Home News Reviews Forums Shop

SLow hard drive problem (NOT DMA)

In depth discussions on hard drives, SSDs, RAID setups and network storage systems.

SLow hard drive problem (NOT DMA)

Postby wicked1 on Tue Nov 04, 2003 4:54 pm

I have 4 hard drives in this machine. 2 WD 250 Gig Special Edition(8 meg cache) and 2 Maxtor 160 Gig( 8meg cache). I have been having problems with simultaneous burns again and I narrowed it down to the hard drive not keeping up. I ran Sandra 2004 and none of my drives go higher than 7.9 meg a sec. They are all on their own channels as master. 2 onboard and 2 on Promise 133TX2 card.I swapped out the controller card with a silicon image 680 and still the same results. They are all in DMA 5 or 6. I'm stumped.They used to fly.I run O&O Defrag on these drives regularly and I just ran it yesterday. I also tried swapping out the round cables with standard 80 wire cables (flat).This sucks as this is what I do for a living and cant figure this out.
:oops:
Pioneer dvr-108,NEC 3540,BenQ 1640,LiteOn 1693S
Intel pentium D 930 oc to 4.2 ghz
2 gb ddr2 1066 mhz ram
geforce 7600GT
sb audigy 2 zs platnum
hardware mpeg2 encoder card

Conscience is what hurts when everything else feels so good
wicked1
CD-RW Player

Postby aviationwiz on Tue Nov 04, 2003 5:18 pm

Why do you need 820GB's of Hard Drive Space? LOL. Sorry, can't help you with the problem.
aviationwiz
Plextor Fan(atic)

Postby wicked1 on Tue Nov 04, 2003 10:14 pm

Well I was defragging again and the power surged.I just lost 250 gigs of data.I am now installing Win 2000 sp4 and I moved all hard drives to the onboard raid connections and all opticals on the onboard channels and a silicon image 680.I havent installed Sandra yet to test but hopefully it was just something wrong with win xp.
Either way I'm very angry about the 250 gigs lost.
:evil: :evil: :cry:
2 gb ddr2 1066 mhz ram
geforce 7600GT
sb audigy 2 zs platnum

wicked1
CD-RW Player

Postby TheWizard on Wed Nov 05, 2003 12:03 am