Home News Reviews Forums Shop


Recode 2 and Nero 6 - TranscodedandBurned 7DVDs 2 hours each

Nero Burning ROM, Nero Express, NeroVision Express, Recode, InCD, etc..

Recode 2 and Nero 6 - TranscodedandBurned 7DVDs 2 hours each

Postby Bennybone on Mon Jan 05, 2004 7:03 pm

Which is not bad at all considering my hardware configuration.

Intel PIII 600 Mhz 133fsb
256 megs Cas2 Cruical Tech
Leadtek Winfast Geforce 2
40 gig Western Dig HD
Win98SE
Plextor 708A
Memorex 4x DVD R+ (burned at 8x)

Nero 6 Ultra
Nero Recode 2
DVD Decryptor

I personally think that it is amazing that I can get DVDs backed up on my OLD system with perfect results. The backup copies look amazing (granted I did menu and movie only to keep compression below 10%) and all with multichannel soundtracks.

How much more blood can I squeeze out of this old PC??? I thought for sure that I would soon be upgrading Motherboard, Ram, and CPU but why when I can do everything with my old system.

I posted this topic for all you cheap/broke/frugal guys and gals like myself who are holding on to the old technology. Forget what the "minimum system requirements" are and give it a shot for yourself.

Thanks to everyone for making this forum work, I have been a long time lurker who acted on everyones TIPS and made DVD magic happen for the first time this weekend!!!

P.S. - Having a burner like the Plextor in a system like mine is like putting a V8 in a Civic...
I can see the light at the end of the tunnel...
Bennybone
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2004 12:53 am
Location: Oklahoma

Postby hoxlund on Mon Jan 05, 2004 7:32 pm

you should try out dvdfab
Fractal Design Define R5 White Window Case
Corsair RM1000 Power Supply
MSI X99A XPower AC USB 3.1 Motherboard
Intel i7-5930K CPU @ 4.8GHz
Corsair H100i GTX 240mm CPU Cooler
Mushkin Blackline 4x8GB DDR4 2400 Memory
Asus 980Ti Strix OC
User avatar
hoxlund
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 3706
Joined: Mon May 27, 2002 12:55 am
Location: RAF Lakenheath / Suffolk United Kingdom

Postby NoSmartz on Tue Jan 06, 2004 12:57 am

Just look at it this way.This is what I run.
P4 1.8
512mb pc2100
Hitachi/LG dvd-rom
Plextor 708
WinXP home
DVDShrink/Recode

This setup takes me less than 40 minutes.If no compression,less than that.
You can't squeeze blood out of a turnip.

E
"Life can only be understood backwards; but it must be lived forwards."
Soren Kierkegaard
NoSmartz
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 642
Joined: Tue Nov 18, 2003 8:39 am
Location: Dallas,Texas

Postby hoxlund on Tue Jan 06, 2004 1:09 am

40 minutes to burn a dvd movie?

thats crazy, i turn em out every 13 minutes at 4x dvd-r
Fractal Design Define R5 White Window Case
Corsair RM1000 Power Supply
MSI X99A XPower AC USB 3.1 Motherboard
Intel i7-5930K CPU @ 4.8GHz
Corsair H100i GTX 240mm CPU Cooler
Mushkin Blackline 4x8GB DDR4 2400 Memory
Asus 980Ti Strix OC
User avatar
hoxlund
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 3706
Joined: Mon May 27, 2002 12:55 am
Location: RAF Lakenheath / Suffolk United Kingdom

Postby Bennybone on Tue Jan 06, 2004 1:30 am

hoxlund wrote:40 minutes to burn a dvd movie?

thats crazy, i turn em out every 13 minutes at 4x dvd-r


:lol: :oops: :lol: Oh surely you jest :lol: :oops: :lol:

HE doesn't mean burning the DVD. Silly.

However my time is for movies that are compressed and are being subjected to two passes of analysis. So his times aren't truely a proper comparison.
I can see the light at the end of the tunnel...
Bennybone
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2004 12:53 am
Location: Oklahoma

Postby NoSmartz on Tue Jan 06, 2004 2:00 am

Bennybone is correct.It doesn't take me 40 min. or less to burn a movie,it's 40 min. or less in total to do "everything"!!!!If I rip with Shrink or Recode it takes on average 11 minutes to do the movie then 14 minutes to burn.I don't burn at 8x.Usually 2.4x or 4x.I also don't use DVD - media.Just DVD + up to this point.
hoxlund
If you can do everything in 13 min.,let me know the secret.I gotta know.
Bennybone
I don't second analyze.I can't tell the difference with it.
Take away the second analysis and then tell us what time it takes or just guess.So we can be accurate. :D

E
"Life can only be understood backwards; but it must be lived forwards."
Soren Kierkegaard
NoSmartz
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 642
Joined: Tue Nov 18, 2003 8:39 am
Location: Dallas,Texas

Postby hoxlund on Tue Jan 06, 2004 12:28 pm

it takes me 13 minutes because i do a direct burn at once with recode 2, 14 minutes if you want to include the analysing in the beginning before you add the movie title to the project

no second pass (no visual differece)
Fractal Design Define R5 White Window Case
Corsair RM1000 Power Supply
MSI X99A XPower AC USB 3.1 Motherboard
Intel i7-5930K CPU @ 4.8GHz
Corsair H100i GTX 240mm CPU Cooler
Mushkin Blackline 4x8GB DDR4 2400 Memory
Asus 980Ti Strix OC
User avatar
hoxlund
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 3706
Joined: Mon May 27, 2002 12:55 am
Location: RAF Lakenheath / Suffolk United Kingdom

Postby NoSmartz on Tue Jan 06, 2004 5:30 pm

I don't second pass either.I can never tell the difference.I also don't burn at once.I'm not that brave.

E
"Life can only be understood backwards; but it must be lived forwards."
Soren Kierkegaard
NoSmartz
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 642
Joined: Tue Nov 18, 2003 8:39 am
Location: Dallas,Texas

Postby hoxlund on Wed Jan 07, 2004 1:34 am

ive got a very beefy system as you can tell down below in my sig

so i always do burn at once, like I said 13 minute burns
Fractal Design Define R5 White Window Case
Corsair RM1000 Power Supply
MSI X99A XPower AC USB 3.1 Motherboard
Intel i7-5930K CPU @ 4.8GHz
Corsair H100i GTX 240mm CPU Cooler
Mushkin Blackline 4x8GB DDR4 2400 Memory
Asus 980Ti Strix OC
User avatar
hoxlund
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 3706
Joined: Mon May 27, 2002 12:55 am
Location: RAF Lakenheath / Suffolk United Kingdom

Postby NoSmartz on Wed Jan 07, 2004 11:09 am

I've no worries about what my machine will do it's just that I can't afford to spit out coasters.I like to see the .vob's on HD before I burn.Sort of a security sytem or safety blanket.I'm too chicken to try it any other way.Story of my life. :D

E
"Life can only be understood backwards; but it must be lived forwards."
Soren Kierkegaard
NoSmartz
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 642
Joined: Tue Nov 18, 2003 8:39 am
Location: Dallas,Texas

Con to speedy systems

Postby Bennybone on Wed Jan 07, 2004 12:08 pm

Ok hear me out on this one... :wink:

A disadvantage to having a system that is "quick" could be that you don't leave your computer station while transcoding and burning backups.

For example, since my lowly rig takes 1 1/2 hrs to 2-pass on a transcode I was able to eat dinner, clean the kitchen, and watch half of a movie with the kids. I pretty much know that the system isn't going to surprise me with a quick time so I am able to live out my "after work life" to its fullest while still getting perfect DVD backups.

Now tell me, honestly :wink: , since your PC's are so fast do you usually sit there throughout the whole process staring into your monitor... Because I wouldn't think that one would feel comfortable walking away from the machine only to come back and find that they wasted 10 minutes of "possible" burn time.

Just a thought
I can see the light at the end of the tunnel...
Bennybone
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2004 12:53 am
Location: Oklahoma

Postby hoxlund on Wed Jan 07, 2004 12:15 pm

i often do other things while its burning, play xbox, read news on computer, chat on computer

i never just sit there and stare at progress bar, also id like to know why you do the 2-pass thing, it makes no difference

also even if you rip the .vob/.ifo to your hard drive you can still burn a coaster, doing it my way i have never gotten a coaster. And ive burned a total of probably 400 movies with my drives
Fractal Design Define R5 White Window Case
Corsair RM1000 Power Supply
MSI X99A XPower AC USB 3.1 Motherboard
Intel i7-5930K CPU @ 4.8GHz
Corsair H100i GTX 240mm CPU Cooler
Mushkin Blackline 4x8GB DDR4 2400 Memory
Asus 980Ti Strix OC
User avatar
hoxlund
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 3706
Joined: Mon May 27, 2002 12:55 am
Location: RAF Lakenheath / Suffolk United Kingdom

Postby NoSmartz on Wed Jan 07, 2004 12:40 pm

I've had this Plextor for about a month and I've back't up about 85 flix and done maybe 40 cd-r's.Only 1 coaster.I guess I put it on the HD(DVD'S)first is 'cause I've had good success.It's also 'cause a few times I've rip't the wrong audio track and if I don't catch myself I'll burn movies with the the Director's Comments or some crap like that.I don't think sometimes.If I had a couple of stax of DVD± media I'd try it your way but I don't so I go the safe way.
2 pass thing,I've seen no difference.

E
"Life can only be understood backwards; but it must be lived forwards."
Soren Kierkegaard
NoSmartz
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 642
Joined: Tue Nov 18, 2003 8:39 am
Location: Dallas,Texas

Postby hoxlund on Wed Jan 07, 2004 12:42 pm

with recode 2 you can preview the move, and switch different audio
Fractal Design Define R5 White Window Case
Corsair RM1000 Power Supply
MSI X99A XPower AC USB 3.1 Motherboard
Intel i7-5930K CPU @ 4.8GHz
Corsair H100i GTX 240mm CPU Cooler
Mushkin Blackline 4x8GB DDR4 2400 Memory
Asus 980Ti Strix OC
User avatar
hoxlund
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 3706
Joined: Mon May 27, 2002 12:55 am
Location: RAF Lakenheath / Suffolk United Kingdom

Postby NoSmartz on Wed Jan 07, 2004 6:00 pm

For example, since my lowly rig takes 1 1/2 hrs to 2-pass on a transcode I was able to eat dinner, clean the kitchen, and watch half of a movie with the kids. I pretty much know that the system isn't going to surprise me with a quick time so I am able to live out my "after work life" to its fullest while still getting perfect DVD backups.

Bennybone
I love that reasoning.Very funny and effective.Good point.
hoxlund
I can't hear audio in Recode 2 or any other app I use to do flix.I've had more weird issues with Recode 2 than anything I have.Especially trying to do Nero Digital.Everything plays but no digital audio option.Weird but I'm not going to complain 'cause I don't do DIVX anyway.Recode 2 with Region Free or AnyDvd though works great.No probs.FAAAASSSTTT!!!!

E
"Life can only be understood backwards; but it must be lived forwards."
Soren Kierkegaard
NoSmartz
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 642
Joined: Tue Nov 18, 2003 8:39 am
Location: Dallas,Texas

Postby hoxlund on Thu Jan 08, 2004 1:38 am

so your saying in recode 2, after you add the movie track, and click on play to preview it, you get no sound? from any audio layer?
Fractal Design Define R5 White Window Case
Corsair RM1000 Power Supply
MSI X99A XPower AC USB 3.1 Motherboard
Intel i7-5930K CPU @ 4.8GHz
Corsair H100i GTX 240mm CPU Cooler
Mushkin Blackline 4x8GB DDR4 2400 Memory
Asus 980Ti Strix OC
User avatar
hoxlund
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 3706
Joined: Mon May 27, 2002 12:55 am
Location: RAF Lakenheath / Suffolk United Kingdom

Postby NoSmartz on Thu Jan 08, 2004 12:39 pm

Absolutely none.It'll play the movie fine but no sound.I have all the plugs but maybe they're wrong.SVCD,MPEG2 and what not but no sound.Weird ehh.I've read where a few people have had this problem also.I've tried many flix but no success.I don't have an app that does sound so I thought it was just part of it.I also heard that the next DvdShrink will have the audio in the preview.Probably the only way I'll get sound ehh!!!Other than that though Recode works great.I love it. :D

E
"Life can only be understood backwards; but it must be lived forwards."
Soren Kierkegaard
NoSmartz
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 642
Joined: Tue Nov 18, 2003 8:39 am
Location: Dallas,Texas

Postby hoxlund on Thu Jan 08, 2004 1:03 pm

next version of dvdshrink? where did you read that?
Fractal Design Define R5 White Window Case
Corsair RM1000 Power Supply
MSI X99A XPower AC USB 3.1 Motherboard
Intel i7-5930K CPU @ 4.8GHz
Corsair H100i GTX 240mm CPU Cooler
Mushkin Blackline 4x8GB DDR4 2400 Memory
Asus 980Ti Strix OC
User avatar
hoxlund
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 3706
Joined: Mon May 27, 2002 12:55 am
Location: RAF Lakenheath / Suffolk United Kingdom

Postby NoSmartz on Thu Jan 08, 2004 5:20 pm

On a post here about 3 or 4 weeks ago.But I also read it at some DVD recording forum.Since the guy doesn't work there(or on it)anymore someone else will be adding some extra features and taking on the project.I can't remember the site address.But they said it's comin' around.Maybe then I'll get some audio in the preview playback!Recode has been pretty good so far,just no audio.

E
"Life can only be understood backwards; but it must be lived forwards."
Soren Kierkegaard
NoSmartz
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 642
Joined: Tue Nov 18, 2003 8:39 am
Location: Dallas,Texas

Postby CCampbell on Wed Jan 14, 2004 3:41 pm

NoSmartz wrote:On a post here about 3 or 4 weeks ago.But I also read it at some DVD recording forum.Since the guy doesn't work there(or on it)anymore someone else will be adding some extra features and taking on the project.I can't remember the site address.But they said it's comin' around.Maybe then I'll get some audio in the preview playback!Recode has been pretty good so far,just no audio.

E


I've seen this on one customers system. His problem was that his Audio Setting for 'VIDEO' was muted. Try this. Launch the Audio setting from the Control Panel or from the Icon in your Systray. Go to OPTIONS->PROPERTIES and check the option to show the settings for VIDEO. And make sure this is not muted.

Regards,

Craig
CCampbell
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 966
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2002 9:27 pm
Location: Glendale, CA

Postby NoSmartz on Wed Jan 14, 2004 4:58 pm

There is no option in the audio controls that says "VIDEO".
Only Play,Wave,SPDIF,CD Digital,MIDI,CD Audio,Line In,Microphone,PC Speaker,Auxiliary and TaD in.Video plays fine just audio is zero.I installed Dvd Shrink 3.1.1 and used it a few times to see what audio sounds like. :D I've had probs with Dvd Shrink 3.1.1 so I'm going back to the Recode 2/AnyDvd combo.Works great.No sound but works great.What's even stranger is that I can play an Mpeg with nero Showtime and I get sound,go figure.

E
"Life can only be understood backwards; but it must be lived forwards."
Soren Kierkegaard
NoSmartz
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 642
Joined: Tue Nov 18, 2003 8:39 am
Location: Dallas,Texas

Postby NoSmartz on Wed Jan 14, 2004 5:42 pm

CCampbell,
Thanx a ton!!!!!
I read your post at this thread http://www.cdrlabs.com/phpBB/viewtopic.php?t=14512&start=0&postdays=0&postorder=asc&highlight= and decided to give it a go and see if I could get some sound out of Recode 2.IT WORKED!!!I now have sound!Funny thing is I found that site a while ago and installed the 2 .dll's like the instructions said and it never worked.Not this time.Works like a charm.I didn't replace the wav.dll though.Is this ok?I renamed the old one to wav.bkp but decided to try the nxmyaac.dll and the nxmyac3.dll with the old wav.dll and renamed it back to wav.dll.Seems to work good.Do I need to install any of the plugs below that I got from http://neroplugins.cd-rw.org/?(other than the aac and the ac3 I've already installed)
6channel.wav
nxpsytel.dll
wav.dll

THANX Again! :D

E
"Life can only be understood backwards; but it must be lived forwards."
Soren Kierkegaard
NoSmartz
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 642
Joined: Tue Nov 18, 2003 8:39 am
Location: Dallas,Texas

Postby hoxlund on Thu Jan 15, 2004 5:08 am

btw the new dvdshrink works with dvd region free, no need to disable dvd region free or quit it before using dvd shrink 3.1.2
Fractal Design Define R5 White Window Case
Corsair RM1000 Power Supply
MSI X99A XPower AC USB 3.1 Motherboard
Intel i7-5930K CPU @ 4.8GHz
Corsair H100i GTX 240mm CPU Cooler
Mushkin Blackline 4x8GB DDR4 2400 Memory
Asus 980Ti Strix OC
User avatar
hoxlund
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 3706
Joined: Mon May 27, 2002 12:55 am
Location: RAF Lakenheath / Suffolk United Kingdom

Postby pika2000 on Sun Jan 18, 2004 11:56 am

Just a little question. Will the resulte mp4 file playable on any PC, or do you need Ahead's video player to play it?
pika2000
CD-RW Thug
 
Posts: 83
Joined: Mon Dec 22, 2003 1:32 am

Postby NoSmartz on Sun Jan 18, 2004 1:06 pm

I believe it will play with a Divx plug installed into Windows Media Player.If you use use the Nero Digital function in Recode or Vision Express,Nero Showtime should be included in the package.
Haven't done a Nero Digital pass yet.Takes to looong!!!

E
"Life can only be understood backwards; but it must be lived forwards."
Soren Kierkegaard
NoSmartz
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 642
Joined: Tue Nov 18, 2003 8:39 am
Location: Dallas,Texas


Return to Nero (Formerly Ahead Software)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

All Content is Copyright (c) 2001-2017 CDRLabs Inc.