Home News Reviews Forums Shop


A couple of dual Athlon questions...

CPU's? Motherboards? Video cards? Talk about it here.

A couple of dual Athlon questions...

Postby glock20rocks on Thu Jan 01, 1970 6:38 am

OK, so the Athlon XP's aren't dual proc certified; what are the odds that they
will work? The MP's seem to be lagging behind on clock speed at the moment.

Anyone know if AMD is gonna make a dual-proc chipset/MP's with the new
333MHz FSB/dual channel DDR? That'd be nice :)

Any opinions on the best dual-proc board out right now? (Other than those two Tyan boards that need a special case/PS).

Thanks in advance for any info!!
glock20rocks
 

Postby eFrisky on Thu Jan 01, 1970 6:40 am

One of the cheapest dual cpu mobo available at the moment is the Tyan TigerMP; which doesn't have any special PSU requirements, but does, as with all other dual AMD boards, demand sufficient power on the 5v line.

I'd urge you to check out the www.2cpu.com site, and especially the forums, to answer any and all of your questions. Thousands of hours of reading and very educated users - most of whom are more than happy to give excellent detailed advice on this tricky subject.

I built my system back in Feb this year, using the TigerMP and two XP1800+ processors; both of which were smp "unlocked", so I popped them in and they worked exactly as if they were the "MP" processors. Now though, most (all?) XP processors are "locked".

Personally, I'd have to think long and hard about buying XPs again, rather than MPs, but it's personal choice and an educated "risk".

Do your research before buying!

Do your research before buying!

:D


p.s. You'll never, never, ever regret going dual..! Want to burn, play CS and rip a film? You got it!
User avatar
eFrisky
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2001 8:00 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Postby eFrisky on Thu Jan 01, 1970 6:40 am

It's not such a big deal, but here's my current uptime

Image
User avatar
eFrisky
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2001 8:00 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Postby glock20rocks on Thu Jan 01, 1970 6:40 am

Thanks for the info! Actually, I may just skip the MP/XP's and wait for Clawhammer/Sledgehammer. www.tomshardware.com has said the Clawhammer 1.6GHz is tentively being labeled as a "3200+". :):) I'll take two, thanks!
glock20rocks
 

Postby blakerwry on Thu Jan 01, 1970 6:41 am

i usually go a week or so before rebooting my XP box... my NT 4 box has gone 1,323 hours straight before i added some RAM...

seems like the power goes out or something happens that just keeps me under the 1,300 hour time frame.

I have a new linux box that I hope will prove to be even more stable
User avatar
blakerwry
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 185
Joined: Fri Jun 21, 2002 5:45 pm

Postby blakerwry on Thu Jan 01, 1970 6:41 am

One thing about the MP's is that they are not multiplier locked... I assume this is so you can buy 2 processors of unequal speed and run them at the same time

This situation might happen if CPU supply is low or you are simply upgrading from items you already have/can get cheaply... might work well to upgrade each processor every 6 months at opposite intervals...
User avatar
blakerwry
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 185
Joined: Fri Jun 21, 2002 5:45 pm

Postby glock20rocks on Mon Nov 04, 2002 6:15 pm

blakerwry wrote:One thing about the MP's is that they are not multiplier locked...


Hmm...can anyone say "overclocking"? :)
glock20rocks
 

Postby blakerwry on Wed Nov 06, 2002 4:00 pm

true true... but for the price, an Athlon XP would probably give you alot better price/performance.. isn't that what overclocking is about? either that or just plain having the fastest rig around.... and MP doesn't succeed there either.
User avatar
blakerwry
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 185
Joined: Fri Jun 21, 2002 5:45 pm

Postby dodecahedron on Wed Nov 06, 2002 4:06 pm

yeah, but if you want a dual processor system, you cant use XP because they are SMP locked, as eFrisky said.
so you have to use MP. expensive.
and if you do buy MPs, why not overclock them? they are slower than XPs anyway.
One Ring to rule them all, One Ring to find them,
One Ring to bring them all and in the darkness bind them
In the land of Mordor, where the Shadows lie
-- JRRT
M.C. Escher - Reptilien
User avatar
dodecahedron
DVD Polygon
 
Posts: 6865
Joined: Sat Mar 09, 2002 12:04 am
Location: Israel


Return to General Hardware Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

All Content is Copyright (c) 2001-2017 CDRLabs Inc.