Home News Reviews Forums Shop


AMD Announces Availability of Phenom II X6 Processor

CPU's? Motherboards? Video cards? Talk about it here.

AMD Announces Availability of Phenom II X6 Processor

Postby Ian on Tue Apr 27, 2010 8:46 am

I think its time for me to upgrade....

AMD announced the immediate availability of the AMD Phenom™ II X6 processor and AMD 890FX chipset ushering in a new era of immersive 3D entertainment and visualization. Trailblazing consumers seeking immersive 3D entertainment and high definition multi-monitor display now can affordably upgrade to six-core performance and award-winning ATI Radeon™ HD 5000 series graphics. Today also marks the availability of the flagship AMD Phenom™ II X6 1090T Black Edition processor, AMD’s fastest and most tunable desktop processor ever.

“With AMD Phenom II X6 processors, discerning customers can build an incredible, immersive entertainment system and content creation powerhouse,” said Bob Grim, director of Client Platform Marketing at AMD. “AMD is answering the call for elite desktop PC performance and features at an affordable price.”

AMD Phenom II X6 processors feature new Turbo CORE technology that transfers performance to three dedicated cores operating at higher frequency. AMD Phenom II X6 processors can shift to Turbo mode for demanding games and productivity software which may employ two or three cores, or shift back to six real cores for the demands of core-hungry content creation and immersive 3D applications.

Systems based on the AMD Phenom II X6 processor and the AMD 8-series chipsets are immediately available in North America from BOXX, iBuyPower, CyberPower, Systemax, MainGear, NCS Technology, Velocity Micro, and ZT Systems. AMD Phenom II X6 processors and AMD 8-series chipsets are available on motherboards sold by online retailers NCIX, Newegg, TigerDirect, and ZipZoomFly.

• The AMD Phenom II X6 processor works with existing AM3 and AM2+ socket motherboards with proper BIOS support, making these processors an easy upgrade
• With the new AMD OverDrive™ 3.2.1, computer enthusiasts can tune system performance, customize settings, and tune memory performance for the latest AMD platforms with the new AMD Phenom II X6 processor1
• The AMD 890FX chipset is the premier complement to the AMD Phenom II X6 processor, featuring ATI CrossFireX™ technology, and is ready for up to four ATI Radeon HD graphics cards and award winning ATI EyeFinity multiple-display technology2
• All of the necessary components to build a complete AMD-based system featuring the AMD Phenom II X6 processor can be purchased for less than the price of our competition’s only six-core desktop processor3
• The AMD 890FX with SB850 chipset includes the latest SATA 6Gb/s hard drive interface, Gigabit Ethernet, HyperTransport™ 3.0 technology, and PCI Express® Generation 2.0 designed to provide high performance data flow
• Many AMD 890FX-based motherboards feature SuperSpeed USB 3.0, quickly synchronizing and transferring digital media files on the new generation of USB 3.0 devices
"Blu-ray is just a bag of hurt." - Steve Jobs
User avatar
Ian
Grand Poobah
 
Posts: 14882
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2001 2:34 pm
Location: Madison, WI

Re: AMD Announces Availability of Phenom II X6 Processor

Postby Dartman on Tue Apr 27, 2010 11:09 am

Yep, me too. Been running a original 9600 quad core, the one with the bug, pretty successfully for a while now and the AsusM3A32 deluxe board its on supposedly supports AM3 chips so I wouldn't have to upgrade everything else as well like memory.
Guess I'll have to bug my geek friend for a while till he gets some in and feels charitable :P
Watch for combo deals on Fry's and other places as I've seen some smokin prices on board and basic starter 6core chips on the deal sites like slick deals.
They claim the hit from using a older board and DDR2 memory isn't significant either so probably a great upgrade for guys like me with the older but upgradeable boards.
Thanks for the heads up Ian!
User avatar
Dartman
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 1549
Joined: Sun May 26, 2002 2:13 pm
Location: USA

Re: AMD Announces Availability of Phenom II X6 Processor

Postby SithTracy on Tue Apr 27, 2010 1:26 pm

I'm pretty excited about this as well, but will probably wait until next spring to build a new rig. Running a Phenom II X4 940 on a 790FX chip-set now and am pretty happy with how it performs.
User avatar
SithTracy
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 600
Joined: Wed Jan 03, 2007 6:18 pm
Location: S.E. WI, U.S.A.

Re: AMD Announces Availability of Phenom II X6 Processor

Postby redk9258 on Tue Apr 27, 2010 3:25 pm

Dartman wrote: Been running a original 9600 quad core, the one with the bug...


What bug. I'm running Q9400 Core 2 Quad. Does this also have a bug?

EDIT. Nevermind you are talking of an AMD, right? I have Intel.
User avatar
redk9258
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 374
Joined: Sun Oct 12, 2003 12:44 pm
Location: Troy, Illinois

Re: AMD Announces Availability of Phenom II X6 Processor

Postby Dartman on Tue Apr 27, 2010 3:31 pm

YEP, AMD, one of their first quads, works fine but will occasionally throw a BSOD. Doesn't happen very often and could just be all the stuff loaded in here as many boards have a work around for it that I'm not sure I ever enabled.
User avatar
Dartman
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 1549
Joined: Sun May 26, 2002 2:13 pm
Location: USA

Re: AMD Announces Availability of Phenom II X6 Processor

Postby Ian on Tue Apr 27, 2010 5:03 pm

I don't play many games on my PC anymore so my 9950 works fine. I would like to get a new motherboard that supports the new USB and SATA specs though.
"Blu-ray is just a bag of hurt." - Steve Jobs
User avatar
Ian
Grand Poobah
 
Posts: 14882
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2001 2:34 pm
Location: Madison, WI

Re: AMD Announces Availability of Phenom II X6 Processor

Postby Dartman on Tue Apr 27, 2010 5:36 pm

Well neither do I but I'm doing a lot more video recoding and using my media player a lot, and I do like a good game occasionally when one I like comes out for a good price.
I agree the newer goodies would be nice but we'll see whether I end up with something else soon or not. I just won a 4 port SATA card on Ebay that SHOULD be able to support optical drives and SATA 300 hard drives if I use the right firmware and drivers in it. Getting tired of having to decide what toy gets to stay and what has to come out as I'm outa ports and the Via 6421a isn't playing nice with win7 any more.
If I can get DDR3 memory cheap enough there are some newer boards out now that have 6 SATA 300 ports and 2 600 ports which would give me enough to load this box back up with toys and probably not need a extra card.
I do have a ATI 3870x2 video card that still does pretty well though and this board has 4 pcie16 video card slots if I ever wanted to go nuts on a gamer system... :-^
User avatar
Dartman
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 1549
Joined: Sun May 26, 2002 2:13 pm
Location: USA


Return to General Hardware Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron
All Content is Copyright (c) 2001-2017 CDRLabs Inc.