Home News Reviews Forums Shop


Re: AOL Software

CPU's? Motherboards? Video cards? Talk about it here.

Re: AOL Software

Postby seaegg on Fri Jun 04, 2004 1:36 am

I have a burning question. My sister in Florida's Cable service provider is Time Warner and her Internet provider is AOL but she is billed by Time Warner for all her cable and Internet and not by AOL. What I want to know is if she absolutely has to install AOL software to access email and the Internet. I know here in Canada as soon as your cable modem is activated you are online and never had to install any software from Shaw. I would love it if she could uninstall that bloated spyware from her computer because then I wouldn't have her running up her phone bill calling me in Canada for hours on end talking about her computer problems and seeking help. The other thing that totally amazed me is that while we were talking today she ran a full virus scan using Norton and it took an hour and a half to finish. I couldn't believe it. When I scan my computer with Panda it takes less than 10 minutes. The other thing is according to Norton she has over 200,000 files on her computer I only have 47,000 and I have a ton load more stuff installed on mine than she does. I'm convinced this is related to the AOL software. Can anyone shed any light on this whole AOL installation thing?
Thanking you in advance.
Scientia Est Potentia
seaegg
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 274
Joined: Thu Jul 05, 2001 8:00 pm
Location: Winnipeg, MB Canada

Postby dodecahedron on Fri Jun 04, 2004 1:46 am

you might want to try this question also in a forum about security/spamware, they'll probably know a lot about this.

www.net-integration.net

maybe also:

www.spywareinfo.com
One Ring to rule them all, One Ring to find them,
One Ring to bring them all and in the darkness bind them
In the land of Mordor, where the Shadows lie
-- JRRT
M.C. Escher - Reptilien
User avatar
dodecahedron
DVD Polygon
 
Posts: 6865
Joined: Sat Mar 09, 2002 12:04 am
Location: Israel

Postby pranav81 on Fri Jun 04, 2004 2:20 am

I basically trust Norton more than Panda.


::Pranav::
Increasingly mathematics will demand the courage to face its implications.
User avatar
pranav81
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 1160
Joined: Thu Dec 05, 2002 6:57 am
Location: Solapur,Maharashtra,India

Postby hoxlund on Fri Jun 04, 2004 3:55 am

since "Staples" brand anti-virus is Panda platinum ed.

ive been getting some weird feelings about it

ive already had to do 1 free tech support on a customer's computer, because (he says) it screwed up his computer

like it will slow down and crash it, which i witnessed first hand

i uninstalled it and it ran fine, i installed "free" :-$ mcafee anti-virus and it still worked fine

p.s. just wanted to sneak this in there: :robot:
Fractal Design Define R5 White Window Case
Corsair RM1000 Power Supply
MSI X99A XPower AC USB 3.1 Motherboard
Intel i7-5930K CPU @ 4.8GHz
Corsair H100i GTX 240mm CPU Cooler
Mushkin Blackline 4x8GB DDR4 2400 Memory
Asus 980Ti Strix OC
User avatar
hoxlund
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 3706
Joined: Mon May 27, 2002 12:55 am
Location: RAF Lakenheath / Suffolk United Kingdom


Return to General Hardware Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

All Content is Copyright (c) 2001-2016 CDRLabs Inc.