Home News Reviews Forums Shop


Dual boot W2k, W98SE prob with invalid system disk

Anything else

Dual boot W2k, W98SE prob with invalid system disk

Postby Jon_J on Wed Nov 05, 2003 6:28 pm

Sorry bout the header to this msg, not sure what happened, it should read:
Dual boot W2k, W98SE prob with "invalid system disk"

I have Win98SE installed, then installed Windows 2000 Professional and made a dual-boot configuration. I used C:\ for Win98, and E:\ for W2k.

Everything was working fine until last night.
when I boot, there are 2 choices, Windows 2000 Professional or Windows, (w98)
When I select Windows 2000 Professional, it boots and runs fine.
When I select Windows, for windows 98, I get "Invalid System Disk" hit any key.

I went online in W2k and scanned for viruses, I didn't have any.
I tried W2k repair method using W2k boot CD-ROM and emergency repair disk. I used the repair option, That didn't work either. Somewhere along the line during repair, the repair screen says it can only repair Windows 2000. So I guess I cannot repair my W98 system boot files with W2k repair.
Do I need to try to re-install W98?
I have read several times in a dual-boot configuration that W98 setup will overwrite critical W2k files and
(W98 should be installed 1rst, then W2k), not the other way around.

Can anyone point me in the right direction about my Error and dual boot?
I use Win98 more often to surf the web, (safer than W2k) and all my CDR, DVDR apps are on W98.

Thank you for reading this,
Jon
Last edited by Jon_J on Wed Nov 05, 2003 7:31 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Jon_J
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Sep 15, 2003 2:14 pm
Location: Chicago

Re: Dual boot W2k, W98SE prob with "invalid system disk

Postby dodecahedron on Wed Nov 05, 2003 7:17 pm

Jon_J wrote:Sorry bout the header to this msg, not sure what happened, it should read:
Dual boot W2k, W98SE prob with "invalid system disk"

if you edit the first post in the topic (the above one) and you edit the Subject then it changes the Subject (header as you called it) of the whole topic too.

Jon_J wrote:I have read several times in a dual-boot configuration that W98 setup will overwrite critical W2k files and (W98 should be installed 1rst, then W2k), not the other way around.

yes, i think this is true. so if you re-install win98 you'll have to reinstall win2K too.
(unless you do the re-install of win98 in a smart way the doesn't intefere with the boot setup. i'm sure it can be done but i don't know how, sorry)
One Ring to rule them all, One Ring to find them,
One Ring to bring them all and in the darkness bind them
In the land of Mordor, where the Shadows lie
-- JRRT
M.C. Escher - Reptilien
User avatar
dodecahedron
DVD Polygon
 
Posts: 6865
Joined: Sat Mar 09, 2002 12:04 am
Location: Israel

Postby Jon_J on Wed Nov 05, 2003 7:35 pm

Thank you for your reply dodecahedron,

I didn't think I could edit the header properly. It did work though.
I have tried this on other forums and all it did was edit a sub-header.


I hope I don't have to re-install both OS's
I'm searching around for a solution, I hope I can just replace some corrupt W98 system files, but will make sure I'm using a "proven" method before I do this.

Jon
Jon_J
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Sep 15, 2003 2:14 pm
Location: Chicago

Postby dodecahedron on Thu Nov 06, 2003 6:03 am

well, sorry i can't help you out. good luck though. :)
One Ring to rule them all, One Ring to find them,
One Ring to bring them all and in the darkness bind them
In the land of Mordor, where the Shadows lie
-- JRRT
M.C. Escher - Reptilien
User avatar
dodecahedron
DVD Polygon
 
Posts: 6865
Joined: Sat Mar 09, 2002 12:04 am
Location: Israel

Postby Jon_J on Thu Nov 06, 2003 3:08 pm

dodecahedron,
I have it working now. I just re-installed Win98 on top of itself. I didn't use any switches. It installed faster than a full install. It seemed like it "knew" that most of the files were already there.

When I tried to use Win2k, it seemed to work fine, but I went ahead and used the "Repair" option.

I'm not sure about the W2k repair option, as it detects files that aren't the same as the original CD-ROM, (I have SP4 installed).

I let repair replace all the files that it found to be different than the original ones, then rebooted.
Now I assumed that the repair option, replaced the SP4 files, so I re-installed SP4 too.

Jon
Jon_J
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Sep 15, 2003 2:14 pm
Location: Chicago

Postby dodecahedron on Thu Nov 06, 2003 6:46 pm

well, seems i was wrong! :o anyway it worked out better for you.
glad you got things working to your liking. :D
One Ring to rule them all, One Ring to find them,
One Ring to bring them all and in the darkness bind them
In the land of Mordor, where the Shadows lie
-- JRRT
M.C. Escher - Reptilien
User avatar
dodecahedron
DVD Polygon
 
Posts: 6865
Joined: Sat Mar 09, 2002 12:04 am
Location: Israel


Return to General Software Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron
All Content is Copyright (c) 2001-2017 CDRLabs Inc.