Home News Reviews Forums Shop


Nero Recode 2.3.1.8 major file size problem

Nero Burning ROM, Nero Express, NeroVision Express, Recode, InCD, etc..

Nero Recode 2.3.1.8 major file size problem

Postby rizlaw on Sun Sep 24, 2006 10:43 pm

Nothwithstanding the many problems I have read in this forum regarding Nero 7.x, I finally decided to upgrade from version 6.6 to 7.5.1.1 today. My "custom" install went OK, although I was rather confused when I saw a serial number appear in the serial number field which was NOT the serial number I received in my email receipt. Anyway, to the immediate problem with Nero Recode 2.3.1.8:

My main reason for upgrading was to get the multithreading capability of the new Recode (2.3.1.8). I was pleased to see a significant improvement in speed with my AMD FX60 dual core system. A 1h 48m film, encoded with the 2 pass Cinema AVC profile, took only 2h 10m. HOWEVER, the file size, which should have been 578MB was a whopping 2.56GB! I unchecked the "Fit to Target" box, which in my earlier versions of Recode would have resulted in getting the default "file size" and "video quality" shown next to the movie filename. I was doing a "main movie" only encode and I did not adjust the slider, I simply left everything at the default size and video quality settings.

Can someone explain what has happened with the new version of Recode? I'd hate to think that I have gained faster encoding at the expense of unacceptably humongous file sizes.
rizlaw
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Nov 06, 2004 10:53 am

Postby cinemascope on Mon Sep 25, 2006 1:55 am

More info about this bug can be found here:
http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?p=878415#post878415
cinemascope
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Aug 30, 2006 10:28 am

Postby dodecahedron on Mon Sep 25, 2006 5:05 am

where do you get Nero Recode 2.3.1.8 ? isn't the last update of Nero 6 2.2.6.17b ?
(in Help-About i get 2.2.6.17, is there a way i can test if i have 2.2.6.17 or 2.2.6.17b ?)
One Ring to rule them all, One Ring to find them,
One Ring to bring them all and in the darkness bind them
In the land of Mordor, where the Shadows lie
-- JRRT
M.C. Escher - Reptilien
User avatar
dodecahedron
DVD Polygon
 
Posts: 6865
Joined: Sat Mar 09, 2002 12:04 am
Location: Israel

Postby cinemascope on Mon Sep 25, 2006 6:37 am

rizlaw wrote that he upgaded from Nero 6 to Nero 7 (Recode 2.3.1.8 is the one that comes with Nero 7.5.1.1).

As for 2.2.6.17 vs. 2.2.6.17b, I think you could check the "Product Version" property of Recode.exe .
cinemascope
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Aug 30, 2006 10:28 am

Postby rizlaw on Mon Sep 25, 2006 8:38 am

cinemascope wrote:More info about this bug can be found here:
http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?p=878415#post878415


Thanks Cinemascope. Read the thread and it's a sad that Nero continues to release software with serious bugs. I certainlly hope, JohnV is right that a fix will be issued soon.
rizlaw
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Nov 06, 2004 10:53 am

Postby dodecahedron on Mon Sep 25, 2006 12:55 pm

cinemascope wrote:rizlaw wrote that he upgaded from Nero 6 to Nero 7 (Recode 2.3.1.8 is the one that comes with Nero 7.5.1.1).

As for 2.2.6.17 vs. 2.2.6.17b, I think you could check the "Product Version" property of Recode.exe .

thanks. got the 'b' version.

can you update to Nero 7 just the Recode part and leave the regular Burning Rom @ 6 ???
i thought it was not possible.
if so how is it done ?
One Ring to rule them all, One Ring to find them,
One Ring to bring them all and in the darkness bind them
In the land of Mordor, where the Shadows lie
-- JRRT
M.C. Escher - Reptilien
User avatar
dodecahedron
DVD Polygon
 
Posts: 6865
Joined: Sat Mar 09, 2002 12:04 am
Location: Israel

Postby cinemascope on Mon Sep 25, 2006 3:22 pm

I'm afraid it's not possible to just update Recode and keep the rest from Nero 6.
Recode depends on various shared components (codecs, DLLs, etc.), and those have changed significantly between Nero 6 and 7.
cinemascope
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Aug 30, 2006 10:28 am

Postby rizlaw on Tue Oct 03, 2006 7:28 pm

For those interested, "JohnV" (Nero AG Engineer) has posted the following file patch on the Doom9 forums regarding the "oversized file" problem with Nero Recode 2.3.1.8 using AVC 2 pass:

Ok, I'm continuing checking, but seems it's working. No oversize problem at least so far.
Here's the filter which should fix the Nero 7.5.1.1 AVC 2-pass oversize: http://morbo.org/nero/NeNDVid_2_6_28_1.zip
Extract the NeNDVid.ax to "\Program Files\Common Files\Ahead\DSFilter" in order to replace the old one.

Please report any problems. Thanks.
rizlaw
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Nov 06, 2004 10:53 am

Postby CCampbell on Tue Oct 03, 2006 9:47 pm

And for those who can wait, it will be included in the next update to be posted on our website.

Regards,

Craig
CCampbell
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 966
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2002 9:27 pm
Location: Glendale, CA


Return to Nero (Formerly Ahead Software)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron
All Content is Copyright (c) 2001-2017 CDRLabs Inc.