Home News Reviews Forums Shop


Newbie question about KProbe and weird results with 52327S??

Burn baby burn!

Newbie question about KProbe and weird results with 52327S??

Postby Infinity on Fri Oct 03, 2003 12:42 am

Ok, I'm new to using KProbe, and figured it was time I use it to test my results of my LiteON 52327S burner. It has firmware QS06 and I burned a 44 minute music cd. When checking the disc in my LiteOn LTD-163 I recieved excellent scores, but when I checked it in the 52327S I recieved horrible results.

Click here for screen captures, as I can't host pictures

Is this normal, I wouldnt think it would be? And if not, any ideas? My next step is to upgrade to QS09, correct me if I'm wrong but QS09 is better than QS06, but QS0A isn't as good as QS09 (CDRW media issues)?

Also, what is the correct way to go about checking burn quality with KProbe, should I burn a disc to fill up all 700mb, and then just run kprobe with the default settings?
User avatar
Infinity
CD-RW Thug
 
Posts: 85
Joined: Sat May 12, 2001 8:00 pm

Postby David on Fri Oct 03, 2003 12:50 am

David
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 415
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2003 11:08 pm
Location: Mali

Postby Infinity on Fri Oct 03, 2003 1:01 am

Well, I just noticed something very funny about the disc that I burned. I dont know what happened, but something went wrong with the burn process. What is really weird is the disc seems to play fine on my cd player, I skipped through all the tracks and they were all there and all played to the end...

Click here for picture of cdr

When I burned the exact same music cd again, I got much better results.

So here are my questions:

1. Does anyone know what would cause that weird burn shown above?

2. What is the proper way to use KProbe to test media?

3. Is there a newer version than 1.1.19 of KProbe, before Karr was forced to shut down his site?

4. Should I upgrade the firmware to QS09, or keep QS06? The only reason I kept QS06 is that I heard QS09 made the drive spin down toward the end of the burn process?
User avatar
Infinity
CD-RW Thug
 
Posts: 85
Joined: Sat May 12, 2001 8:00 pm

Postby Bhairav on Fri Oct 03, 2003 1:12 am

Even better, update to QS0A, as long as you aren't using US-CDRW media. Otherwise, QS09 is good too.
Q6600@3.1Ghz | Asus P5Q-E | 4GB DDR2-800 | 8800GT | 4TB HDD | Viewsonic vx2025wm
Xonar DX | Pioneer DVR-212 | Pioneer 111L | Benq 1655
User avatar
Bhairav
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 1239
Joined: Mon Jul 22, 2002 5:44 am
Location: Bombay,India

Postby David on Fri Oct 03, 2003 1:18 am

You can get version 1.1.26 from CDFreaks.

First post in this thread.
David
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 415
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2003 11:08 pm
Location: Mali

Postby Infinity on Fri Oct 03, 2003 1:27 am

Thanks David for the link!
User avatar
Infinity
CD-RW Thug
 
Posts: 85
Joined: Sat May 12, 2001 8:00 pm

Postby CDRecorder on Fri Oct 03, 2003 1:32 am

Infinity wrote:1. Does anyone know what would cause that weird burn shown above?

2. What is the proper way to use KProbe to test media?

3. Is there a newer version than 1.1.19 of KProbe, before Karr was forced to shut down his site?

4. Should I upgrade the firmware to QS09, or keep QS06? The only reason I kept QS06 is that I heard QS09 made the drive spin down toward the end of the burn process?


1. The disc might have been defective, so the Lite-On did its best to burn to it properly.

2. From what you've showed us, I think you already understand KProbe; just don't use your DVD-ROM to test discs.

3. David answered this one.

4. Definitely upgrade to QS09 or QS0A, but make a backup of QS06 just in case. You can make a backup with LtnFlash (use Google or a similar search engine to find a copy). You can find instructions for using it here. BTW, I'm using QS0A on both of my LTR-52327S drives.

Edit: If you backup your QS06 firmware, could you please send me a copy? If you can, I'll PM you my e-mail address. :D
CDRecorder
CD-RW Recorder
 
Posts: 2335
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2003 9:28 pm

Postby Infinity on Fri Oct 03, 2003 1:36 am

QS06 is available below, but can we use the windows loader to downgrade, or will it not allow that?

http://forum.rpc1.org/dl_firmware.php?download_id=1600

If not, just let me know your email and I'll send you the bin for QS06...
User avatar
Infinity
CD-RW Thug
 
Posts: 85
Joined: Sat May 12, 2001 8:00 pm

Postby CDRecorder on Fri Oct 03, 2003 1:51 am

Unfortunately, the link on rpc1.org is dead, so I can't download that file. :(

You can use the Windows loader to downgrade only if you patch it with FlashFix.

I'll PM you my e-mail. :)
CDRecorder
CD-RW Recorder
 
Posts: 2335
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2003 9:28 pm

Postby Infinity on Fri Oct 03, 2003 1:54 am

LOL. Thats what I get for not checking if the link was still good. Thanks for the replies above about my questions. I guess it was just a bad disc, but I've never seen a disc get burned like that - very weird. Especially since it seems to play fine... I'll listen to the whole thing tommorow out of curiousity.

PS: I sent you the email with QS06.
User avatar
Infinity
CD-RW Thug
 
Posts: 85
Joined: Sat May 12, 2001 8:00 pm

Postby CDRecorder on Fri Oct 03, 2003 2:00 am

Thanks; I got it! :D
CDRecorder
CD-RW Recorder
 
Posts: 2335
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2003 9:28 pm


Return to CD-R/CD-RW Drives

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

All Content is Copyright (c) 2001-2017 CDRLabs Inc.