Home News Reviews Forums Shop


CloneDVD released

SlySoft, Alcohol, VSO Software, NTI, etc.

Postby tazdevl on Sat Jun 21, 2003 7:19 pm

dodecahedron wrote:
tazdevl wrote:It's free for 30 days... worst case, if it sucks I won't buy it :D
i'm sorry, what do you mean by that?
the download from their site is a free 30-day limited trial version?


Fully functional for 30 days.

It's not like the BS you get from DVD2One, DVD95 and DVDXCopy where it only encodes the first few minutes if you want to try it out.
RIG:
P4 2.6C, Thermalright SP94/Panaflo 92MM M1A, IC7 Max3, Swifty MCX159, 1GB Geil PC4000 Ultra Plat, Radeon 8500, Audigy 2, 2X WD Raptor RAID 0, WD 250GB SE, Plex 708A, 166SDVD, LianLi PC75, XP Pro.
User avatar
tazdevl
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 979
Joined: Tue May 14, 2002 11:03 pm

Postby dodecahedron on Sun Jun 22, 2003 3:18 am

tazdevl wrote:Fully functional for 30 days.

thanks.
yeah, that's what i had meant but said it badly.
One Ring to rule them all, One Ring to find them,
One Ring to bring them all and in the darkness bind them
In the land of Mordor, where the Shadows lie
-- JRRT
M.C. Escher - Reptilien
User avatar
dodecahedron
DVD Polygon
 
Posts: 6865
Joined: Sat Mar 09, 2002 12:04 am
Location: Israel

Postby panicinyearzero on Mon Jun 30, 2003 11:48 pm

I have tried DVDXCopy on the original movie 'Frankenstein' from 1931. The movie is only about 71 min. long, and is black and white (although I don't know if B&W takes up less digital space than color), and yet DVDXCopy said it couldn't get all the features on one disk,; it would have to make a second DVD. That is the pits, since a blank holds 4.7GB, and the extra feature on the disk aren't that many. Also had same issue with a modern movie, "The Hot Chick", and even though I said to dispense with the extra features, it couldn't even get the full movie on one disk. I own the DVD, but I just happened to choose it for a test, which the program didn't do the greatest on. As for DVDClone, I had the same experience--nothing seemed to happen in the menus until I highlighted the DVD drive, then got the message about not copying copy-protected disks. Question: Isn't this the same company which made CDClone, which went out of its way to give menu settings to copy games as well as CD's? What a difference!
panicinyearzero
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Apr 14, 2002 11:10 am

Postby hoxlund on Tue Jul 01, 2003 12:16 am

use dvd shrink

www.dvdshrink.org
Fractal Design Define R5 White Window Case
Corsair RM1000 Power Supply
MSI X99A XPower AC USB 3.1 Motherboard
Intel i7-5930K CPU @ 4.8GHz
Corsair H100i GTX 240mm CPU Cooler
Mushkin Blackline 4x8GB DDR4 2400 Memory
Asus 980Ti Strix OC
User avatar
hoxlund
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 3706
Joined: Mon May 27, 2002 12:55 am
Location: RAF Lakenheath / Suffolk United Kingdom

Postby tazdevl on Wed Jul 02, 2003 5:28 am

panicinyearzero wrote:I have tried DVDXCopy on the original movie 'Frankenstein' from 1931. The movie is only about 71 min. long, and is black and white (although I don't know if B&W takes up less digital space than color), and yet DVDXCopy said it couldn't get all the features on one disk,; it would have to make a second DVD. That is the pits, since a blank holds 4.7GB, and the extra feature on the disk aren't that many. Also had same issue with a modern movie, "The Hot Chick", and even though I said to dispense with the extra features, it couldn't even get the full movie on one disk. I own the DVD, but I just happened to choose it for a test, which the program didn't do the greatest on. As for DVDClone, I had the same experience--nothing seemed to happen in the menus until I highlighted the DVD drive, then got the message about not copying copy-protected disks. Question: Isn't this the same company which made CDClone, which went out of its way to give menu settings to copy games as well as CD's? What a difference!


Same company as CloneCD. To avoid legal issues with the MPAA, a decrypter wasn't included. Use DVD Decrypter in File Mode do decrypt the DVD to the disc. From there you can use CloneDVD to transcode and burn.

I agree with Hox, DVDshrink is free (no decrypting necessary) and produces the best results IMO. Also you have more control over what to keep, compression levels, start, end times etc...

I think also when you're able to look at the movie you'll see where the extra space lies... DTS, other language tracks etc...
RIG:
P4 2.6C, Thermalright SP94/Panaflo 92MM M1A, IC7 Max3, Swifty MCX159, 1GB Geil PC4000 Ultra Plat, Radeon 8500, Audigy 2, 2X WD Raptor RAID 0, WD 250GB SE, Plex 708A, 166SDVD, LianLi PC75, XP Pro.
User avatar
tazdevl
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 979
Joined: Tue May 14, 2002 11:03 pm

Postby hoxlund on Wed Jul 02, 2003 10:03 am

true, you can select the audio streams, 2 channel, 6 channel, dts, english, spanish, and subpictures
Fractal Design Define R5 White Window Case
Corsair RM1000 Power Supply
MSI X99A XPower AC USB 3.1 Motherboard
Intel i7-5930K CPU @ 4.8GHz
Corsair H100i GTX 240mm CPU Cooler
Mushkin Blackline 4x8GB DDR4 2400 Memory
Asus 980Ti Strix OC
User avatar
hoxlund
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 3706
Joined: Mon May 27, 2002 12:55 am
Location: RAF Lakenheath / Suffolk United Kingdom

Postby Dartman on Wed Jul 09, 2003 10:39 pm

Go find AnyDVD and install it. It will take care of the problems that you are having with CloneDVD. I think Ollie designed it then gave it to another Company in a part of the world where those kind of problems aren't worried about. Try here http://www.slysoft.com/
I have now used the demos and they work pretty darned good now.
User avatar
Dartman
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 1549
Joined: Sun May 26, 2002 2:13 pm
Location: USA

Postby hoxlund on Wed Jul 09, 2003 11:24 pm

so use anydvd for what?
Fractal Design Define R5 White Window Case
Corsair RM1000 Power Supply
MSI X99A XPower AC USB 3.1 Motherboard
Intel i7-5930K CPU @ 4.8GHz
Corsair H100i GTX 240mm CPU Cooler
Mushkin Blackline 4x8GB DDR4 2400 Memory
Asus 980Ti Strix OC
User avatar
hoxlund
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 3706
Joined: Mon May 27, 2002 12:55 am
Location: RAF Lakenheath / Suffolk United Kingdom

Postby Dartman on Thu Jul 10, 2003 2:25 am

It takes out the copy guard and any region code and like that on the fly, works FAST. Load it up and 2 seconds or less the job is done and you can use CloneDVD like it was intended or any other program you like.
Go to the site and read it. I haven't had any problems with it so far and you can load it at startup or just when you need to run it.
User avatar
Dartman
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 1549
Joined: Sun May 26, 2002 2:13 pm
Location: USA

Previous

Return to Other CD, DVD and Blu-ray Burning Software

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

All Content is Copyright (c) 2001-2017 CDRLabs Inc.