic Windows update! :wink: 8)

cfitz
cfitz
CD-RW Curmudgeon
 
Posts: 4572
Joined: Sat Jul 27, 2002 10:44 am

Solution to Windows XP problems

Postby cpapakon on Sun Jun 08, 2003 12:19 pm

I recently got a verbatim (Lite-on) drive from BB.
It was recognized from Bios but the windows had problems with it when it was jumpered as master. I could not boot up in Windows. So I called customer service and they told me that the drive was shot.
I returned it and got another identical drive.
The same exact problem. so I thought that It can not be the drive.
I tried it as slave and it worked but could not write.
Then I though to flash the drive with the new firmware.
I really glad I did.
The drive now works perfect as secondary master or slave.

So if you have problems with your LTR-52246S drive, download R526S0F.zip from http://www.liteonit.com.tw/ and run it.

Hope I helped.

p.s. The original - problematic firmaware was R526S0D
cpapakon
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Jun 08, 2003 11:48 am

Problemo!!

Postby grazza207 on Tue Jun 17, 2003 3:50 am

Hmm I have this burner... and Its installed and everything.. I have windows XP, but... I can only sometimes burn it just sits there and tries to start burning it make the spinning CD sound and then stops and to stop it I have to restart the computer... lol as you can tell Im not really computer literate.

Well if somebody could help me with this it would really help.
~Graham~ :)
grazza207
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2003 3:39 am

Previous

Return to CD-R/CD-RW Drives

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

All Content is Copyright (c) 2001-2017 CDRLabs Inc.