Home News Reviews Forums Shop

Question on the ultimate way to backup music

Burn baby burn!

Question on the ultimate way to backup music

Postby Matt_Eb on Sat Apr 05, 2003 3:41 pm

I want to backup my CD's in the highest quality fashon. I have some very rare CD's (example some 10 year old Swinging Pig bootlegs) that I am worrying about degrading or getting stolen someday.

Should I even bother to burn them to an audio CD-R, or should I store them as data on a CD-RW?

Is there any advantage to "Fast Copy(On the fly)" (where the CD and CD-R are both running during a burn) in terms of audio quality in the conversion to CD-R?

What is the highest quality way to store music as data? Windows Media Audio Lossless?

What is a higher quality way to burn .. using Nero 5.5 or Windows Media player9? (or other)

Forgive me as I am new to the scene and thanks for any help.
Matt_Eb
Buffer Underrun

Re: Question on the ultimate way to backup music

Postby cfitz on Sat Apr 05, 2003 3:48 pm

Matt_Eb wrote:Should I even bother to burn them to an audio CD-R, or should I store them as data on a CD-RW?

For longevity, CD-R is the way to go. By the way, you don't need to burn them specifically to "audio" CD-R. Regular data CD-R work just fine in a computer burner, whether you are burning data or audio.

Matt_Eb wrote:Is there any advantage to "Fast Copy(On the fly)" (where the CD and CD-R are both running during a burn) in terms of audio quality in the conversion to CD-R?

It is likely to give worse quality, if there is any difference, since when copying on the fly there is no chance to go back and re-read a sector if an error is encountered while reading it the first time.

Matt_Eb wrote:What is the highest quality way to store music as data? Windows Media Audio Lossless?
Any truly lossless storage should work. Storing as .wav is lossless and highly compatible, but it offers no compression.