Home News Reviews Forums Shop


Toshiba SD-M1712 - help identifying firmware

How fast is too fast?

Postby Han on Fri Dec 05, 2003 5:16 pm

dodecahedron wrote:as for making a boot floppy without drivers loaded, how do i do this? i have to remove some files from the floppy Windows makes? the autoexec.bat and config.sys ?

(in XP i need to tell it to make a bootable floopy though otherwise it's just blank. or to use a Win98 boot floppy?)

Use Win98 floppy and hold down SHIFT key while booting from it. Or, simply delete autoexec.bat and config.sys.
User avatar
Han
CD-RW PiMP
 
Posts: 569
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2001 2:34 pm

Postby dodecahedron on Fri Dec 05, 2003 6:12 pm

what's the difference between a win98 boot disk and a floppy formatted under winXP with the Create MS-DOS startup disk checked?
One Ring to rule them all, One Ring to find them,
One Ring to bring them all and in the darkness bind them
In the land of Mordor, where the Shadows lie
-- JRRT
M.C. Escher - Reptilien
User avatar
dodecahedron
DVD Polygon
 
Posts: 6865
Joined: Sat Mar 09, 2002 12:04 am
Location: Israel

Postby Han on Fri Dec 05, 2003 6:19 pm

Uhh, now you're going into too many details for me. :wink: DOS version is different for sure, there may be also some differences in other files. I'm using Win98SE bootable floppy for years now and didn't have any problem.

http://www.bootdisk.com/
User avatar
Han
CD-RW PiMP
 
Posts: 569
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2001 2:34 pm

Postby dodecahedron on Fri Dec 05, 2003 6:44 pm

Han wrote:Uhh, now you're going into too many details for me. :wink: DOS version is different for sure, there may be also some differences in other files. I'm using Win98SE bootable floppy for years now and didn't have any problem.

http://www.bootdisk.com/

so i will bow to your wisdom and experience and use a Win98 boot floppy too.

do you know if there's a difference between the Win98 boot floppy from bootdisk.com and a "real" Win98 boot disk (created by Windows 98 )? i have such a disk

strike that question - there are so many bootdisks there! i had no idea this was so complicated!
One Ring to rule them all, One Ring to find them,
One Ring to bring them all and in the darkness bind them
In the land of Mordor, where the Shadows lie
-- JRRT
M.C. Escher - Reptilien
User avatar
dodecahedron
DVD Polygon
 
Posts: 6865
Joined: Sat Mar 09, 2002 12:04 am
Location: Israel

Postby DVD_ADDICT on Sat Dec 06, 2003 1:22 pm

You need to install a region free program in order for your TOSHIBA 1712 to become region free. Applying Hijacker's firmware was only 1 step. Many people think just flashing the dvd-rom will be enough for it to be region free. But you also need a program to deal with the windows os to fool it to become region free. Download Region Killer and install it on your computer.

http://www.digital-digest.com/dvd/downloads/dvdrk.html
Use MIRROR 3 to download it.

If you have J004 then your TOSHIBA 1712 was flashed correctly. Good Luck! :D :D

_____________________________
TOSHIBA 1712 HACKED
TOSHIBA 1612 HACKED
PLEXTOR 708A DVD BURNER
PLEXTOR 40X12X40 CD BURNER
PLEXTOR 48X24X48 CD BURNER
User avatar
DVD_ADDICT
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 186
Joined: Wed Nov 19, 2003 3:24 am

Postby dodecahedron on Sat Dec 06, 2003 1:47 pm

yep!
i did read the FAQs and stickies at http://forum.firmware-flash.com/portal.php so i know about that. thanks anyway.
One Ring to rule them all, One Ring to find them,
One Ring to bring them all and in the darkness bind them
In the land of Mordor, where the Shadows lie
-- JRRT
M.C. Escher - Reptilien
User avatar
dodecahedron
DVD Polygon
 
Posts: 6865
Joined: Sat Mar 09, 2002 12:04 am
Location: Israel

Postby dhc014 on Sat Dec 06, 2003 2:54 pm

Did you find the true FAQ yet? It's still a work in progress, there's a lot more to cover... There's a little bit on Toshiba drives that might help, but not a lot yet. Toshiba drives are not as safe to mess around with as some drives that you might be used to, but whatever you want to do...

http://forum.rpc1.org/faq_index.php
dhc014
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 1368
Joined: Sat Jun 22, 2002 10:36 pm

Postby dodecahedron on Sat Dec 06, 2003 4:28 pm

thanks for the link, dave, i hadn't seen that!
where is it linked to?
it's not on the forum main page. it's not on rpc1.org's main page.
it's not in the Firmware flashing help forum.
OK found this: http://forum.rpc1.org/viewtopic.php?t=20504
but really you shout put it up somewhere visible!

i'll read it over.

i haven't have much experience with flashing drives at all.
hence part of the reason i want to flash my Toshiba.

what i mean to do is:
is the procedure i outlined in my post:
1. flash the drive back to firmware 1004 from rpc1.org. first setting the drive as master alone on its IDE channel. then flash 1004 fw from a FAT32 partition.
2. after i've flashed the 1004 the drive should be RPC 2, with no zone selected yet and 4 changes remaining (Nero InfoTool for example).
3. after it's back to 1004, i should play a DVD disc just so that it sets the zone.
4. now flash it with the hacked firmware from http://hijacker.rpc1.org/toshiba_nolimit and the instructions there.

does that sound OK to you? with some help from Han i think i've got everything figured out and i think i understand what i need to do etc.
any special warnings or tips?
what do you mean by "Toshiba drives are not as safe to mess around with as some drives that you might be used to" ?
One Ring to rule them all, One Ring to find them,
One Ring to bring them all and in the darkness bind them
In the land of Mordor, where the Shadows lie
-- JRRT
M.C. Escher - Reptilien
User avatar
dodecahedron
DVD Polygon
 
Posts: 6865
Joined: Sat Mar 09, 2002 12:04 am
Location: Israel

Postby dhc014 on Sat Dec 06, 2003 4:59 pm

dodecahedron wrote:what do you mean by "Toshiba drives are not as safe to mess around with as some drives that you might be used to" ?


There's nothing like mtkflash for Toshiba drives. Your only hope of recovering a dead drive is to try to hotswap.
dhc014
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 1368
Joined: Sat Jun 22, 2002 10:36 pm

Postby dodecahedron on Sat Dec 06, 2003 8:02 pm

OK you're comparing with Lite-On drives then :wink:
most drives don't have some mtkflash magic! :D
One Ring to rule them all, One Ring to find them,
One Ring to bring them all and in the darkness bind them
In the land of Mordor, where the Shadows lie
-- JRRT
M.C. Escher - Reptilien
User avatar
dodecahedron
DVD Polygon
 
Posts: 6865
Joined: Sat Mar 09, 2002 12:04 am
Location: Israel

Postby dodecahedron on Sat Dec 06, 2003 8:04 pm

i hope i don't fry my drive, but i don't see why anything should go wrong (barring a power failure).
doesn't my outline 2 posts up sound correct?
One Ring to rule them all, One Ring to find them,
One Ring to bring them all and in the darkness bind them
In the land of Mordor, where the Shadows lie
-- JRRT
M.C. Escher - Reptilien
User avatar
dodecahedron
DVD Polygon
 
Posts: 6865
Joined: Sat Mar 09, 2002 12:04 am
Location: Israel

Postby dodecahedron on Sun Dec 07, 2003 7:53 am

OK.

flashed my Toshiba to 1004 - no problems.
(used the WinME boot disk by >NIL: )
flashed it to J004 - no problems!
it's RPC I, all is well! :P 8)

thanks again to everyone who'se helped out, Han most especially.

(my my, looking over the topic, it almost looks like private a conversation between me and Han! :o :D
hope this turns out to be useful for others too)
One Ring to rule them all, One Ring to find them,
One Ring to bring them all and in the darkness bind them
In the land of Mordor, where the Shadows lie
-- JRRT
M.C. Escher - Reptilien
User avatar
dodecahedron
DVD Polygon
 
Posts: 6865
Joined: Sat Mar 09, 2002 12:04 am
Location: Israel

Postby Han on Sun Dec 07, 2003 12:40 pm

Now then, did you get rid of Region Tab in Device Manager? :wink:
User avatar
Han
CD-RW PiMP
 
Posts: 569
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2001 2:34 pm

Postby dodecahedron on Sun Dec 07, 2003 1:37 pm

(silly of me, forgot to mention that)

no, it's still there.
it was there both after flashing to 1004 and after reflashing to J004.
right now it says Current Region 2 - makes sense i played a DVD before flashing to J004 (as per instructions) and also after just to make sure all's OK.
007 Die Another Day.

says 1 remaining change... i wonder what will happen if i change twice!

anyway i have to use RegionKiller or DVD Genie.
which do you use/prefer?
One Ring to rule them all, One Ring to find them,
One Ring to bring them all and in the darkness bind them
In the land of Mordor, where the Shadows lie
-- JRRT
M.C. Escher - Reptilien
User avatar
dodecahedron
DVD Polygon
 
Posts: 6865
Joined: Sat Mar 09, 2002 12:04 am
Location: Israel

Postby Han on Sun Dec 07, 2003 4:29 pm

dodecahedron wrote:
Han wrote:Now then, did you get rid of Region Tab in Device Manager? :wink:

no, it's still there.
it was there both after flashing to 1004 and after reflashing to J004.

As we expected... :roll: I hope you've removed "Toshiba" IDE channel from Device Manager after firmware changes...

dodecahedron wrote:anyway i have to use RegionKiller or DVD Genie.
which do you use/prefer?

For some reason I don't have to use any of them. :P You may also try AnyDVD.
User avatar
Han
CD-RW PiMP
 
Posts: 569
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2001 2:34 pm

Previous

Return to CD-ROM and DVD-ROM Drives

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

All Content is Copyright (c) 2001-2017 CDRLabs Inc.