Home News Reviews Forums Shop


I mistakenly hit "create data cd" in Nero CD Speed

Burn baby burn!

I mistakenly hit "create data cd" in Nero CD Speed

Postby Harrier on Sat May 17, 2003 4:55 am

Is there anything i can do to retrieve this action?
Not only did i waste a TY cdr but it also has useless data on it..
And Kprobe won't even read it..

Is there anything i can do?
Harrier
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 302
Joined: Mon Jul 22, 2002 11:25 am

Postby dhc014 on Sat May 17, 2003 4:59 am

Once you've written to a CD-R disk, you cannot "un-write" it. This test CD is good for doing tests on.
dhc014
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 1368
Joined: Sat Jun 22, 2002 10:36 pm

Postby Harrier on Sat May 17, 2003 5:33 am

Actually the cdr isn't physically written. If it had been i'd see the darker color scorched by the laser beam.
Harrier
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 302
Joined: Mon Jul 22, 2002 11:25 am

Postby dhc014 on Sat May 17, 2003 6:15 am

Think about it: you told it to create a data CD, so unless you cancelled it before any writing took place, then something was written to the disk. Maybe so little, or so much was written that the obvious color difference isn't so obvious.
dhc014
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 1368
Joined: Sat Jun 22, 2002 10:36 pm

Re: I mistakenly hit "create data cd" in Nero CD S

Postby dodecahedron on Sat May 17, 2003 6:26 am

Harrier wrote:...it also has useless data on it..
so how is it possible that the CDR wasn't phisically written?
it must have been.

too bad about the TY CDR (a rarity here in Israel, i agree...), but just save it for testing!
One Ring to rule them all, One Ring to find them,
One Ring to bring them all and in the darkness bind them
In the land of Mordor, where the Shadows lie
-- JRRT
M.C. Escher - Reptilien
User avatar
dodecahedron
DVD Polygon
 
Posts: 6865
Joined: Sat Mar 09, 2002 12:04 am
Location: Israel

Postby jedimc on Mon May 19, 2003 3:31 am

maybe it didnt burn it was just simulate burn
I have a LG GCE-8520B 52/24/52
and Samsung CD-ROM SC-148T
User avatar
jedimc
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 136
Joined: Thu Apr 03, 2003 6:33 am
Location: Australia

Postby Harrier on Mon May 19, 2003 4:28 am

Nope..
The files are there and there's a narrow circle around the tube of the disc.
The funny thing is when go and check the capacity of the disc it says 565MB used, 0 available. And it only physically wrote about 80MB as far as i can tell, based on the width of the circle.
Harrier
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 302
Joined: Mon Jul 22, 2002 11:25 am

Postby blakerwry on Mon May 19, 2003 12:52 pm

so you've lost what? $0.10? ...$0.30?
User avatar
blakerwry
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 185
Joined: Fri Jun 21, 2002 5:45 pm

Postby dodecahedron on Mon May 19, 2003 4:45 pm

closer on $1.
and TY is very hard to find here, in the land of milk, honey and terror attacks... :(
One Ring to rule them all, One Ring to find them,
One Ring to bring them all and in the darkness bind them
In the land of Mordor, where the Shadows lie
-- JRRT
M.C. Escher - Reptilien
User avatar
dodecahedron
DVD Polygon
 
Posts: 6865
Joined: Sat Mar 09, 2002 12:04 am
Location: Israel

Same here....

Postby pranav81 on Tue May 20, 2003 5:12 am

Dear Harrier,
Hi.No the CD cant be retrieved now.I did the same thing once while testing and tried to cancell the procedure before actual writting began,but the writer had obeyed the commands at very fast speed and ejected before completely burning.When I reinserted the CD-R it told me 703 MB used(full capacity) while I see only a small circle of about 20-25 MB burned.
See ya later,


::Pranav::
User avatar
pranav81
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 1160
Joined: Thu Dec 05, 2002 6:57 am
Location: Solapur,Maharashtra,India

Postby CDRecorder on Tue May 20, 2003 3:04 pm

I had the same thing happen once. The TOC and some of the data were burned, and then there was an error. The drive would "see" all of the files in Windows Explorer, but it wouldn't be able to copy many of them.
CDRecorder
CD-RW Recorder
 
Posts: 2335
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2003 9:28 pm

Yep.Same thing happened to me..

Postby pranav81 on Wed May 21, 2003 1:48 pm

Yes,LiteOnGuy same thing happened to me,but instead of some error I myself had hit the eject button to save one CD,but the writer was very prompt and had started writing the CD.
See ya guys later,


::Pranav::
User avatar
pranav81
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 1160
Joined: Thu Dec 05, 2002 6:57 am
Location: Solapur,Maharashtra,India


Return to CD-R/CD-RW Drives

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

All Content is Copyright (c) 2001-2017 CDRLabs Inc.