Home News Reviews Forums Shop


Problem with Nero CD-DVD Speed 3.80 burns and some readers

Nero Burning ROM, Nero Express, NeroVision Express, Recode, InCD, etc..

Problem with Nero CD-DVD Speed 3.80 burns and some readers

Postby ItalianJob on Mon May 23, 2005 5:44 am

Hi !

I use Nero CD-DVD Speed 3.80 to burn ISO image, and the produced DVD have some problems on standalone or Toshiba SD-M 1712 DVD-ROM. (But reads ok on my BenQ 1620 B7V9 and NEC 2510 2.F9 and Philips 737.)

Image

I burn again the same image on the same DVD with Nero 6.6.0.13 or DVDDecrypter 3.5.4.0 and all is good again on my Toshiba...

Image

This is reproductible. It seems that Nero CD-DVD Speed 3.80 ISO burning produces bad disc : the length is not well detected on some readers...

Thanks for your help CCampbell !
User avatar
ItalianJob
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 387
Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2004 12:09 pm
Location: France

Postby hoxlund on Mon May 23, 2005 9:57 am

i think i see the problem, someone hijacked your cd-dvd speed and played with the program

as you can see in your pictures all the text is mis-spelled :roll:
Fractal Design Define R5 White Window Case
Corsair RM1000 Power Supply
MSI X99A XPower AC USB 3.1 Motherboard
Intel i7-5930K CPU @ 4.8GHz
Corsair H100i GTX 240mm CPU Cooler
Mushkin Blackline 4x8GB DDR4 2400 Memory
Asus 980Ti Strix OC
User avatar
hoxlund
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 3706
Joined: Mon May 27, 2002 12:55 am
Location: RAF Lakenheath / Suffolk United Kingdom

Postby ItalianJob on Mon May 23, 2005 10:22 am

Hijacking ? No, "french" preference... Sorry, I didn't check that before posting in this international forum.

As Ahead is based in germany, I think they will have no problem with it, though :roll:
User avatar
ItalianJob
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 387
Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2004 12:09 pm
Location: France

Postby hoxlund on Mon May 23, 2005 3:11 pm

i was joking, anyway why would you want to burn isos with cd/dvd speed

thats not that programs intention, use a free program like dvd decrypter or nero
Fractal Design Define R5 White Window Case
Corsair RM1000 Power Supply
MSI X99A XPower AC USB 3.1 Motherboard
Intel i7-5930K CPU @ 4.8GHz
Corsair H100i GTX 240mm CPU Cooler
Mushkin Blackline 4x8GB DDR4 2400 Memory
Asus 980Ti Strix OC
User avatar
hoxlund
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 3706
Joined: Mon May 27, 2002 12:55 am
Location: RAF Lakenheath / Suffolk United Kingdom

Postby ItalianJob on Mon May 23, 2005 7:12 pm

The main interest is to do something like that (8X DL burn by Ian).

Image

You can see the WOPC work, speed change (or 16X->12X slowdowns at the end of some 16X burn).

I know DVDDecrypter but it does not provide an historical view of the burning speed...
Last edited by ItalianJob on Tue May 24, 2005 6:47 pm, edited 2 times in total.
User avatar
ItalianJob
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 387
Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2004 12:09 pm
Location: France

Postby dodecahedron on Mon May 23, 2005 7:24 pm

why not simply create a data disc with random data rather than an image you provide ?
One Ring to rule them all, One Ring to find them,
One Ring to bring them all and in the darkness bind them
In the land of Mordor, where the Shadows lie
-- JRRT
M.C. Escher - Reptilien
User avatar
dodecahedron
DVD Polygon
 
Posts: 6865
Joined: Sat Mar 09, 2002 12:04 am
Location: Israel

Postby ItalianJob on Tue May 24, 2005 3:50 am

Thanks for your input, but random data doesn't play on a standalone as far as I know...

I'm just asking if someone else got this bug and if it can be solved ?

I already have a workaround... Burning with "Nero Burning ROM" or DVDDecrypter is ok.
User avatar
ItalianJob
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 387
Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2004 12:09 pm
Location: France

Postby MediumRare on Tue May 24, 2005 5:33 pm

@dodecahedron: I've been writing *.nrg images with CDSpeed too. The advantage of this approach (as opposed to using Nero) is that you get the trace of the recording speed as well as the drive model and firmware stored directly on the disc. It is shown in CDSpeed if you do a quality scan later.

The downside is that I've also had problems similar to what ItalianJob is seeing on some drives- exactly the same message just now on a BTC DVD-Rom.

What I'm seeing here, is that the disc type is identified as a DVD-Rom (old firmware?) and the capacity shown is the maximum value of 4.38 GiB (like in ItalianJob's picture). The actual amount of data (as shown by the Windows explorer) is 4.28 GiB. When the drive hits the end of the actual data in a transfer rate test, it aborts with ItalianJob's error message. If I do a quality scan, CDSpeed locks up at that point and paralyzes the system so badly that I have to reboot.

The behaviour with KProbe in my SOHW 1213S@1653S is similar to what I saw in an earlier case: it detects the size properly but scans past end of information. I reported this a while ago in the CDSpeed discussion at CDFreaks (see this post and follow-ups), but the situation was muddied by open/closed session discussions and Erik Deppe's comment didn't help much in the end. I think I'll send him an e-Mail on this - he's usually very open for information and suggestions.

G
User avatar
MediumRare
CD-RW Translator
 
Posts: 1768
Joined: Sun Jan 19, 2003 3:08 pm
Location: ffm

Postby ItalianJob on Tue May 24, 2005 6:34 pm

Thank you MediumRare [-o<

It do believe this as something to do with finalization/multi-session...

(A friend of mine has problems on his stand alone too with 2 DVD+R burned with CD-DVD Speed... both discs are just not seen :o He never had this problems before I use CD-DVD Speed on the same spindle of DVD+R)
User avatar
ItalianJob
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 387
Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2004 12:09 pm
Location: France

Postby dodecahedron on Wed May 25, 2005 2:53 am

MediumRare wrote:@dodecahedron: I've been writing *.nrg images with CDSpeed too. The advantage of this approach (as opposed to using Nero) is that you get the trace of the recording speed as well as the drive model and firmware stored directly on the disc. It is shown in CDSpeed if you do a quality scan later.

how does it do that? does it save some more data to the disc than just the image file?
(i'm assuming the "include test data" is checked in the options ?
One Ring to rule them all, One Ring to find them,
One Ring to bring them all and in the darkness bind them
In the land of Mordor, where the Shadows lie
-- JRRT
M.C. Escher - Reptilien
User avatar
dodecahedron
DVD Polygon
 
Posts: 6865
Joined: Sat Mar 09, 2002 12:04 am
Location: Israel

Postby ItalianJob on Wed May 25, 2005 12:29 pm

>>i'm assuming the "include test data" is checked in the options ?

I think the option was not checked for my burns.
I will do some tests with/without it, could be interesting.
User avatar
ItalianJob
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 387
Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2004 12:09 pm
Location: France

Postby MediumRare on Thu May 26, 2005 5:32 am

dodecahedron wrote:how does it do that? does it save some more data to the disc than just the image file?
(i'm assuming the "include test data" is checked in the options ?

Sorry I didn't get back on this earlier- I've been having access problems. :evil:

Yes, I had the option checked.
I'm sure it does store the additional information. However- it doesn't show up as a file on the disks I've checked :o (as opposed to a data disk with randomn data). I checked with the windows explorer and IsoBuster.

@ItailanJob: I had a look at some of the discs I burned with this option, and as far as I can tell, none are closed. The first one I reported about (at CDFreaks) was an image of an open session, but the latest one were straight disc copy.

BTW- is there an easy option for checking if a disc is closed? I ended up digging through the extended disc info ("shift+ctrl refresh") for an indication. Also I'd like to try closing the disc and can't seem to find an option for that in Nero (although I've used it in the past :o).

G
User avatar
MediumRare
CD-RW Translator
 
Posts: 1768
Joined: Sun Jan 19, 2003 3:08 pm
Location: ffm

Postby dodecahedron on Thu May 26, 2005 5:57 am

so where does it keep the data? the drive/firmware that burned it and the CDSpeed graphs ?
if you make a data test disc with random data (the "regular" way CDSpeed makes a data disc) there's a folder called TESTDATA in which there's 1 file TESTDATA.DAT (9KB), i'm assuming this is it.
yep, you can open this file with CDSpeed.
so does this file appear when you burn an ISO ? what if the ISO is the full capacity and there's no more space for it ?

doesn't CDSpeed Disc Info or InfoTool Disc tab say if the session is open ?

i think in Nero's Disc Info window, if the session is open then there are extra buttons to close it.
One Ring to rule them all, One Ring to find them,
One Ring to bring them all and in the darkness bind them
In the land of Mordor, where the Shadows lie
-- JRRT
M.C. Escher - Reptilien
User avatar
dodecahedron
DVD Polygon
 
Posts: 6865
Joined: Sat Mar 09, 2002 12:04 am
Location: Israel

Postby MediumRare on Thu May 26, 2005 6:24 am

dodecahedron wrote:so does this file appear when you burn an ISO ? what if the ISO is the full capacity and there's no more space for it ?

Well it doesn't show on the *.nrg's I've burned. Don't know what happens with a full ISO. :o

dodecahedron wrote:doesn't CDSpeed Disc Info or InfoTool Disc tab say if the session is open ?

i think in Nero's Disc Info window, if the session is open then there are extra buttons to close it.

Neither of these indicate an open session (just checked it). However, at the end of the extended info, I get this:
Code: Select all
---- DVD Structure: Disc Control Blocks (30h) ----
Layer: 0, Address: 1414480640 (544F4300 h), AGID: 0; Length: 8194
Content Descriptor: <TOC> 544F4300 h (generic), Session No: 0
Unknown Content Descriptor Actions: 0 h
Vendor ID: <SONY            DW-D24ACS0M     >
--- TOC Blocks ---
  TOC Item desc 0: <TCI> 544349 h
   Session Status: adding a new Session to the disc is allowed (0)
   Session Number: 1
   Session start address: 30000 h
   Session end   address: 256DFF h

---- DVD Structure: Disc Control Blocks (30h) ----
Layer: 1, Address: 1414480640 (544F4300 h), AGID: 0; Length: 8194
Content Descriptor: <TOC> 544F4300 h (generic), Session No: 1
Unknown Content Descriptor Actions: 0 h
Vendor ID: <SONY            DW-D24ACS0M     >
--- TOC Blocks ---
  TOC Item desc 0: <TCI> 544349 h
   Session Status: adding a new Session to the disc is allowed (0)
   Session Number: 1
   Session start address: 30000 h
   Session end   address: 256DFF h

whereas a randomn data disc shows this:
Code: Select all
---- DVD Structure: Disc Control Blocks (30h) ----
Layer: 0, Address: 1414480640 (544F4300 h), AGID: 0; Length: 8194
Content Descriptor: <TOC> 544F4300 h (generic), Session No: 0
Unknown Content Descriptor Actions: 0 h
Vendor ID: <PHILIPS         DVDR1640P       >
--- TOC Blocks ---
  TOC Item desc 0: <TCI> 544349 h
   Session Status: last Session shall be the final Session on the disc. The disc has been finalized. (1)
   Session Number: 1
   Session start address: 30000 h
   Session end   address: 26053F h

---- DVD Structure: Disc Control Blocks (30h) ----
Layer: 1, Address: 1414480640 (544F4300 h), AGID: 0; Length: 8194
Content Descriptor: <TOC> 544F4300 h (generic), Session No: 1
Unknown Content Descriptor Actions: 0 h
Vendor ID: <PHILIPS         DVDR1640P       >
--- TOC Blocks ---
  TOC Item desc 0: <TCI> 544349 h
   Session Status: last Session shall be the final Session on the disc. The disc has been finalized. (1)
   Session Number: 1
   Session start address: 30000 h
   Session end   address: 26053F h

Frankly, I think CDSpeed is leaving the disc in an inconsistent state. I'll mail Erik Deppe about it and refer to this thread.

G
User avatar
MediumRare
CD-RW Translator
 
Posts: 1768
Joined: Sun Jan 19, 2003 3:08 pm
Location: ffm

Postby ItalianJob on Thu May 26, 2005 4:21 pm

OK :
=> Session Status: adding a new Session to the disc is allowed.

Interesting this bug on "not full" DVD+R, not closed (SAO <> DAO ?).
Unfortunatly, I can't reproduce it on DVD+RW :o :roll:

I hope it will be corrected soon in forthcoming CD-DVD Speed.
I like and now lake the feature...
User avatar
ItalianJob
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 387
Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2004 12:09 pm
Location: France

Postby CCampbell on Fri Jun 03, 2005 2:00 pm

I've created a bug entry on this issue, and will report back any findings from our Engineers.

Regards

Craig
CCampbell
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 966
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2002 9:27 pm
Location: Glendale, CA

Postby ItalianJob on Fri Jun 03, 2005 4:22 pm

Great !
User avatar
ItalianJob
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 387
Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2004 12:09 pm
Location: France

Postby ItalianJob on Tue Jun 14, 2005 5:05 pm

Is this corrected in 4.0 ?
User avatar
ItalianJob
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 387
Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2004 12:09 pm
Location: France

Postby dodecahedron on Tue Jun 14, 2005 5:08 pm

ItalianJob wrote:Is this corrected in 4.0 ?

probably not. read this: http://www.cdrlabs.com/phpBB/viewtopic. ... 693#141693
One Ring to rule them all, One Ring to find them,
One Ring to bring them all and in the darkness bind them
In the land of Mordor, where the Shadows lie
-- JRRT
M.C. Escher - Reptilien
User avatar
dodecahedron
DVD Polygon
 
Posts: 6865
Joined: Sat Mar 09, 2002 12:04 am
Location: Israel

Postby ItalianJob on Tue Jun 14, 2005 5:28 pm

Thanks for the info :wink:

By the way, Craig, Nero Infotool is still in v3.00 (and not 3.01)
in Nero 6.6.0.14. Version 3.01 was on cdspeed2000.com before 6.6.0.13 was released.
User avatar
ItalianJob
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 387
Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2004 12:09 pm
Location: France

Postby MediumRare on Wed Jun 29, 2005 5:40 pm

ItalianJob wrote:Is this corrected in 4.0 ?

According to Erik Deppe, it will be corrected in the new version coming out later this week. :D =D>

G
User avatar
MediumRare
CD-RW Translator
 
Posts: 1768
Joined: Sun Jan 19, 2003 3:08 pm
Location: ffm

Postby ItalianJob on Fri Jul 01, 2005 3:03 pm

Thanks :wink:

Still not here today...
User avatar
ItalianJob
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 387
Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2004 12:09 pm
Location: France

Postby ItalianJob on Mon Jul 18, 2005 8:34 am

Back from hollidays. I see 4.01 is out : I will test it when I'll be less busy...
User avatar
ItalianJob
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 387
Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2004 12:09 pm
Location: France

Postby MediumRare on Sun Jul 31, 2005 4:29 pm

ItalianJob wrote:Back from hollidays. I see 4.01 is out : I will test it when I'll be less busy...

I tried an image that caused problems with the previous version and the session is now closed.

I meant to post this before my holidays, but forgot. :-?

G
User avatar
MediumRare
CD-RW Translator
 
Posts: 1768
Joined: Sun Jan 19, 2003 3:08 pm
Location: ffm

Postby dodecahedron on Sun Jul 31, 2005 5:03 pm

ItalianJob wrote:Hijacking ? No, "french" preference... Sorry, I didn't check that before posting in this international forum.

french preference from Italianjob ??? :lol:
One Ring to rule them all, One Ring to find them,
One Ring to bring them all and in the darkness bind them
In the land of Mordor, where the Shadows lie
-- JRRT
M.C. Escher - Reptilien
User avatar
dodecahedron
DVD Polygon
 
Posts: 6865
Joined: Sat Mar 09, 2002 12:04 am
Location: Israel

Next

Return to Nero (Formerly Ahead Software)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

All Content is Copyright (c) 2001-2017 CDRLabs Inc.