Home News Reviews Forums Shop


Pioneer DVR-K15 Question

DVD-R/W, DVD+R/RW, DVD-RAM

Pioneer DVR-K15 Question

Postby happiniess on Thu Jun 30, 2005 8:51 pm

Could anyboy please tell me if the Pioneer DVR-K15 is configured as a CSEL (slave) drive or as a master drive? I tried the Pioneer website, but I can't get answer.

Sorry.
Last edited by happiniess on Thu Jun 30, 2005 9:34 pm, edited 1 time in total.
happiniess
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Jun 04, 2005 4:12 am

Postby Ian on Thu Jun 30, 2005 9:06 pm

Huh.. we don't sell anything?
"Blu-ray is just a bag of hurt." - Steve Jobs
User avatar
Ian
Grand Poobah
 
Posts: 14882
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2001 2:34 pm
Location: Madison, WI

Postby hoxlund on Thu Jun 30, 2005 11:08 pm

you can change the jumper at anytime
Fractal Design Define R5 White Window Case
Corsair RM1000 Power Supply
MSI X99A XPower AC USB 3.1 Motherboard
Intel i7-5930K CPU @ 4.8GHz
Corsair H100i GTX 240mm CPU Cooler
Mushkin Blackline 4x8GB DDR4 2400 Memory
Asus 980Ti Strix OC
User avatar
hoxlund
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 3706
Joined: Mon May 27, 2002 12:55 am
Location: RAF Lakenheath / Suffolk United Kingdom

Postby happiniess on Fri Jul 01, 2005 1:23 am

Thank you.
happiniess
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Jun 04, 2005 4:12 am

Pioneer DVR-K15 Question

Postby bruellman on Mon Jul 25, 2005 5:54 pm

hoxlund wrote:you can change the jumper at anytime


Where on the DVR-K15 slimline DVD Drive do you find a jumper? As far as I can see I'm stuck with this drive being CSEL only.

Bruce
bruellman
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2005 4:00 pm

Postby hoxlund on Tue Jul 26, 2005 2:44 am

slimline dvd? oops your probably right
Fractal Design Define R5 White Window Case
Corsair RM1000 Power Supply
MSI X99A XPower AC USB 3.1 Motherboard
Intel i7-5930K CPU @ 4.8GHz
Corsair H100i GTX 240mm CPU Cooler
Mushkin Blackline 4x8GB DDR4 2400 Memory
Asus 980Ti Strix OC
User avatar
hoxlund
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 3706
Joined: Mon May 27, 2002 12:55 am
Location: RAF Lakenheath / Suffolk United Kingdom

Postby Ian on Tue Jul 26, 2005 7:21 am

Some slimline drives do have jumpers/switches to set master/slave... but yeah, cable select makes more sense.
"Blu-ray is just a bag of hurt." - Steve Jobs
User avatar
Ian
Grand Poobah
 
Posts: 14882
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2001 2:34 pm
Location: Madison, WI

Postby bruellman on Tue Jul 26, 2005 12:51 pm

The "official" answer that I received from Pioneer support was that changing the drive from CSEL to MASTER can only be done via firmware that is not made available to the public.

Ah, well.

Bruce
bruellman
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2005 4:00 pm

Postby dodecahedron on Tue Jul 26, 2005 5:11 pm

why would you want to change the drive from CSEL to Master ?
One Ring to rule them all, One Ring to find them,
One Ring to bring them all and in the darkness bind them
In the land of Mordor, where the Shadows lie
-- JRRT
M.C. Escher - Reptilien
User avatar
dodecahedron
DVD Polygon
 
Posts: 6865
Joined: Sat Mar 09, 2002 12:04 am
Location: Israel

Postby bruellman on Tue Jul 26, 2005 7:49 pm

The drive is installed in a laptop that won't boot to a drive that is not set to "master." It's a pain in the neck. :roll:

Bruce
bruellman
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2005 4:00 pm


Return to DVD Writers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

All Content is Copyright (c) 2001-2017 CDRLabs Inc.