Home News Reviews Forums Shop

Some assistance needed...

Burn baby burn!

Some assistance needed...

Postby YapaY on Sun Mar 16, 2003 5:07 am

Hi,

Just purchased a LiteON LTR-52246S CD-RW, but I have a few questions relating to this drive and burning in general. Im pretty new to the burning world, previously I had a TEAC W54E CD-RW which could not write in RAW DAO so I couldnt back up any games, plus it was only 4x MAX!

A few questions.....

My firmware is 6S0A, I have looked at the LiteOnIt site and there is a newer one available (6S0C) but when I try to run it, the update tells me that the update is only for drives with firmware 6S01 so what gives?

Also how the heck do you turn of that damn smart-burn crap. I have TDK and KODAK cd's here rated at 24x and 40x speed compatible but stupid Smart-burn only allows my burner to burn at 12x MAX or sometimes even 1xMAX!!!!!!! how crap! I would like to turn it off but do not know how.....

What software do you recommend with this drive? I have read that the ASUS and LiteON burners are good for copy protection, I have downloaded CD-Mate and Alcohol 120% but both dont offer to turn of smart burn, and I dont want to be burning at 1x or 12x max speed. Nero does offer the ability to turn of smart burn but doesnt do well with safedisk2 games.....

anyway does anyone here have this drive? I think its the latest one from LiteOn as its listed on the top of their specs.... did i make a good choice in this drive? I was also thinking of ASUS but they were a bit more expensive and slower at the same time.

I just hope macrovision doesnt black list my drive :(

thanks in advance,

Yapa
YapaY
Buffer Underrun

Postby Action Jackson on Sun Mar 16, 2003 10:39 am

If you are using Nero, dig around in the "Choose Recorder" section. It does have a feature to turn off Smart-Burn but I wouldn't recommend it.
Action Jackson
CD-RW Player

Postby banzibaby on Sun Mar 16, 2003 11:20 am