Home News Reviews Forums Shop


Can I use NVE3 to record my TIVO video (on my PC) to DVD's?

Nero Burning ROM, Nero Express, NeroVision Express, Recode, InCD, etc..

Can I use NVE3 to record my TIVO video (on my PC) to DVD's?

Postby weetoots on Wed Sep 28, 2005 12:27 am

I am new to DVD writing, got a BenQ 1640 coming. I have some videos that I have transfered from my TIVO to my PC. As the subject says, can it be done? Do the videos (pc's) have to be converted and if so will NVE3 take care of it? If there is 1 hr of recorded time, will it still be 1 hr when it is burned?
Should I burn the DVD+R as a DVD-ROM?
I am sure I will have some more questions later. I did search for anything under "TIVO", but It did not answer my questions.

Thanks,
Al
User avatar
weetoots
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 43
Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2005 1:16 am
Location: Oahu, Hawaii

Postby aviationwiz on Wed Sep 28, 2005 7:32 am

I believe that the video from the Tivo has DRM encryption so you can't do anything with it, but there may be ways around it.
User avatar
aviationwiz
Plextor Fan(atic)
 
Posts: 4069
Joined: Tue Jul 16, 2002 2:55 am
Location: Home of the Red Tail

Postby weetoots on Wed Sep 28, 2005 12:53 pm

That's possible, but there are Tivos with combined DVRs. The videos that I have transfered from the Tivo do play on my computer. I don't have to do anything special.
Al
User avatar
weetoots
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 43
Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2005 1:16 am
Location: Oahu, Hawaii

Postby hoxlund on Wed Sep 28, 2005 2:37 pm

well first off did you try it yet?

best thing to do is to try it

also google like tivo hacks or tivo computer burning
Fractal Design Define R5 White Window Case
Corsair RM1000 Power Supply
MSI X99A XPower AC USB 3.1 Motherboard
Intel i7-5930K CPU @ 4.8GHz
Corsair H100i GTX 240mm CPU Cooler
Mushkin Blackline 4x8GB DDR4 2400 Memory
Asus 980Ti Strix OC
User avatar
hoxlund
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 3706
Joined: Mon May 27, 2002 12:55 am
Location: RAF Lakenheath / Suffolk United Kingdom

Postby weetoots on Sat Oct 01, 2005 2:09 am

Yes I tried it. I am making VideoCD's, sometimes it works and then it doesn't. When I bring the file from the Tivo directory into NVE3 I select all files *.*. Some of the files come up with partial video (top quarter) and fast choppy audio. Others work just fine. What's the problem? Is anyone having success transfering files to CD or DVD?
Al
User avatar
weetoots
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 43
Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2005 1:16 am
Location: Oahu, Hawaii

Postby weetoots on Sun Oct 02, 2005 5:35 am

Thanks but I finally got it to work on all. No more problems.. so far.

Al
User avatar
weetoots
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 43
Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2005 1:16 am
Location: Oahu, Hawaii

Postby PaulAlex7000 on Wed Oct 12, 2005 1:11 am

weetoots wrote:Yes I tried it. I am making VideoCD's, sometimes it works and then it doesn't. When I bring the file from the Tivo directory into NVE3 I select all files *.*. Some of the files come up with partial video (top quarter) and fast choppy audio. Others work just fine. What's the problem? Is anyone having success transfering files to CD or DVD?
Al


Known issue. That's Tivo's DRM in action. That happened to me also. I have no idea why, however, it reproes with some videos and not with other Tivo videos.

You can get around this by using Graphedit from Microsoft's Windows Media Development Kit (as well as Dump) and reconfiguring the input and output streams of the DirectShowfilters.

I had to do this before using NeroVision3 to make an archive of my Tivo shows on DVD.

Google on keywords: Graphedit Tivo DirectShow
PaulAlex7000
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed May 25, 2005 3:26 pm


Return to Nero (Formerly Ahead Software)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

All Content is Copyright (c) 2001-2017 CDRLabs Inc.