Home News Reviews Forums Shop

Question about updating firmware on LG drives

Burn baby burn!

Question about updating firmware on LG drives

Postby 7-endless on Thu Mar 06, 2003 2:46 am

Planning to update the firmware on a friend's 8481B and just had a couple questions regarding the firmware update process as I've never done this before with an LG drive. In the instructions, it says to make sure that the drive is set as the master on the secondary IDE channel alone. Is this really necessary?? Also, what if you have another IDE controller (ie. Promise controller) installed in the system and have the LG drive connected to it...do you have to disconnect it and connect it instead as the master on the secondary ide channel on the mobo or can you just connect it as the master on the secondary channel of the controller?
7-endless
Buffer Underrun

Postby GuJack20 on Thu Mar 06, 2003 10:14 am

I have a 8481B and i have upgraded it to Firmware 1.03. Than i flashed it with the firmware of a 8520 and now i have the possibility to write at 52X.
It is connected as Secondary Slave and i got no problems upgrading or flashing it. I don't know what to say for an extra IDE controller but to be sure connect it to the Mobo and after flashing reconnect at the extra IDE. :)
GuJack20
Buffer Underrun

Postby 7-endless on Fri Mar 07, 2003 2:00 am

GuJack20 wrote:I have a 8481B and i have upgraded it to Firmware 1.03. Than i flashed it with the firmware of a 8520 and now i have the possibility to write at 52X.
It is connected as Secondary Slave and i got no problems upgrading or flashing it. I don't know what to say for an extra IDE controller but to be sure connect it to the Mobo and after flashing reconnect at the extra IDE. :)

Thanks for the tip...I think I'll just play it safe as you suggested and attach it to the Secondary channel to flash it and then put it back on the pci controller afterwards...
7-endless
Buffer Underrun

Postby cfitz on Fri Mar 07, 2003 2:30 am