Home News Reviews Forums Shop

Maxtor 1 touch backup drives

In depth discussions on hard drives, SSDs, RAID setups and network storage systems.

Maxtor 1 touch backup drives

Postby MonteLDS on Mon Apr 12, 2004 9:07 pm

I need to know if this drive holds several backups or if it will just copy over the last back up that it did..

User avatar
CD-RW Player
Posts: 989
Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2002 2:32 pm
Location: San Fran Bay Area CALIFORNIA

Postby LoneWolf on Tue Apr 13, 2004 10:54 am

That depends on the software you use and how you set it up, not the drive.

The drive comes with Retrospect Express as far as I know. Recommended one to my future father-in-law and he loves it. I believe you can create multiple backup sets with the bundled software, though he does his as incremental to save time. If you don't need to use the One-Touch button to back it up, you can use other more robust software that schedule your backups for you, and create multiple backup sets.

I'd probably be tempted to just use a Ghost boot disk with USB support and make a compressed image every now and then.
Intel Q9450 @3.2GHz, Gigabyte GA EP45-UD3P, 4 x 2GB G.Skill @4-4-4-12
Antec P160SW case (modded), Xigmatek 750w PSU
3x 500GB (RAID-5), , OptiArc 7200S, ASUS E818A3T
Creative X-Fi XtremeGamer, Hauppauge HVR-1800, Radeon 4890
Dell 2407WFP
User avatar
CD-RW Player
Posts: 937
Joined: Thu Feb 06, 2003 4:41 pm
Location: Meecheegan

Return to Hard Drives and Solid State Drives (SSD)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

All Content is Copyright (c) 2001-2016 CDRLabs Inc.