Home News Reviews Forums Shop


please help, my burner will only burn in pio mode

Burn baby burn!

please help, my burner will only burn in pio mode

Postby ZL1 on Tue Aug 05, 2003 12:01 am

Hi

please help, my burner will only burn in pio mode, if I put it into udma it will hang the machine :(

burner - plextor 48x; machine xp2400 with 256mb pc2100 ram (had 512 but had to sell half, long story, but didnt work with 512 either)

had a LG 32x before and it did the same thing :(


please help me out


Thank You
Dan
ZL1
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Aug 04, 2003 11:45 pm
Location: Illinois

Postby Albinoni on Tue Aug 05, 2003 12:10 am

Have you checked you CMOS setup, there could be a setting there that could need to be adjusted.

Also how do you enable your DMA mode in XP and how have you got the setup on the IDE cable re the burner.

Is the burner sharing with the HDD or another device and how have you set the Master and Slave settings.

Did you also reboot the PC once you changed the setting to DMA, to refresh the system.
Albinoni
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 111
Joined: Sun Oct 27, 2002 6:27 pm
Location: Australia

Postby ZL1 on Tue Aug 05, 2003 12:21 am

Albinoni wrote:Have you checked you CMOS setup, there could be a setting there that could need to be adjusted.


what should I look for ?

Also how do you enable your DMA mode in XP and how have you got the setup on the IDE cable re the burner.

Is the burner sharing with the HDD or another device and how have you set the Master and Slave settings.



enabling from windows 2k, the burner is master and sits on the same cable as the dvd=rom


Did you also reboot the PC once you changed the setting to DMA, to refresh the system.


of course :)


THanks
Dan
ZL1
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Aug 04, 2003 11:45 pm
Location: Illinois

Postby Albinoni on Tue Aug 05, 2003 1:24 pm

Hi you might want to print the following re DMA:

1. Press or hold DELete key to enter CMOS setup utility.
2. Use cursor keys to go to Intergrated Peripherals.
3. Set the following as follows:

IDE HDD Block Mode: Enabled
IDE Pri Master PIO: Auto
IDE Pri Slave PIO: Auto
IDE Sec Master PIO: Auto
IDE Sec Slave PIO: Auto

Use the Page Up/Page Down Keys to change values.

Click ESC, then F10 to save values, then reboot PC to refresh.

Now log into Win 2000 Pro OS and do the following:

1. Right Click on My Computer in 2000.
2. Choose Properties
3. Choose Hardware Tab
4. Click Device Mngr button.
5. Expand IDE ATA/ATAPI controllers.
6. Double click (left click) Pri IDE Channel.
7. Click on the Adv Tab Settings
8. Under Transfer Mode, choose DMA if available (this will be in Device 0)
9. Rpt the same for Device 1 (below)

Also rpt the same procedure for Secondary IDE Channel.

Click Ok, then re-boot the PC to refresh.

Hope this helps and good luck.

Any questions pls ask.
Albinoni
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 111
Joined: Sun Oct 27, 2002 6:27 pm
Location: Australia

Postby ZL1 on Fri Aug 08, 2003 2:00 pm

Thank You !

I'll go try that asap and I;ll post back in 15min or so, after burning a cd :)
ZL1
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Aug 04, 2003 11:45 pm
Location: Illinois

Postby ZL1 on Fri Aug 08, 2003 2:09 pm

nope no good, I actually dont even have those options in my Bios, its newer

it has under integrated peripherals:

onchip ide channel 0 and 1 enabled
ide conductor cable 1 and 2 - auto and auto


and thats all for the IDE :(



Thanks
Dan
ZL1
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Aug 04, 2003 11:45 pm
Location: Illinois

Postby Ian on Fri Aug 08, 2003 3:18 pm

If I remember right, there is an extra jumper on the back of that drive. If its enabled, the drive will run in PIO Mode. You might want to check and make sure you don't have a jumper on those pins.
"Blu-ray is just a bag of hurt." - Steve Jobs
User avatar
Ian
Grand Poobah
 
Posts: 14883
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2001 2:34 pm
Location: Madison, WI

Postby ZL1 on Fri Aug 08, 2003 3:24 pm

Ian wrote:If I remember right, there is an extra jumper on the back of that drive. If its enabled, the drive will run in PIO Mode. You might want to
check and make sure you don't have a jumper on those pins.



interesting I will check



Thanks
Dan
ZL1
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Aug 04, 2003 11:45 pm
Location: Illinois


Return to CD-R/CD-RW Drives

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

All Content is Copyright (c) 2001-2017 CDRLabs Inc.