Home News Reviews Forums Shop


Nero Express now kills Nero 5.5

Nero Burning ROM, Nero Express, NeroVision Express, Recode, InCD, etc..

Nero Express now kills Nero 5.5

Postby jamesfrmphilly on Mon Dec 02, 2002 10:39 am

on 11/30/2002 i bought a TDK 5200B and loaded Nero Express from the CD in order to get the latest drivers.
the Xpress installer UNINSTALLED my Nero 5.5.9.9 from the system and then prevented me from downloading a new copy of 5.5.9.9 from the TDK site.
i now have only Nero Express on my box and i hate it.
i wonder if this is Ahead's way of telling us we now must purchase Nero 5.5 if we want it?
i don't mind paying for 5.5 as it's a great tool, i do wish they would be a little more upfront about it.
numerous emails to the Ahead site remain unanswered.
jamesfrmphilly
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Sat Nov 30, 2002 7:47 am
Location: the north philadelphia ghetto, us

Postby dodecahedron on Mon Dec 02, 2002 11:41 pm

what latest drivers are you talking about???

why don't you uninstall Nero Express and reinstall your previous Nero?
after that, if it's necessary, download the latest upgrade from www.nero.com and update your Nero.
One Ring to rule them all, One Ring to find them,
One Ring to bring them all and in the darkness bind them
In the land of Mordor, where the Shadows lie
-- JRRT
M.C. Escher - Reptilien
User avatar
dodecahedron
DVD Polygon
 
Posts: 6865
Joined: Sat Mar 09, 2002 12:04 am
Location: Israel

tried that, doesn't work

Postby jamesfrmphilly on Tue Dec 03, 2002 8:17 am

i had allready tried restoring my old Nero.
the problem is that it will not recognize my new drive.
do you know how to get Nero to recognize a new device?
TDK 5200B
jamesfrmphilly
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Sat Nov 30, 2002 7:47 am
Location: the north philadelphia ghetto, us

Postby dacdwriter on Tue Dec 03, 2002 9:40 am

Hello,

I also recently purchased the TDK 52X and like it so far. I didn't even mess with the Nero Express that came with it. I was using an older version of Nero and it did not recognize the TDK, so I downloaded the latest version and it works fine.

I also did some checking, and on TDK's website, they have a patch for Nero Express, so maybe that will fix you up. Personally, I'd rather have the full version of Nero which also includes Express. :D

Hope this helps.
dacdwriter
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2002 1:19 pm
Location: MN, USA

Postby Matt on Tue Dec 03, 2002 9:46 am

I checked on ahead's website and the latest version of their software 5.5.9.17 doesn't seem to support the 52x yet only the 48x.
User avatar
Matt
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 261
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2001 2:34 pm
Location: Boulder, CO

Postby dacdwriter on Tue Dec 03, 2002 10:00 am

That's the version of Nero I'm using and it correctly identifies the TDK in the lower right hand corner as TDK CDRW 5200B and it works perfectly so far as I can see.
dacdwriter
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2002 1:19 pm
Location: MN, USA

Postby Matt on Tue Dec 03, 2002 10:22 am

In that case DL the upgrade and it should fix it! :)
User avatar
Matt
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 261
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2001 2:34 pm
Location: Boulder, CO

the software from the Ahead site works

Postby jamesfrmphilly on Tue Dec 03, 2002 12:44 pm

I downloaded 5.5.9.17 from the Ahead site and it picked up my TDK5200B!
preveiously i had downloaded 5.5.9.9 from the TDK site under the CDRW5200B link and it didn't recognize the drive.

now if i can only turn off the "analyzing the file" i'd be in Nero heaven.
jamesfrmphilly
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Sat Nov 30, 2002 7:47 am
Location: the north philadelphia ghetto, us

do you get "analyzing the file" when you RIP?

Postby jamesfrmphilly on Tue Dec 03, 2002 12:52 pm

are you able to copy from a CD to a compilation without the "analyzing the file" message?
can you tel me how to do that?
jamesfrmphilly
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Sat Nov 30, 2002 7:47 am
Location: the north philadelphia ghetto, us

Postby Matt on Tue Dec 03, 2002 1:00 pm

When do you get that msg? caching the info before the burn?
User avatar
Matt
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 261
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2001 2:34 pm
Location: Boulder, CO

analyzing the fiie

Postby jamesfrmphilly on Tue Dec 03, 2002 1:06 pm

when i try to rip from a cd in my drive to the compilation in the audio1
panel.
i click on "copy to compilation" or just drag from the window on the right to the window on the left.
on DAE it "analyzes the file" for 60-120 seconds before it perform the read.
jamesfrmphilly
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Sat Nov 30, 2002 7:47 am
Location: the north philadelphia ghetto, us

Postby Matt on Tue Dec 03, 2002 1:14 pm

It's probably reading the subchannel data, turn that off and it will skip that step.
User avatar
Matt
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 261
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2001 2:34 pm
Location: Boulder, CO

wha?

Postby jamesfrmphilly on Tue Dec 03, 2002 1:25 pm

would you mind translating that to simple(ton) english so i can try it?
step by step please.
jamesfrmphilly
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Sat Nov 30, 2002 7:47 am
Location: the north philadelphia ghetto, us

this is from the Nero help

Postby jamesfrmphilly on Tue Dec 03, 2002 1:52 pm

Note: By compiling the selected audio tracks, Nero will analyse the tracks information.

this takes a very long time to do.
it didn't happen with the old Nero.
i want to get it to stop analyzing every track!
jamesfrmphilly
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Sat Nov 30, 2002 7:47 am
Location: the north philadelphia ghetto, us

Postby dacdwriter on Tue Dec 03, 2002 2:41 pm

I'm not sure if we're talking about the same thing here but, in File/Preferences/Database in Nero, if you uncheck "open database during .cda drag and drop" it won't open and and it should start ripping. As I mentioned before, I have this very same drive and so far, has worked flawlessly. Rip speed is quite good and BTW recording speeds are the same as the Cendyne 52X Ian reviewed

I'm using Win98 SE and Fuji 40X media for now.
dacdwriter
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2002 1:19 pm
Location: MN, USA

didn't work for me

Postby jamesfrmphilly on Tue Dec 03, 2002 3:42 pm

i have XP home
i tryed turning off the database and that did away with that but it still stops and analyzes the file
i'm really envious of your ability to rip
if i can't get this resolved i'm going to go to Roxio as Nero is making me crazy!
jamesfrmphilly
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Sat Nov 30, 2002 7:47 am
Location: the north philadelphia ghetto, us

dma

Postby dacdwriter on Tue Dec 03, 2002 4:00 pm

This probably won't make any difference, but when I do a compilation, I just hightlight the ones I want and drag them to the left pane.

Is your DMA enabled for the TDK? I've read on this forum that with XP it's a little tricky to do. Not having XP, I can't tell you how to do it, but if you do a search, I'm sure you'll find the thread or somebody here with more expertise will show you or tell you how.

Good Luck
dacdwriter
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2002 1:19 pm
Location: MN, USA

Re: dma

Postby dodecahedron on Tue Dec 03, 2002 5:57 pm

dacdwriter wrote:Is your DMA enabled for the TDK? I've read on this forum that with XP it's a little tricky to do. Not having XP, I can't tell you how to do it, but if you do a search, I'm sure you'll find the thread or somebody here with more expertise will show you or tell you how.

check out the FAQ:
How to enable DMA?
Problems enabling DMA in Windows XP
One Ring to rule them all, One Ring to find them,
One Ring to bring them all and in the darkness bind them
In the land of Mordor, where the Shadows lie
-- JRRT
M.C. Escher - Reptilien
User avatar
dodecahedron
DVD Polygon
 
Posts: 6865
Joined: Sat Mar 09, 2002 12:04 am
Location: Israel

yes, DMA is enabled

Postby jamesfrmphilly on Tue Dec 03, 2002 10:14 pm

i think DMA applys to the write or burn.
my problem is with the read or rip.
i can burn fine i just can't rip or read very fast.
jamesfrmphilly
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Sat Nov 30, 2002 7:47 am
Location: the north philadelphia ghetto, us

reinstall

Postby dacdwriter on Wed Dec 04, 2002 6:18 am

Have you tried a reinstall? Completely remove Nero and reinstall your latest version.
dacdwriter
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2002 1:19 pm
Location: MN, USA

support

Postby dacdwriter on Wed Dec 04, 2002 6:43 am

You can always try TDK's call in support :-?

Sometimes though, completely removing and reinstalling does the trick. Maybe even more so if you installed a 'regular' version over an OEM?

I really don't know, I'm just guessing here.
dacdwriter
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2002 1:19 pm
Location: MN, USA

Postby CCampbell on Mon Dec 09, 2002 6:40 pm

I think the issue you are seeing is caused by the fact you have the Cacheing to the HD enabled. Good for creating an audio CD from songs contained on various audio CD's, but it does slow down the process as it's extracting the audio from the CD to your HD first, and after the burn deletes it.

Launch Nero, close the wizard, and select the Audio Icon and under the 'CDA Options' tab, at the bottom uncheck the option for:

"Cache the track on Harddisk before burning"

Regards,

Craig
CCampbell
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 966
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2002 9:27 pm
Location: Glendale, CA

Postby CCampbell on Mon Dec 09, 2002 6:40 pm

I think the issue you are seeing is caused by the fact you have the Cacheing to the HD enabled. Good for creating an audio CD from songs contained on various audio CD's, but it does slow down the process as it's extracting the audio from the CD to your HD first, and after the burn deletes it.

Launch Nero, close the wizard, and select the Audio Icon and under the 'CDA Options' tab, at the bottom uncheck the option for:

"Cache the track on Harddisk before burning"

Regards,

Craig
CCampbell
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 966
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2002 9:27 pm
Location: Glendale, CA

i tried this and it doesn't seem to make any difference

Postby jamesfrmphilly on Tue Dec 10, 2002 7:38 am

i'm still getting the long pause while it "analyzes file".
this didn't happen with the old Nero, just the new version.
i have sent many e-mails to Ahead tech support, if you can find one
it would give you full details about my system and the issue i'm having.
jamesfrmphilly
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Sat Nov 30, 2002 7:47 am
Location: the north philadelphia ghetto, us

Re: Nero Express now kills Nero 5.5

Postby europanorama on Thu Dec 12, 2002 10:40 am

jamesfrmphilly wrote:on 11/30/2002 i bought a TDK 5200B and loaded Nero Express from the CD in order to get the latest drivers.
the Xpress installer UNINSTALLED my Nero 5.5.9.9 from the system and then prevented me from downloading a new copy of 5.5.9.9 from the TDK site.
i now have only Nero Express on my box and i hate it.
i wonder if this is Ahead's way of telling us we now must purchase Nero 5.5 if we want it?
i don't mind paying for 5.5 as it's a great tool, i do wish they would be a little more upfront about it.
numerous emails to the Ahead site remain unanswered.


what is nero express? a light-version of standard or a windows xp-verison only. i have all kind of burners, all with nero from 5049 upwards. everything ok. never update a working nero unless you absolutely need the new features
europanorama
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Dec 11, 2002 6:55 am
Location: basel-schweiz

Next

Return to Nero (Formerly Ahead Software)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

All Content is Copyright (c) 2001-2017 CDRLabs Inc.