Home News Reviews Forums Shop

Driver or Hardware problem? CDRW drive

Burn baby burn!

Driver or Hardware problem? CDRW drive

Postby lisah on Fri Aug 20, 2004 3:17 pm

Is there a way to tell if my problem with my cd drive is actually the hardware or a problem with the driver software? It's not reading any cd's so I have to use my dvd drive to read them. [It obviously won't write either.]

I hope I posed that question so it's understandable. I'm not very good with computer terminology.

If this has been addressed elsewhere, then let me know where to go for the answer. I couldn't find one.

Thanks!
lisah
Buffer Underrun

Postby dodecahedron on Fri Aug 20, 2004 3:45 pm

1st of all, is this a CD-ROM drive or a CD-RW drive?

try uninstalling the drive in the Device Manager, and then rebooting. maybe that will help.
for instructions on how to use the Device Manager, read the FAQ.

what OS are you running?
specs of your computer?
One Ring to rule them all, One Ring to find them,
One Ring to bring them all and in the darkness bind them
In the land of Mordor, where the Shadows lie
-- JRRT
M.C. Escher - Reptilien
dodecahedron
DVD Polygon

Postby lisah on Fri Aug 20, 2004 4:54 pm

CD-RW

I have a Compaq with Windows ME 4.90.3000, Pent III w/ 127mb RAM

Other than that I'm not sure what else you might be looking for, so you'd have to help me find it on my computer.

Symptoms:
The drive will open, but when cd is inserted [such as a music cd] the drive behaves like it's searching for something [yellow light stays on, and it clicks for a while, then goes out but nothing happens]. [media player]

Data cd does the same. When Word is opened and drive E is selected I get the following message:

"Selected disk drive is not in use. Check to make sure disk is inserted."

I hope this helps.
lisah
Buffer Underrun

Postby dodecahedron on Sat Aug 21, 2004 3:48 am

well, i want you to find the Device Manager.
i'm not familiar with WinME, but i belive it's very similar to Win98.