Home News Reviews Forums Shop


Whats the easiest way to check manufacturer of new CDRs?

Burn baby burn!

Whats the easiest way to check manufacturer of new CDRs?

Postby dforion on Mon Mar 31, 2003 3:12 pm

Has anyone confirmed the FUJI 100 pk @ Officemax are T-Y? This actually is a stack of two 50's spindles.

http://www.officemax.com/max/solutions/ ... =537076626

Its been awhile but as I recall, the TY's had a big round knob on top of the spindle - these don't.

Where can I D/L the basic utility that will identify the manufacturer?

Thanks!
dforion
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Tue Feb 19, 2002 7:31 pm

Re: Whats the easiest way to check manufacturer of new CDRs?

Postby Ian on Mon Mar 31, 2003 3:14 pm

DFORION wrote:Its been awhile but as I recall, the TY's had a big round knob on top of the spindle - these don't.

Where can I D/L the basic utility that will identify the manufacturer?

Thanks!


They used to have the big knob, but they changed the packaging. Don't worry, the Fuji's are TY's.

Download CDSpeed (www.cdspeed2000.com). It now has a media identifier built in. Will do DVD discs too.
"Blu-ray is just a bag of hurt." - Steve Jobs
User avatar
Ian
Grand Poobah
 
Posts: 14882
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2001 2:34 pm
Location: Madison, WI

Re: Whats the easiest way to check manufacturer of new CDRs?

Postby cfitz on Mon Mar 31, 2003 4:13 pm

DFORION wrote:Where can I D/L the basic utility that will identify the manufacturer?

The SMART-BURN utility from LiteOn, among others, will also identify media:

http://www.liteonit.com.tw/zip/SMARTBURN.zip

As for whether or not those are TY, as Ian said, yes they are. Here is a link showing the new packaging:

http://www.cdrlabs.com/phpBB/viewtopic. ... 9020#39020

cfitz
cfitz
CD-RW Curmudgeon
 
Posts: 4572
Joined: Sat Jul 27, 2002 10:44 am

CDspeed reports "No CD-ROM drive installed"

Postby dforion on Mon Mar 31, 2003 4:28 pm

Download CDSpeed (www.cdspeed2000.com). It now has a media identifier built in. Will do DVD discs too.


Thanks Ian! I'm on a new work computer running Windows XP Pro, with a Toshiba CDROM (no cdrw) per Device Manager. I installed CDspeed and the new wnaspi32.dll. But the program reports "No CD-ROM drive installed". SMARTBURN.EXE reports it can't find the ATAPI drive. Could this be an incompatibility with XP?

I realize you're far away but do you have any suggestions around this, perhaps a different program to D/L?

Thanks!
dforion
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Tue Feb 19, 2002 7:31 pm

Postby cfitz on Mon Mar 31, 2003 4:31 pm

CD-ROM drives can't read the ATIP information that contains the media indentifier (among other information), so no program will work. You need to put the disc in a CD-RW drive.

cfitz
cfitz
CD-RW Curmudgeon
 
Posts: 4572
Joined: Sat Jul 27, 2002 10:44 am


Return to CD-R/CD-RW Drives

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

All Content is Copyright (c) 2001-2017 CDRLabs Inc.