Home News Reviews Forums Shop


Recode 2

Nero Burning ROM, Nero Express, NeroVision Express, Recode, InCD, etc..

Recode 2

Postby skypx on Sat Dec 13, 2003 4:36 pm

I've been using Recode 2 to backup movies since it's release yesterday and I have to say so far I am very pleased! I just backed up Predator 2 in 10 minutes using the Plextor PX-708A and the LiteOn XJ-HD166S. With the help of http://www.dvdidle.com/ DVD region free I was able to do a disc to disc copy. Awesome!!!! Great job Ahead!!!
Gigabyte GA-X38T-DQ6|Intel QX9650|Corsair TWIN3X4096-1600C7DHX|EVGA 8800GTX|Plextor PX-760SA|Samsung 244T
skypx
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 113
Joined: Tue Jul 29, 2003 11:21 pm

Re: Recode 2

Postby tazdevl on Sat Dec 13, 2003 9:16 pm

skypx wrote:I've been using Recode 2 to backup movies since it's release yesterday and I have to say so far I am very pleased! I just backed up Predator 2 in 10 minutes using the Plextor PX-708A and the LiteOn XJ-HD166S. With the help of http://www.dvdidle.com/ DVD region free I was able to do a disc to disc copy. Awesome!!!! Great job Ahead!!!


FYI you don't need to use a secondary program with the 166S to remove region coding. You can disable the region code functionality on the drive in one shot byt turning it off with a program called "LiteOnFlash" or "LTNFLASH". Do a search in the forums or google. I'm sure you can track down a download link.
RIG:
P4 2.6C, Thermalright SP94/Panaflo 92MM M1A, IC7 Max3, Swifty MCX159, 1GB Geil PC4000 Ultra Plat, Radeon 8500, Audigy 2, 2X WD Raptor RAID 0, WD 250GB SE, Plex 708A, 166SDVD, LianLi PC75, XP Pro.
User avatar
tazdevl
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 979
Joined: Tue May 14, 2002 11:03 pm

Postby dodecahedron on Sat Dec 13, 2003 9:39 pm

One Ring to rule them all, One Ring to find them,
One Ring to bring them all and in the darkness bind them
In the land of Mordor, where the Shadows lie
-- JRRT
M.C. Escher - Reptilien
User avatar
dodecahedron
DVD Polygon
 
Posts: 6865
Joined: Sat Mar 09, 2002 12:04 am
Location: Israel

Postby Slumpey on Sat Dec 13, 2003 9:47 pm

How did you get Nero Recode 2 to work with DVD Region-Free?

I've been using DVD Region-Free for a long time, but I can't get it to work with Nero Recode 2. I tried AnyDVD v3.2.1.1 and it worked, but not DVD Region-Free v3.22
Slumpey
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Oct 28, 2003 9:57 am

Re: Recode 2

Postby skypx on Sat Dec 13, 2003 11:01 pm

tazdevl wrote:
skypx wrote:I've been using Recode 2 to backup movies since it's release yesterday and I have to say so far I am very pleased! I just backed up Predator 2 in 10 minutes using the Plextor PX-708A and the LiteOn XJ-HD166S. With the help of http://www.dvdidle.com/ DVD region free I was able to do a disc to disc copy. Awesome!!!! Great job Ahead!!!


FYI you don't need to use a secondary program with the 166S to remove region coding. You can disable the region code functionality on the drive in one shot byt turning it off with a program called "LiteOnFlash" or "LTNFLASH". Do a search in the forums or google. I'm sure you can track down a download link.


tazdevl, I am using DVD region free for it's CSS decrypting properties. Will LiteOnFlash decrypt CSS DVDs?
Gigabyte GA-X38T-DQ6|Intel QX9650|Corsair TWIN3X4096-1600C7DHX|EVGA 8800GTX|Plextor PX-760SA|Samsung 244T
skypx
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 113
Joined: Tue Jul 29, 2003 11:21 pm

Postby skypx on Sun Dec 14, 2003 12:04 am

I just can't say how impressed I am with this program. Here is a pic of it in action.

Image
Gigabyte GA-X38T-DQ6|Intel QX9650|Corsair TWIN3X4096-1600C7DHX|EVGA 8800GTX|Plextor PX-760SA|Samsung 244T
skypx
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 113
Joined: Tue Jul 29, 2003 11:21 pm

Postby aviationwiz on Sun Dec 14, 2003 12:50 am

I too am very impressed with it as well. I did a test and the picture quality is better than DVD Shrink, and the audio is the same. It is also quicker, and an all in one program. I love it.
User avatar
aviationwiz
Plextor Fan(atic)
 
Posts: 4069
Joined: Tue Jul 16, 2002 2:55 am
Location: Home of the Red Tail

Postby MikeTR on Sun Dec 14, 2003 10:45 am

aviationwiz wrote:I too am very impressed with it as well. I did a test and the picture quality is better than DVD Shrink, and the audio is the same. It is also quicker, and an all in one program. I love it.


It should be an improvement over DVDShrink. It is made by the same developer. I'll be sure to give it a try after the weekend.
One Ring to rule them all, One Ring to find them, One Ring to bring them all and in the darkness bind them.
User avatar
MikeTR
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 241
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2001 8:00 pm
Location: Always one step ahead

Postby tazdevl on Sun Dec 14, 2003 7:37 pm

LOL I think we all now know why there hasn't been a new version of DVDShrink out.

Here's a question... is there any way to just rip the movie (like reauthor i Shrink) and not have to go through disabling all the menus?
RIG:
P4 2.6C, Thermalright SP94/Panaflo 92MM M1A, IC7 Max3, Swifty MCX159, 1GB Geil PC4000 Ultra Plat, Radeon 8500, Audigy 2, 2X WD Raptor RAID 0, WD 250GB SE, Plex 708A, 166SDVD, LianLi PC75, XP Pro.
User avatar
tazdevl
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 979
Joined: Tue May 14, 2002 11:03 pm

Postby MikeTR on Mon Dec 15, 2003 10:01 am

tazdevl wrote:LOL I think we all now know why there hasn't been a new version of DVDShrink out.

Here's a question... is there any way to just rip the movie (like reauthor i Shrink) and not have to go through disabling all the menus?


If it is possible, I haven't found it yet. Hope it comes with the next release.
One Ring to rule them all, One Ring to find them, One Ring to bring them all and in the darkness bind them.
User avatar
MikeTR
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 241
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2001 8:00 pm
Location: Always one step ahead

Postby NoSmartz on Mon Dec 15, 2003 2:46 pm

LOL I think we all now know why there hasn't been a new version of DVDShrink out.

Why?


E
NoSmartz
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 642
Joined: Tue Nov 18, 2003 8:39 am
Location: Dallas,Texas

Postby cfitz on Mon Dec 15, 2003 4:51 pm

NoSmartz wrote:Why?

I believe that Ahead hired the author of DVDShrink to write Nero Recode.

cfitz
cfitz
CD-RW Curmudgeon
 
Posts: 4572
Joined: Sat Jul 27, 2002 10:44 am

Postby MikeTR on Mon Dec 15, 2003 5:05 pm

cfitz wrote:
NoSmartz wrote:Why?

I believe that Ahead hired the author of DVDShrink to write Nero Recode.

cfitz


Yep, he was working on Nero Recode full time, so there was no furthter developement on DVDShrink. But don't worry, that doesn't mean DVDShrink is dead. There seems to be a new version in the pipeline. At least according to some in the know.
One Ring to rule them all, One Ring to find them, One Ring to bring them all and in the darkness bind them.
User avatar
MikeTR
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 241
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2001 8:00 pm
Location: Always one step ahead

Postby NoSmartz on Mon Dec 15, 2003 6:41 pm

Does Recode 2 do the same thing as Shrink or do you have to have the
MPEG-2/DVD De-/Encoder
MPEG-2/SVCD De-/Encoder
Dolby Digital (AC-3) 2.0 De-/Encoder
plugin for it to work the same(DeEncrypt)?
NoSmartz
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 642
Joined: Tue Nov 18, 2003 8:39 am
Location: Dallas,Texas

Postby aviationwiz on Mon Dec 15, 2003 11:09 pm

tazdevl wrote:LOL I think we all now know why there hasn't been a new version of DVDShrink out.

Here's a question... is there any way to just rip the movie (like reauthor i Shrink) and not have to go through disabling all the menus?


Yup, just did it in full audio too. Just use that middle option in Recode 2. "Remake a DVD" You'll know what to press and all that, just import the main film from the DVD
User avatar
aviationwiz
Plextor Fan(atic)
 
Posts: 4069
Joined: Tue Jul 16, 2002 2:55 am
Location: Home of the Red Tail

Postby skypx on Fri Dec 19, 2003 12:16 am

Ahead released a hotfix for Recode 2. ftp://ftp.nero.com/Recode2.0.0.7Hotfix.exe It's supposed to be for dual processor machines.
Gigabyte GA-X38T-DQ6|Intel QX9650|Corsair TWIN3X4096-1600C7DHX|EVGA 8800GTX|Plextor PX-760SA|Samsung 244T
skypx
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 113
Joined: Tue Jul 29, 2003 11:21 pm

Postby jaimsite on Fri Dec 19, 2003 5:26 am

how come when i try to remake or copy a dvd. it popups an error saying i couldn't copy copyrighted dvds?
jaimsite
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Dec 21, 2001 8:00 pm

Postby MikeTR on Fri Dec 19, 2003 6:29 am

jaimsite wrote:how come when i try to remake or copy a dvd. it popups an error saying i couldn't copy copyrighted dvds?


Probably because Recode can't copy protected DVD's right away. You need to make an image first (use DVDDecrypter, it's free) or use an on-the-fly decrypter like AnyDVD or RegionFree.
One Ring to rule them all, One Ring to find them, One Ring to bring them all and in the darkness bind them.
User avatar
MikeTR
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 241
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2001 8:00 pm
Location: Always one step ahead

Postby Alejandra on Fri Dec 19, 2003 6:34 pm

Has anyone compared the quality of the DVD2one?
Ciao,
macgirl.

Tired of hackintoshes and went with the real deal.
User avatar
Alejandra
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 495
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2001 8:00 pm
Location: Mexico

Postby NoSmartz on Fri Dec 19, 2003 11:21 pm

Looks pretty close to me.Not enough to fuss about. 8)


E
NoSmartz
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 642
Joined: Tue Nov 18, 2003 8:39 am
Location: Dallas,Texas


Return to Nero (Formerly Ahead Software)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

All Content is Copyright (c) 2001-2017 CDRLabs Inc.