Home News Reviews Forums Shop


Official K-Probe Discussion (Tool for Scanning C1C2/PIPO)

General discussion about recordable CD, DVD and BD media and write quality testing.

Postby CDHero on Wed Jul 23, 2003 11:23 pm

rdgrimes wrote:Scanned it a number of times, and it stopped doing this. As a testing tool, Kprobe is much less valuable if it doesn't maintain a set speed, I hope this gets fixed. I've certainly never seen this in earlier versions, even with some nearly unreadable discs. I guess I'm back to 1.1.14.


I also checked 52246s drive , and I cannot duplicate the bug you
mentioned.In fact , I am sure this is not Kprobe bug , because I
just send SetCDSpeed command to drive to set speed.

Image
CDHero
CD-RW Thug
 
Posts: 65
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2003 8:46 pm

Postby rdgrimes on Thu Jul 24, 2003 12:48 am

Hi Karr:
Here's what I know:
This one disc is the only one that has ever done this.

Image

The drive only does this in KProbe, not in CDDr or in CDSpeed.
52327S drive does not do it.

Now it gets even stranger: I went back to version 1.1.14, and it stopped doing it. Now I went back to version 1.1.19, and I can no longer get the same behaviour. So I guess it fixed itself? :-?

Image
rdgrimes
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 963
Joined: Fri Dec 20, 2002 10:27 pm
Location: New Mexico, USA

Postby dolphinius_rex on Thu Jul 24, 2003 1:36 am

Sometimes K-Probe 1.1.19 doesn't test at the speed I set it too. Sometimes when I set it to test at 40x iot only reads the disc at 12x... I don't know why. Usually when I stop it and hit start again it will read it at the right speed.... still, it's a pain!
Punch Cards -> Paper Tape -> Tape Drive -> 8" Floppy Diskette -> 5 1/4" Floppy Diskette -> 3 1/2" "Flippy" Diskette -> CD-R -> DVD±R -> BD-R

The Progression of Computer Media
User avatar
dolphinius_rex
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 6923
Joined: Fri Jan 31, 2003 6:14 pm
Location: Vancouver B.C. Canada

Postby dhc014 on Thu Jul 24, 2003 2:25 am

Holy ****!!!

http://karr.myweb.hinet.net/

No one noticed ltnflash?! THANK YOU KARR!! This is incredible and deserves its own thread on every forum that I frequent :D
dhc014
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 1368
Joined: Sat Jun 22, 2002 10:36 pm

Postby CDHero on Thu Jul 24, 2003 2:53 am

dhc014 wrote:Holy ****!!!

http://karr.myweb.hinet.net/

No one noticed ltnflash?! THANK YOU KARR!! This is incredible and deserves its own thread on every forum that I frequent :D


LtnFlash is a flash utility for liteon-made drives , CDROM & DVD163 excluded.

You can utilize the tool to backup your F/W.
If you have F/W bin code , you also can update your F/W by this tool.

Like KProbe , if you have any suggestion , welcome to give me a feedback.
CDHero
CD-RW Thug
 
Posts: 65
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2003 8:46 pm

Postby dhc014 on Thu Jul 24, 2003 5:23 pm

Karr, I made a little thread for it when I saw it at around 3:00AM...

http://www.cdrlabs.com/phpBB/viewtopic.php?t=11807

would it be best to keep suggestions there instead of on page 25+ of the KProbe thread?
dhc014
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 1368
Joined: Sat Jun 22, 2002 10:36 pm

Postby rdgrimes on Thu Jul 24, 2003 6:05 pm

So I guess it fixed itself?

I spoke too soon. I was scanning a stack of discs today and the issue re-surfaced. Here's the scan:

Image

I scanned this disc at least 20 times using various drives and speeds. The error only occured on the 6S drive, and only when the read speed was set to "max". When setting the read speed to "52x", I could not produce the error.
rdgrimes
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 963
Joined: Fri Dec 20, 2002 10:27 pm
Location: New Mexico, USA

Postby cfitz on Fri Jul 25, 2003 1:25 am

Are there any requirements for LtnFlash? Has anyone used it on Windows 2000? It doesn't work on my Windows 2000 SP4 box with an LTR-48246S and a 166S. It detects the drives, and when I press the "Go!" button the button turns gray, but the progress bar in the status window never fills in, and nothing happens. The program doesn't hang completely. It is still responsive and can be closed normally, but it doesn't read the flash or otherwise do anything. I didn't try the update option, but did try the backup, compare, and checksum options. None of three worked.

cfitz
cfitz
CD-RW Curmudgeon
 
Posts: 4572
Joined: Sat Jul 27, 2002 10:44 am

Postby dhc014 on Fri Jul 25, 2003 2:08 am

It works fine here on XP. I haven't tried it on 2000 SP4. Are you logged in as an administrator?
dhc014
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 1368
Joined: Sat Jun 22, 2002 10:36 pm

Postby cfitz on Fri Jul 25, 2003 2:12 am

Yes, I have administrative rights.

cfitz
cfitz
CD-RW Curmudgeon
 
Posts: 4572
Joined: Sat Jul 27, 2002 10:44 am

Postby dolphinius_rex on Fri Jul 25, 2003 4:52 am

cfitz wrote:Are there any requirements for LtnFlash? Has anyone used it on Windows 2000? It doesn't work on my Windows 2000 SP4 box with an LTR-48246S and a 166S. It detects the drives, and when I press the "Go!" button the button turns gray, but the progress bar in the status window never fills in, and nothing happens. The program doesn't hang completely. It is still responsive and can be closed normally, but it doesn't read the flash or otherwise do anything. I didn't try the update option, but did try the backup, compare, and checksum options. None of three worked.

cfitz


Yup, works fine for me on Win2000 service pack 3

I haven't tried the update yet either though.
Punch Cards -> Paper Tape -> Tape Drive -> 8" Floppy Diskette -> 5 1/4" Floppy Diskette -> 3 1/2" "Flippy" Diskette -> CD-R -> DVD±R -> BD-R

The Progression of Computer Media
User avatar
dolphinius_rex
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 6923
Joined: Fri Jan 31, 2003 6:14 pm
Location: Vancouver B.C. Canada

Postby cfitz on Fri Jul 25, 2003 9:40 am

Thanks for the report. Anyone have success on SP4?

cfitz
cfitz
CD-RW Curmudgeon
 
Posts: 4572
Joined: Sat Jul 27, 2002 10:44 am

Postby rdgrimes on Fri Jul 25, 2003 9:47 am

Anyone have success on SP4?


Seems fine here in SP4, backs up F/W and flashes.
rdgrimes
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 963
Joined: Fri Dec 20, 2002 10:27 pm
Location: New Mexico, USA

Postby cfitz on Fri Jul 25, 2003 10:10 am

Thanks rdgrimes and dolphinius_rex. From your reports I was able to conclude that there was some issue specific to my system. I did some investigation and found the the problem appears to be that LtnFlash doesn't work on dual-proc systems.

cfitz
cfitz
CD-RW Curmudgeon
 
Posts: 4572
Joined: Sat Jul 27, 2002 10:44 am

Postby CDHero on Fri Jul 25, 2003 10:15 am

cfitz wrote:Thanks rdgrimes and dolphinius_rex. From your reports I was able to conclude that there was some issue specific to my system. I did some investigation and found the the problem appears to be that LtnFlash doesn't work on dual-proc systems.

cfitz


I have no such system , but I will help you to find out the problem.
I used multi-thread programming in LtnFlash.I think this maybe the
arch-criminal.

Thank you , cfitz.
CDHero
CD-RW Thug
 
Posts: 65
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2003 8:46 pm

Postby cfitz on Fri Jul 25, 2003 10:25 am

Ah yes! That's a classic problem. Sometimes threading errors don't show up on a single-processor box because the different threads actually run sequentially in a time-sliced fashion, but do show up on a true multi-processor system the threads truly run in parallel. I'll send you an email so we can discuss in more detail.

cfitz
cfitz
CD-RW Curmudgeon
 
Posts: 4572
Joined: Sat Jul 27, 2002 10:44 am

Postby dhc014 on Sun Jul 27, 2003 5:12 pm

1.1.20 is out and Karr added a Read EEPROM command to the list. It's basically the same thing as what cfitz found here: http://www.cdrlabs.com/phpBB/viewtopic.php?t=10570 but it has more stuff. Karr, can you maybe explain this a little? I assume that it's either a separate chip like the one that holds the region info in a DVD-ROM that can't be flashed...
Memorex 48MAXX Flashed with 6S0F:
Image

Real LTR-52246S with 6S0F:
Image
dhc014
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 1368
Joined: Sat Jun 22, 2002 10:36 pm

Postby dolphinius_rex on Tue Jul 29, 2003 10:57 pm

K-Probe version 1.1.21 is now available:

Release notes :

<1.1.21>

1.Fixed bug: Disc size error for non-formatted CD-RW media

http://karr.myweb.hinet.net/
Punch Cards -> Paper Tape -> Tape Drive -> 8" Floppy Diskette -> 5 1/4" Floppy Diskette -> 3 1/2" "Flippy" Diskette -> CD-R -> DVD±R -> BD-R

The Progression of Computer Media
User avatar
dolphinius_rex
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 6923
Joined: Fri Jan 31, 2003 6:14 pm
Location: Vancouver B.C. Canada

Kprobe not working

Postby saruman on Wed Jul 30, 2003 7:44 am

(Karr please help! :cry: )

I am having trouble using Kprobe to run the C1/C2 tests on CDR/W's that I burn. I have a Memorex 52x24x52 and tried running Kprobe using the original firmware that came on the drive and after failing that, I reflashed to the latest Lite-on firmware (6S0F, if I am not mistaken about the designation of it) and it still did not help. I am running Windows 98 SE on a 500 MHz Celeron. The drive is the Master drive on the secondary IDE controller and works fine with CDDoctor and Nero CDSpeed as well as all of my writing software.

Symptoms: When I click on the button to begin the process of performing C1/C2 tests on a CDR or RW that I have burned (note: I am not writing to CDRW's with packet writing software). Two seconds later a small message window pops up saying something to the effect of "writing data to graph" and two seconds after that the program stops and says "Done" in the lower left hand corner.

What am I doing wrong? I am using TY 40x CDR media and tried a couple of different CDRW media that I have (Sony 1-4x and TDK 4-10x).

Any help is appreciated.
Saruman
saruman
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2003 7:27 am

Postby rdgrimes on Thu Jul 31, 2003 3:11 pm

Version 1.1.21 is now causing problem on my 52246S drive with all disc scans, the drive downshifts to 32x at various points in the scan when set at max or 52x. There's an error message displayed when it does this, called "seek error". The display does indicate a couple read errors around that point, but the discs scan with very low C1.
The drive still scans just fine in CDDr and CDSpeed.
rdgrimes
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 963
Joined: Fri Dec 20, 2002 10:27 pm
Location: New Mexico, USA

Postby CDHero on Thu Jul 31, 2003 10:15 pm

rdgrimes wrote:Version 1.1.21 is now causing problem on my 52246S drive with all disc scans, the drive downshifts to 32x at various points in the scan when set at max or 52x. There's an error message displayed when it does this, called "seek error". The display does indicate a couple read errors around that point, but the discs scan with very low C1.
The drive still scans just fine in CDDr and CDSpeed.


I don't know why you have this problem.I also try it on 52246 , but it is
ok.
SPTI driver
Image

ASPI driver
Image
CDHero
CD-RW Thug
 
Posts: 65
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2003 8:46 pm

Postby rdgrimes on Thu Jul 31, 2003 11:08 pm

I don't know why you have this problem

I can only tell you that it is happening very regular, is sometimes associated with C2 (no other drive or scanner reports C2 on the same disc), the message displayed is "seek error" and there's a "-1" in the csv file at the same point. the drive appears to come to a halt, then re-start at a lower speed. Could the drive be dying?
rdgrimes
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 963
Joined: Fri Dec 20, 2002 10:27 pm
Location: New Mexico, USA

Re: Kprobe not working

Postby Inertia on Fri Aug 01, 2003 12:40 am

saruman wrote:Symptoms: When I click on the button to begin the process of performing C1/C2 tests on a CDR or RW that I have burned (note: I am not writing to CDRW's with packet writing software). Two seconds later a small message window pops up saying something to the effect of "writing data to graph" and two seconds after that the program stops and says "Done" in the lower left hand corner.


It sounds like you may be using the wrong disc size. In "Write Strategy", make sure "Disc Size" is selected.

Also, download the latest v1.1.21, which fixed the following bug: Disc size error for non-formatted CD-RW media.
Inertia
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 736
Joined: Sun May 19, 2002 5:22 pm

Re: Kprobe not working

Postby dolphinius_rex on Fri Aug 01, 2003 2:16 am

Inertia wrote:Also, download the latest v1.1.21, which fixed the following bug: Disc size error for non-formatted CD-RW media.


I hate to say it, but K-Probe 1.1.21 did *not* fix this error :cry:

I just purchased a Verbatim Datalife Plus 74min 4x-12x CD-RW (made in Singapore by CMC I may add! :x ). I burned about 60min worth of data onto it (standard data ISO), and K-Probe only sets itself up to test it as if it was burned to maximum capacity... Grrr
Punch Cards -> Paper Tape -> Tape Drive -> 8" Floppy Diskette -> 5 1/4" Floppy Diskette -> 3 1/2" "Flippy" Diskette -> CD-R -> DVD±R -> BD-R

The Progression of Computer Media
User avatar
dolphinius_rex
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 6923
Joined: Fri Jan 31, 2003 6:14 pm
Location: Vancouver B.C. Canada

Re: Kprobe not working

Postby CDHero on Fri Aug 01, 2003 5:12 am

dolphinius_rex wrote:
Inertia wrote:Also, download the latest v1.1.21, which fixed the following bug: Disc size error for non-formatted CD-RW media.


I hate to say it, but K-Probe 1.1.21 did *not* fix this error :cry:

I just purchased a Verbatim Datalife Plus 74min 4x-12x CD-RW (made in Singapore by CMC I may add! :x ). I burned about 60min worth of data onto it (standard data ISO), and K-Probe only sets itself up to test it as if it was burned to maximum capacity... Grrr


Sorry , is your disc formatted ?
CDHero
CD-RW Thug
 
Posts: 65
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2003 8:46 pm

PreviousNext

Return to Recordable Media Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

All Content is Copyright (c) 2001-2020 CDRLabs Inc.