Home News Reviews Forums Shop

An Introduction to DVDScan v0.04 for LiteOn drives

General discussion about recordable CD, DVD and BD media and write quality testing.

An Introduction to DVDScan v0.04 for LiteOn drives

Postby MediumRare on Sat Jul 15, 2006 6:01 pm

There's been a lot of action at CDFreaks the last while with 2 LiteOn employees (Wind and Tom) contributing test firmware versions with new capabilities (Hypertuning, Online Hypertuning, etc) and a new toy, DVDScan, that can do various kinds of disc diagnostics. I think these things really add to the value of newer LiteOn drives and would like to share some of my experience with them, primarily with DVDScan.

I've tried to add a short description of what the various tests measure. Please note that this is my understanding of the subject- I'm a physicist and not a technical expert on optical drives.

Since the LiteOn guys are doing this on their own time, please share any insights and experience with them. They monitor and contribute to 2 threads at CDFreaks:
New Toy: DVDScan and Feedback Here:
Online Hyper Tuning Test Firmware and Results here:

DVDScan:

What is DVDScan
DVDScan is a disc analysis tool written by a LiteOn employee Tom (Wind acts as his spokesman in addition to his work on firmware). It offers various diagnostics for DVD media:
  • PI/PIF with PI or PISum8. This reports the activity of the error correction
  • Jitter and timing analysis, describes the variation of the lengths of the pits and lands from the ideal values
  • Beta (asymmetry of short and long pits/lands)
  • TE/FE (tracking error and focus error)
Although CD and BD are shown as disc types, neither is supported at present. The tool shows the MID of the DVD medium inserted.

What is required
To run DVD-Speed you need:
  • the program (:wink:)
    The newest version will generally be linked in the first post in the CDFreaks thread New Toy: DVDScan and Feedback Here.