Home News Reviews Forums Shop


Artifacts when using Nero Showtime - PROBLEM SOLVED!!!

Nero Burning ROM, Nero Express, NeroVision Express, Recode, InCD, etc..

Artifacts when using Nero Showtime - PROBLEM SOLVED!!!

Postby stuboyle on Thu Aug 19, 2004 1:14 pm

Problem Solved - See my last post

I recently purchased a Sony DVD Burner which came with Nero Showtime. Playing original DVD movies with Nero Showtime gives me artifacts. Playing the same movie with a player which came on one of the DVD movies resulted in no artifacts. This seems to isolate the problem being Nero Showtime.

I played with various setting in Nero Showtime but nothing seemed to help. CPU usage when playing the movie as displayed in the Windows Task Manager does not exceed 60%.

Does anyone have suggestions?

My system specs:

AMD Athlon XP 3200+
521mb PC-3500 RAM
nVidia Geforce4 Ti4600 video card
WinXP with DirectX version 9.0b

Thanks,

Stuart
Last edited by stuboyle on Tue Aug 31, 2004 10:10 pm, edited 3 times in total.
stuboyle
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Aug 19, 2004 12:25 pm

Postby CCampbell on Thu Aug 19, 2004 3:49 pm

What version of Nero ShowTime do you have?

Do you have the same issue with AVI or MPEG files you play using the Nero ShowTime software?

Regards,

Craig
CCampbell
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 966
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2002 9:27 pm
Location: Glendale, CA

Postby stuboyle on Thu Aug 19, 2004 10:14 pm

CCampbell wrote:What version of Nero ShowTime do you have?

Do you have the same issue with AVI or MPEG files you play using the Nero ShowTime software?

Regards,

Craig


Nero ShowTime version 1.5.0.25 (Obtained from the Nero InfoTool).

AVI and WMV files play fine. I don't have any MPEGs so I can't test this.
stuboyle
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Aug 19, 2004 12:25 pm

Postby CCampbell on Fri Aug 20, 2004 3:34 pm

Please upgrade to our latest NeroVision 2.1.2.18, this will also upgrade you to Nero Showtime 1.5.0.37

See if this resolves your issue.

Regards,

Craig
CCampbell
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 966
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2002 9:27 pm
Location: Glendale, CA

Postby stuboyle on Sat Aug 21, 2004 3:33 pm

CCampbell wrote:Please upgrade to our latest NeroVision 2.1.2.18, this will also upgrade you to Nero Showtime 1.5.0.37


Upgraded per your instructions to 1.5.0.37. Still have artifacts.
stuboyle
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Aug 19, 2004 12:25 pm

Tried another program

Postby stuboyle on Sun Aug 22, 2004 10:53 pm

I download WinDVD 6 to try and got no artifacts. Play Nero Showtime again and still had artifacts.
stuboyle
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Aug 19, 2004 12:25 pm

Postby stuboyle on Mon Aug 23, 2004 8:21 am

I saw a reference to turn-off or turning-down hardware accelation in the help files, so I tried that. This didn't work. I still have artifacts.
stuboyle
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Aug 19, 2004 12:25 pm

Postby CCampbell on Mon Aug 23, 2004 2:27 pm

Hi Stuboyle,

Could you send me an Email at techsupport4@nero.com and include the file created by our Nero InfoTool utility so we can get your system configuration?

And does this occur with any source AVI, MPEG, etc as well as any DVD-Video disc? I believe you indicate it does, but I just wish to be 100% sure before we begin looking into this and try duplicating your issue.

Regards,

Craig
CCampbell
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 966
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2002 9:27 pm
Location: Glendale, CA

Thanks!

Postby stuboyle on Mon Aug 23, 2004 3:33 pm

Craig:

Thank you very much for your assistance. I will do as you instructed.

Stuart Boyle
stuboyle
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Aug 19, 2004 12:25 pm

Problem Solved

Postby stuboyle on Tue Aug 31, 2004 10:09 pm

Craig, are you out there?

I have a Sony DRU-700A DVD RW drive. After flashing the firmware from "VY02" to "VY05", the artifact problem when playing DVD movies in Nero Showtime went away.

Now why this firmware upgrade was necessary for Nero Showtime to work correctly and not the other players I tried is beyond me.

Stuart
stuboyle
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Aug 19, 2004 12:25 pm

Re: Problem Solved

Postby tazdevl on Wed Sep 01, 2004 3:27 am

stuboyle wrote:Craig, are you out there?

I have a Sony DRU-700A DVD RW drive. After flashing the firmware from "VY02" to "VY05", the artifact problem when playing DVD movies in Nero Showtime went away.

Now why this firmware upgrade was necessary for Nero Showtime to work correctly and not the other players I tried is beyond me.

Stuart


Because the issue could have been with the player, not the software. Always check first for firmware, software and driver updates.
RIG:
P4 2.6C, Thermalright SP94/Panaflo 92MM M1A, IC7 Max3, Swifty MCX159, 1GB Geil PC4000 Ultra Plat, Radeon 8500, Audigy 2, 2X WD Raptor RAID 0, WD 250GB SE, Plex 708A, 166SDVD, LianLi PC75, XP Pro.
User avatar
tazdevl
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 979
Joined: Tue May 14, 2002 11:03 pm

Re: Problem Solved

Postby stuboyle on Wed Sep 01, 2004 7:08 am

tazdevl wrote:
Because the issue could have been with the player, not the software. Always check first for firmware, software and driver updates.


I made the mistake of assuming the software that came bundled with the DVD player would work correctly. An OEM version of Nero came with the player.

Stuart
stuboyle
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Aug 19, 2004 12:25 pm

Postby CCampbell on Wed Sep 01, 2004 12:42 pm

Hi Suboyle,

Sorry for taking so long to respond.

I'm glad you were able to resolve the issue, as I was getting nowhere in my testing. And I think I lost some hair trying to duplicate the issue. :cry:

I have the same model recorder and firmware as you, but not the same Graphics card. But I could not reproduce the error. It's possible the firmware upgrade resolved an issue between the recorder and the graphics card, and possible even our software, but I'm not sure how at the moment.

I've not yet upgraded to the latest firmware as you have. I'm still going to try and obtain the Graphics card you have to see if I can get to the bottom of it just for my own knowledge. :)

Regards

Craig
CCampbell
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 966
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2002 9:27 pm
Location: Glendale, CA

Thanks Craig

Postby stuboyle on Wed Sep 01, 2004 12:51 pm

I am not 100% sure that it was the firmware upgrade that made the difference. I should have played a movie just before the firmware flash just to make sure it was still giving me artifacts but it is too late now.

Stuart
stuboyle
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Aug 19, 2004 12:25 pm


Return to Nero (Formerly Ahead Software)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

All Content is Copyright (c) 2001-2017 CDRLabs Inc.