Home News Reviews Forums Shop


installing new CDRW and DVDRW???

CPU's? Motherboards? Video cards? Talk about it here.

installing new CDRW and DVDRW???

Postby coadman on Thu Jan 08, 2004 4:41 pm

My new computer just arrived, and I am going to install my LiteOn LTR 52246S, and also a LiteOn LDW-411S. Currantly my hard drive is connected to the IDE1, and I assume it is on master. Should I connect both of my LiteOn drives to the IDE2, and if so, which should be designated as slave and which as master? The CD rom will be used much more than the DVD drive.
thanks,
coadman :wink:
coadman
CD-RW Thug
 
Posts: 89
Joined: Sat Mar 01, 2003 11:44 pm

Postby BurninMan921 on Thu Jan 08, 2004 6:23 pm

What I would do:
Channel 1: HDD, DVD-ROM
Channel 2: CD-RW

This gives the ability to do on-the-fly copies from the DVD-ROM to the CD-RW drive, and still maximizes performace for HDD <-> CD-RW, although the HDD <-> DVD performance will suffer a small amount.

That's how my system is setup, except that I have a DVD+/-RW drive hooked up along with the CD-RW drive, and 3 more HDD's on a PCI controller...
Soon to be proud user of Mandrake 10 (again!). SuSE 9 sucks!
User avatar
BurninMan921
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 702
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2003 12:51 am
Location: MFZ (Microsoft Free Zone)

Postby UALOneKPlus on Thu Jan 08, 2004 9:09 pm

My setup:

channel 1 - DVD-Rom, DVD+/- RW
channel 2 - 48X Lite-on CDRW, 52X Lite-on CDRW

It works very well for me.
"Life is a great big canvas, and you should throw all the paint you can on it."
-Danny Kaye
User avatar
UALOneKPlus
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 1082
Joined: Sun Jan 05, 2003 8:28 am

Postby BurninMan921 on Thu Jan 08, 2004 9:22 pm

What, no hard drive? :) I'm guessing S-ATA hard drive or PCI controller, or RAID...
Soon to be proud user of Mandrake 10 (again!). SuSE 9 sucks!
User avatar
BurninMan921
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 702
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2003 12:51 am
Location: MFZ (Microsoft Free Zone)

Postby Action Jackson on Thu Jan 08, 2004 10:31 pm

Just for fun here's mine:

1. LiteON 52/32/52 + Toshiba 4.8x DVD-ROM

2. Yamaha 24/10/40 + Toshiba 32x CD-ROM

HD's are on controller card and I don't do on the fly copies.

Once the prices on the 811s drops a bit, I'll put the CD-ROM on the controller card.
Action Jackson
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 449
Joined: Fri Jul 19, 2002 12:13 pm
Location: Markham, ON. CANADA

OK, maybe a little more help is needed......???

Postby coadman on Fri Jan 09, 2004 12:08 am

Here's what I elected to try. The harddrive is on IDE1, so I installed the 411S as the primary master in IDE2.(I thought I'd wait and instal the cd burner later, as Im still finding items I want to copy and transfer over to the new computer). Anyway, I booted up the computer, the screen came up identifying Asus motherboard, and I briefly saw where the 411S was displayed as being found, then the display switched to the WinXP Pro screen. There are 3 squares in the middle of the screen that move to the right(Ive never had WinXP before, so bear with me). The squares made about three trips acroos the screen, then froze midway through. Didnt matter how long I waited, it was still froze. I rebooted computer, and received same results. I unplugged the IDE cable from the IDE2 slot, and rebooted. System came up fine, and I am using it now on the web as I type this. My question,,what do you think my problem is? I tried swapping to a differant IDE cable I had, but same results. Any ideas?
thanks,
coadman

UPDATE: The inital IDE2 connection I was using was on a card, so I disconnected from there and hooked it up to a IDE socket on the motherboard, there was a "black" and a "blue" one, I was told by an associate to use the "black"socket, so I did(I dont know if one is IDE1 and one IDE2, maybe you guys can tell me?) Anyway, I changed the jumper to primary slave on the DVD burner. Booted computer, and all works. Used the DVD drive to install the software that came with the unit. Now, if I go to install my CD burner, would I use the "blue" IDE socket or try the IDE2 socket on my card again?
thanks,
coadman
coadman
CD-RW Thug
 
Posts: 89
Joined: Sat Mar 01, 2003 11:44 pm

bump>>

Postby coadman on Sat Jan 10, 2004 12:38 pm

Anybody care to take a stab at my IDE questions?
thanks,
coadman :o
coadman
CD-RW Thug
 
Posts: 89
Joined: Sat Mar 01, 2003 11:44 pm

Postby CowboySlim on Sat Jan 10, 2004 11:10 pm

I have and Intel board and don't know much about Asus boards. Whatever came with your board should have a layout defining the IDE1 and IDE2 slots. On mine the IDE1 is black and closest to the edge and I would guess that that may be kind of a standard. I don't have a card and don't know why you would use one if you have four or less ATA/ATAPI drives.

Slim
User avatar
CowboySlim
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 1868
Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2003 3:58 pm
Location: Huntington Beach, CA

Postby lightningbaron on Sun Jan 11, 2004 1:00 am

I'm presuming you're talking about the IDE cable color connectors.
Black = Master
Grey = Slave
Blue = System (mobo)

Double check your jumpers on the optical drives and/or hard drives. Usually I'd stay away from cable select.

Hopefully non of your optical drives are on a controller card.
User avatar
lightningbaron
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 121
Joined: Mon Sep 02, 2002 8:48 pm

Postby CowboySlim on Sun Jan 11, 2004 1:03 am

LB,

I was talking about the color of the IDE slots on the mobo as opposed to the color of connectors on the cable, as you were.

BTW: Do you have a sore neck? Your head is not going side to side.

Slim
User avatar
CowboySlim
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 1868
Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2003 3:58 pm
Location: Huntington Beach, CA


Return to General Hardware Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

All Content is Copyright (c) 2001-2017 CDRLabs Inc.