Home News Reviews Forums Shop

DVD+-R/RW vs RAM

DVD-R/W, DVD+R/RW, DVD-RAM

DVD+-R/RW vs RAM

Postby Roberto on Sat Feb 14, 2004 11:44 pm

Hi,
I'm new to DVD burners, but have done a little reading. However, I can't seem to find a good explanation of the Random Access feature of DVD-RAM. Is there any real advantage to DVD-RAM, or is it going the way of the Betamax? I looking at a Plextor 708a for burning CDs, archiving photos, backing up files and burning an occasional movie. The other option is a LG with RAM capability, but it doesn't perform near as well as the Plextor in other areas, especially CD writing. What does RAM offer, other than more rewrites?
Thanks
Roberto
Buffer Underrun

Postby jpuntel on Sun Feb 15, 2004 12:46 am

This is only my opinion based on some facts. DVD-RAM technology is a fledgling of Panasonic and is about 10 years old. Until recently it could only write at 2X and these days 3X. It's age alone steers me away from any intrest in what it may offer. I read somewhere that the -R camp (Panasonic, Toshiba, Samsung) were going to push this format hard in the next year. It could be argued that being a decade old would mean it's well established in the market. I'm also not sure about its write quality. I think the media is pricey as well. Wether or not it's better at re-writes, I don't know. Plextor, Pioneer, NEC, Lite-On,etc. offer the latest ang the greatest, thats where my hard earned dollars are going. Good Luck
jpuntel
CD-RW Thug

Postby dolphinius_rex on Sun Feb 15, 2004 1:12 am

DVD-RAM is insane quality since every time you burn, it also double checks the burn quality at the same time. You pay for this feature in speed though :cry:

DVD-RAM is getting faster though, and expects to hit 16x by the end of 2005 accoridng to Maxell, who is working directly with LG and Panasonic in the strengthening of the DVD-RAM market.

DVD-RAM is the most popular format in Japan for home entertainment system recorders, along with DVD-R.