Home News Reviews Forums Shop


p4 2.4ghz cpu shows up as 1.8ghz

CPU's? Motherboards? Video cards? Talk about it here.

p4 2.4ghz cpu shows up as 1.8ghz

Postby kpassman on Thu Mar 20, 2003 10:38 pm

I just got a cpu/mobo combo (p4 2.4ghz and ecs mobo).

When I boot up it shows 1.8 ghz in the bios. I booted up windows xp and for system properties under computer it had three lines (one line said p4, the other said 2.4ghz, and the third line said 1.8ghz)

I messed around with the jumpers and changed it from default 100m cpu frequency to 133m. At 133m it shows 2.4ghz but it freezes after the boot screen. what could be causing this?

I asked some people and they told me that this was probably due to my weak powersupply (250watts) are they correct?
kpassman
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Tue Feb 25, 2003 5:29 am

Re: p4 2.4ghz cpu shows up as 1.8ghz

Postby BuddhaTB on Thu Mar 20, 2003 11:51 pm

kpassman wrote: I asked some people and they told me that this was probably due to my weak powersupply (250watts) are they correct?

Yup, you need atleast 350-400 watts for a P4. Your system is very under powered right now. Go out and get a new PSU and everything should be fine.
User avatar
BuddhaTB
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 1865
Joined: Thu Aug 22, 2002 8:50 pm
Location: Southern California (LA & Orange County)

Postby CowboySlim on Fri Mar 21, 2003 1:12 am

Hey BuddaTB,

That smells like a Fry's deal. Is that so kpassman? BuddaTB's advice is OK if you are going to get a new PSU. However, I'm running a 1.8 P4 on 300w of Antec (one of the better brands) without a problem. It dates back to when I had 1gig of Celeron. With respect to BuddaTB's advice, if I were to get a new one today, yes, 350 - 400w.

If you have 250w of noname PSU and a good mobo, get 350 - 400w of Antec. OTH, I've heard bad things about the ECS mobo. If it's a Fry's deal, I'd take it back. Get an Intel board at MWAVE. BuddaTB will take you there, he lives around the corner.

Good night all,
Slim
User avatar
CowboySlim
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 1868
Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2003 3:58 pm
Location: Huntington Beach, CA

Postby BuddhaTB on Fri Mar 21, 2003 1:32 am

Like Slim said, it can be either a bad mobo or a bad PSU. But that PSU is seriously not providing enough power to your system. Get something from Antec or Enermax. They may cost you more, but its quality that counts here.
User avatar
BuddhaTB
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 1865
Joined: Thu Aug 22, 2002 8:50 pm
Location: Southern California (LA & Orange County)

Postby kpassman on Fri Mar 21, 2003 3:42 am

i paid $169+tax for a p4 2.4 ghz with a ecs p4vxasd2+

is, i mean was that a good deal??

oh yeah, hey budda... hows a bout a ride???
kpassman
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Tue Feb 25, 2003 5:29 am

Postby CowboySlim on Fri Mar 21, 2003 6:15 pm

Of course it's a good deal, based on cost alone.


The p4 sells alone for $175.
The ECS mobo sells alone for $55.

So you got the mobo for free. But why is that mobo 1/2 price of an Intel? Probably a POS.

3 things in life:
There is no such thing as a free lunch.
If it's too good to be true, it isn't.
You don't get something for nothing.

I'd take that mobo back to Fry's with another $55 and get an Intel.

Slim
User avatar
CowboySlim
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 1868
Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2003 3:58 pm
Location: Huntington Beach, CA

Postby CowboySlim on Fri Mar 21, 2003 6:58 pm

What kind of memory are you using, SDR or DDR?

Those ECS boards support either. However, according to the buzz, they don't support either as well as other boards support one.

Slim
Who doesn't like being the bearer of sad tidings, but that's how he sees it.
User avatar
CowboySlim
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 1868
Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2003 3:58 pm
Location: Huntington Beach, CA

Re: p4 2.4ghz cpu shows up as 1.8ghz

Postby TidusTheCoolest on Mon May 19, 2003 2:18 am

kpassman wrote: I asked some people and they told me that this was probably due to my weak powersupply (250watts) are they correct?


I don't think it's because of the power supply . My PC is P4 2.4 Ghz . I used a 230 watts Power Supply and there's no such problem . I've even overclocked it to 2.7 Ghz without problem . :D
User avatar
TidusTheCoolest
CD-RW Thug
 
Posts: 96
Joined: Wed Sep 11, 2002 11:51 pm
Location: Japan

Postby blakerwry on Mon May 19, 2003 11:30 am

Well, there is quite difference between a cheap PSU and a quality PSU.

I know for a fact that a 200watt PSU can power a 3.06 P4 w/ HT2, GB DDR333, and a 7200rpm disk with a Radeon 9000. A guy I know has 4 such setups.

But alot of that is the mobo you have, and how well it is at managing power.
User avatar
blakerwry
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 185
Joined: Fri Jun 21, 2002 5:45 pm

Postby TidusTheCoolest on Mon May 19, 2003 2:20 pm

blakerwry wrote:Well, there is quite difference between a cheap PSU and a quality PSU.

I know for a fact that a 200watt PSU can power a 3.06 P4 w/ HT2, GB DDR333, and a 7200rpm disk with a Radeon 9000. A guy I know has 4 such setups.

But alot of that is the mobo you have, and how well it is at managing power.


So , how much PSU power do I need ?

Currently my spec is :

Pentium 4 2.4 Ghz (Overclocked to 2.7 Ghz)
Jetway PX266E-8235 Mobo
256 MB PC 2100 DDRAM (Goin' to upgrade to 768 MB)
10.2 GB 5400 rpm HDD (Goin' to upgrade to 80 GB 7200 rpm 8 MB cache)
64 MB DDR MSI GeForce 2 MX 400 (Goin' to upgrade to somethin' with direct x 9.0)
52X CD-ROM Drive (Goin' to upgrade to 4x DVD-RW)
10/100 Network Card
User avatar
TidusTheCoolest
CD-RW Thug
 
Posts: 96
Joined: Wed Sep 11, 2002 11:51 pm
Location: Japan

Postby blakerwry on Fri May 23, 2003 9:52 am

i dunno, never used a jetway (aka ECS, aka PCChips, aka crap) motherboard. I'd imagine the best deal would be on an Antec SL350, if you want a PSU that will last you a little longer go for a true380.

But like I said, that motherboard brand is known for being crappy. Your problem may not be the PSU at all... but with a crappy baord it could be anything. Crappy boards are known for needing good powersupplies to make up for their poor power circuitry.

Either way, I'd not recomend buying an ATX p4 mobo without getting atleast a good quality 300watt PSU w/ it.

Maybe the best thing to do would be to buy a decent PSU (like the Antec SL350) and then if your problems remain getting a new mobo.
User avatar
blakerwry
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 185
Joined: Fri Jun 21, 2002 5:45 pm

Postby jedimc on Fri May 30, 2003 7:37 am

Wat is the minumim power supply needed for pentuim 3 and celeron cpu's with 1ghz to 1.8ghz
I have a LG GCE-8520B 52/24/52
and Samsung CD-ROM SC-148T
User avatar
jedimc
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 136
Joined: Thu Apr 03, 2003 6:33 am
Location: Australia

Postby blakerwry on Wed Jun 11, 2003 4:11 am

As I stated earlier, depends on the motherboard(and the rest of the stuff in the PC). I have a pIII 650 that runs on a ~170watt PSU... that doesn't mean I'd recomend it to you. The best deal might be on a 300-350 watt PSU. I'd buy something AMD recommended and p4 compatible. Enermax, Antec, Fortron, and Sparkle are some names to look for.
User avatar
blakerwry
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 185
Joined: Fri Jun 21, 2002 5:45 pm

Postby jedimc on Fri Jun 13, 2003 3:16 am

is it easy to install a new power supply.
I have a LG GCE-8520B 52/24/52
and Samsung CD-ROM SC-148T
User avatar
jedimc
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 136
Joined: Thu Apr 03, 2003 6:33 am
Location: Australia

Postby hjs on Fri Jun 13, 2003 6:20 am

jedimc wrote:is it easy to install a new power supply.


yes, just pull out the plugs & unscrew.
User avatar
hjs
CD-RW Thug
 
Posts: 84
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2002 10:57 am
Location: Zwaag, the Netherlands

Postby jedimc on Fri Jun 13, 2003 7:03 am

When i was trying to un plug the power to my cd-rom it was stuck and would'nt come out, is there a special way to unplug them.
I have a LG GCE-8520B 52/24/52
and Samsung CD-ROM SC-148T
User avatar
jedimc
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 136
Joined: Thu Apr 03, 2003 6:33 am
Location: Australia

Postby hjs on Fri Jun 13, 2003 8:51 am

more force ;)
User avatar
hjs
CD-RW Thug
 
Posts: 84
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2002 10:57 am
Location: Zwaag, the Netherlands


Return to General Hardware Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron
All Content is Copyright (c) 2001-2017 CDRLabs Inc.