Home News Reviews Forums Shop


LG RD-2030 CDMA 1X mobile internet problem.

Anything else

LG RD-2030 CDMA 1X mobile internet problem.

Postby pranav81 on Tue Nov 25, 2003 2:30 am

Hi all,
I have a dial-up connection at my home.I use a Intel V.92 internal modem to connect to the internet.I have a Reliance IndiaMobile LG RD-2030 CDMA 1X handset,which can be used to connect to the internet wirelessly.I bought a USB kit yesterday that helps me connect the handset and connect to the internet.But when I installed the accompanying software everything went fine,even the internet connection worked fine.But today when I tried connecting the normal dial-up connection,Windows XP SP1 said that the port is already in use.I then checked the settings and saw that the Intel Modem was considered at COM3 port and the LG USB modem was at the same COM3 port.I then removed and installed the Intel modem.It connected,but the other failed.
Thus when one works fine,other fails.I tried changing PCI slots of the internal modem without any positive results.
Waiting for some positive posts....
Thanks in advance...


::Pranav::
User avatar
pranav81
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 1160
Joined: Thu Dec 05, 2002 6:57 am
Location: Solapur,Maharashtra,India

Postby treemana on Tue Nov 25, 2003 6:16 am

pranav81, it sounds like both devices are set to use COM3. You need to tell one of them to use another port. (i.e. COM4, it you're not already using that one.)

On some of the older cards, there were switches that had to be set to tell the card what COM port to use. Most of the newer ones, (i.e. Plug and Play) the COM port is set via software.

For example, to change the COM port on my current modem, I would go to the "Device Manager" (I also use XP). I would then find my modem in the list of devices, right click on it and select "Properties". Under "Advanced Port Settings" there is a drop-down menu that I can use to select the desired COM port. The device manager should also inform you if one device conflicts with another. (i.e. If you change it to COM4, but another device it using that one.)

I hope this helps. Good luck.
I used to be indecisive, but now I'm not so sure...
User avatar
treemana
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 134
Joined: Sat Oct 11, 2003 1:43 am
Location: CA, USA

Postby pranav81 on Tue Nov 25, 2003 9:39 am

Thanks a lot treemana.I will try doing that when I get home and let you know the results.
Thanks a lot.
See ya later,


::Pranav::
User avatar
pranav81
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 1160
Joined: Thu Dec 05, 2002 6:57 am
Location: Solapur,Maharashtra,India

Postby pranav81 on Tue Nov 25, 2003 2:35 pm

Thanks a lot treemana.You were right when you suggested that to me.Both the connections do work beautifully together.
Thanks a lot,


::Pranav::
User avatar
pranav81
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 1160
Joined: Thu Dec 05, 2002 6:57 am
Location: Solapur,Maharashtra,India

Postby treemana on Wed Nov 26, 2003 3:27 am

You're welcome. I'm glad I could help.
I used to be indecisive, but now I'm not so sure...
User avatar
treemana
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 134
Joined: Sat Oct 11, 2003 1:43 am
Location: CA, USA


Return to General Software Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

All Content is Copyright (c) 2001-2017 CDRLabs Inc.