Home News Reviews Forums Shop

Nero 6.3 - Medium not writable

Nero Burning ROM, Nero Express, NeroVision Express, Recode, InCD, etc..

Nero 6.3 - Medium not writable

Postby YrbkMgr on Sat Feb 21, 2004 6:20 am

I have posted this on two other boards, and no one has a clue of what the problem could be. I wrote Nero tech support, and received an automated reply, and am still waiting for some human reply. I did a search on this forum and could not find an issue related to my problem, so when I saw that sometimes someone from Nero posts here, I felt compelled to ask someone, anyone, for help.

I am a consultant working with a client. They had an OEM bundle of Nero 5 with a Yamaha 2200E 20x drive. The drive died, they bought a Plextor PX-W5224A 52x recorder. After I installed the drive, I discovered that the OEM bundled software only works with the Yamaha, so I directed them to purchase and install a retail version of Nero, which apparently they did, and subesquently upgraded to the latest version.

The issue is that Nero 6.3.0.3 continually reports that the media is not writable, no matter which CD-R mfr is used. A CD-R is placed in the tray and a Burn is initiated. The normal "Status" dialog comes up, then a message is displayed in a dialog that says "This medium is not writable. Please insert a writable medium..." Then, in the same dialog, it displays

Medium required for the compilation: CD-R/CD-RW
Medium type in the recorder: CD-R

Further, the menu item Recorder|Disc Info... shows the appropriate size and that it's a CD-R and empty. The CD Speed utility from Nero operates fine.

Each media manufactur, we have tried is compatible with the drive, according to Plextor, and used media rated at speeds of 16x-52x - doesn't matter, same error.