Home News Reviews Forums Shop

newbie asks: where's the automatic scene detection?

Nero Burning ROM, Nero Express, NeroVision Express, Recode, InCD, etc..

newbie asks: where's the automatic scene detection?

Postby seastars on Tue Mar 21, 2006 8:08 pm

I'm new to using Nero Express for moviemaking. (I previously used WinDVD, the software bundled with Plextor conversion hardware.)

I have a digital file (the conversion of my 20-minute camcorder tape) that Nero accepts, no problem. I'm searching for some sort of automatic scene detection, though, to break it up into, well, scenes. If I have to do this manually I will cry.

Where can I find the button/page to do this?

Other newbie tips?
seastars
Buffer Underrun

Postby CowboySlim on Wed Mar 22, 2006 1:25 am

OK, I tried this once before but didn't like it so it's been a while and I'll try to stumble through it as I go.

1. Open up NeroVision Express and choose "Make Movie."
2. The box on the upper right should say "My Media Files" and at the lower left corner of that box is a round icon with a folder and a magnifying glass, click on that to select "Browse."
3. Do the usual up and down folders/browsing stuff to find the MPG file that you want to work with, select it and click on the "OPEN" button.
4. The file will appear in that box displaying the first frame.
5. Hover the cursor over the 2nd icon from the right, or four over to the right from the first icon that you clicked and it will say "Detect Scenes."
6. Double click on that and it will start analysing the file and when it's done, click on the generate button.
7. Look just to the left of the first frame and there will be a small box with a "+" sign it it, click on that and the scenes will appear below.

Now, I've never been able to accomplish my main goal with this editor which is to remove commercials from TV that I've recorded. Therefore, I can't help you past this point.