Home News Reviews Forums Shop

Crappy drivers...

What was that?

Crappy drivers...

Postby roadrunner on Mon Apr 02, 2007 7:35 pm

Ah, the rants & raves section...perfect for this.

I am so sick of half-assed, poorly tested drivers. As a programmer, I do know what it takes to do something like a driver, and the huge task of testing it. But far too many companies make such a poor effort.

Creative would be the biggest problem here, I think. Their drivers are bloated, for one. And rarely updated for another. I've owned two X-Fi's; the first one I got rid of after about a week, after having too many problems with it. Alot of the issues were well-known to Creative and some still haven't been addressed.

Their Vista drivers just flat-out suck, too. And with how long they've had to get a driver out the door, have random lock-ups/BSOD's thanks to their drivers is not cool. My old machine (which didn't have an X-Fi), ran the Vista beta's perfectly, with zero problems. But my current machine, running the retail Vista, looks up/BSODs constantly with the Creative drivers installed. Oddly, the problems are worse under the x86 Vista than the x64 :-?

I've never been a fan of ATI's drivers (since CCC needs .NET :evil: ), but I will say their current Vista drivers are pretty solid, and a huge improvement over the older drivers. The current XP drivers (7.3) have a known problem with BSODing on install, which I got to witness first hand. A clean install of XP (with some minor nLite tweaking) got that mess straightened out. One thing irksome about their drivers is, again, the .NET requirement. Forgetting about that, I go to install the driver after a clean install of XP. I get the little warning about not having .NET. Opps, ok my bad. But do I get a way to cancel the install? Nope. It just blindly installs the driver, leading to some nice errors on reboot. :evil:

And now AMD wants to make CCC the main interface for everything they do :roll: :evil:

Sigh. I'm done now...
roadrunner