Home News Reviews Forums Shop


Recover Corrupt DVD-RAM Media?

General discussion about recordable CD, DVD and BD media and write quality testing.

Recover Corrupt DVD-RAM Media?

Postby Ian on Wed Apr 18, 2007 9:29 pm

I tried writing to a Maxell 12x DVD-RAM disc with the ASUS DRW-1814BLT and it corrupted it all to hell. Now the disc isn't recongized as being writable. I've tried various drive and software combinations but nothing can format or erase it. Any tips?
"Blu-ray is just a bag of hurt." - Steve Jobs
User avatar
Ian
Grand Poobah
 
Posts: 14882
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2001 2:34 pm
Location: Madison, WI

Postby Grain on Fri Apr 20, 2007 11:01 am

I've never used or even owned a RAM disc. Have you tried it w/ ImgBurn?
Hi-Def Format Neutral
Samsung BD-1400, PS3 40GB
Toshiba HD-A2, HD-XA2 & XBox 360 HD DVD
Grain
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 479
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2005 12:12 am
Location: Canada

Postby Ian on Fri Apr 20, 2007 11:11 am

Yeah, I tried ImgBurn, Dvdinfopro, CD Speed, Nero, InCD, etc. I think the disc was physically damaged by the drive.
"Blu-ray is just a bag of hurt." - Steve Jobs
User avatar
Ian
Grand Poobah
 
Posts: 14882
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2001 2:34 pm
Location: Madison, WI

Postby Wesociety on Fri Apr 20, 2007 12:05 pm

Bummer to have a rare, hard to find, Maxell 12x DVD-RAM piece damaged. It sounds like you have tried almost everything that I would have tried. The only other suggestion that I would have is to try reformating or erasing the disc with the Panasonic DVD-RAM driver.
http://WesleyTech.com <- Blu-ray Disc & consumer technology news, opinions & articles
User avatar
Wesociety
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 1234
Joined: Tue Mar 09, 2004 11:33 am
Location: Phoenix, AZ

Postby Ian on Fri Apr 20, 2007 2:18 pm

Wesociety wrote:The only other suggestion that I would have is to try reformating or erasing the disc with the Panasonic DVD-RAM driver.


Got a link?
"Blu-ray is just a bag of hurt." - Steve Jobs
User avatar
Ian
Grand Poobah
 
Posts: 14882
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2001 2:34 pm
Location: Madison, WI

Postby bill on Fri Apr 20, 2007 7:17 pm

VideoRoy posted a link here that should give you what you want at Toshiba's site, just ask Iris.

Good luck trying to save the disk. I can sell you one for $50 if you want one.
bill
bill
CD-RW Supplier
 
Posts: 773
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2004 11:30 pm
Location: USA

Postby Ian on Fri Apr 20, 2007 9:59 pm

Thanks for the help guys. I installed the driver from Toshiba's website, used the BHA update and then did a physical format using a LH-20A1H. So far so good.
"Blu-ray is just a bag of hurt." - Steve Jobs
User avatar
Ian
Grand Poobah
 
Posts: 14882
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2001 2:34 pm
Location: Madison, WI

Postby Wesociety on Sat Apr 21, 2007 3:46 pm

Sweet! Glad to hear that you were able to "rescue" the disc! =D>
http://WesleyTech.com <- Blu-ray Disc & consumer technology news, opinions & articles
User avatar
Wesociety
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 1234
Joined: Tue Mar 09, 2004 11:33 am
Location: Phoenix, AZ

Postby Justin42 on Sat Apr 21, 2007 9:31 pm

How were you using the disc without the DVD-RAM drivers? InCD?

That explains why the disc got toasted, if so.... (I had more than one 2-3x DVD-RAM get trashed by Drag2Disc...)
Justin42
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 723
Joined: Sat Jun 29, 2002 10:30 pm

Postby SithTracy on Sat Apr 21, 2007 9:51 pm

Justin42 wrote:How were you using the disc without the DVD-RAM drivers? InCD?
I doubt anyone uses InCD or any packet writing software. I have not tried it in years and have no desire to use anything but DVD-RAM media for drag-drop data discs. I just format mine as FAT32 discs in Windows XP (native support for DVD-RAM) and it works fine for me.
User avatar
SithTracy
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 600
Joined: Wed Jan 03, 2007 6:18 pm
Location: S.E. WI, U.S.A.

Postby Ian on Sat Apr 21, 2007 10:00 pm

I normally use DLA for my packet writing tests so I've been using that with DVD-RAM as well.

If you're using Vista, you don't need drivers or a client at all. :D
"Blu-ray is just a bag of hurt." - Steve Jobs
User avatar
Ian
Grand Poobah
 
Posts: 14882
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2001 2:34 pm
Location: Madison, WI

Postby bill on Sat Apr 21, 2007 10:36 pm

Hmm, I forgot about Vista and I'm curious.. You don't have a copy of Vista available or did Vista fail to format your corrupted disk? Just checking to see what might be needed on Vista SP1 :wink:
Thanks
bill
bill
CD-RW Supplier
 
Posts: 773
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2004 11:30 pm
Location: USA

Postby Ian on Sun Apr 22, 2007 12:16 am

I didn't try it with Vista. I don't have any computers at home running it yet. I've been too busy to upgrade.
"Blu-ray is just a bag of hurt." - Steve Jobs
User avatar
Ian
Grand Poobah
 
Posts: 14882
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2001 2:34 pm
Location: Madison, WI


Return to Recordable Media Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

All Content is Copyright (c) 2001-2017 CDRLabs Inc.